Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 11, 2012
    50
    There's more truth in 10 minutes of Animal Planet's "Finding Bigfoot."
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Even if Amish Mafia may evoke for some viewers the popular and somewhat discredited "Breaking Amish," the show has a running undercurrent that feels interesting and credible.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Dec 10, 2012
    88
    They should call it "When Amish Go Bad." I'm talking about the insanely addictive new show, Amish Mafia, the most bizarre reality series, well, ever.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 10, 2012
    25
    Dim, dumb, dull, daffy and dippy, Discovery should know better.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2012
    63
    It's more shoofly than pie, but amusing. [17 Dec 2012, p.39]
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Amish Mafia may be intermittently entertaining, but it doesn't pass the smell test.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Dec 11, 2012
    30
    The Amish Mafia may sound oxymoronic, but as a TV show, it's strictly moronic.
  8. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Dec 11, 2012
    50
    If the purpose of the series is to explore a sub-culture lifestyle foreign to most Americans, Discovery's quasi-documentary approach (with educational explanations about Amish community structure, at least in the first episode) does a fair job of covering that. But Hot Snakes Media, who produced the series--and also helmed the controversial Breaking Amish--can't seem to help themselves in adding a kind of "...gone wild!" tag to the end of the endeavor, obliterating anything that feels informational.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Reality TV doesn't get much cheaper or crasser than this, and just to clinch its rock-bottom status, the show fills out its picture of rural menace by momentarily citing the 2006 mass shooting at a Lancaster County Amish school.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 10, 2012
    30
    In terms of the bar on reality-TV standards, though, Amish Mafia, in particular, effortlessly limbos beneath it.
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Silly. Cheesy. Disrespectful. Just a few words that come to mind. Totally unbelievable, low budget re-enactment scenes pieced together and portrayed by what seems to be fresh outta film school kids with a Soprano's complex. It reminds me of my childhood when we had a gang of 10 year old kids hanging out in a neighborhood tree fort, homemade ninja outfits and riding around on bikes trying to act like a bunch of Bruce Lee's with homemade nunchaku's LOL... honestly, that would be more believable than this trash TV. I mean come on, if you're going to have a show about gangland mafia bad asses, at least have ONE character who can pass the exam! It's just silly. Very bad acting, unbelievable storyline and an insult to the Pennsylvania Amish community. Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    What funny little show this is. NOT. What are these critics watching and thinking that makes them give it a high rating!? Crazy. I'm gonna call BULLSH*T on this one. Either they work for the show or are get kickbacks from the network. Pathetic. Full Review »
  3. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    The title says it all. It's easy to see that reality television has hit rock bottom once a show about "Amish Mafia" takes up space on cable programming. The whole concept of the show is completely ridiculous as well as the execution. For example, what kind of Amish people drive cars and start fight clubs? Wouldn't you cease to be Amish after doing either of those things? Every logically inconsistent episode feels cheesy, forced, and amateurish. The "actors" on this show make the guys on Pawn Stars look like they might have a chance at winning an Oscar. The cinematography feels low budget and lame. I wish I had something positive to say about this show but every aspect is unsalvageable. When it comes to movies and tv shows, I tend to be understanding towards shows if they at least start with a good concept or idea, even if they fail miserably. "Amish Mafia" simply was a brainless idea from the get go. Full Review »