Amish Mafia Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A small group of men protect and maintain order amongst the Amish in Lancaster County.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Dec 10, 2012
    88
    They should call it "When Amish Go Bad." I'm talking about the insanely addictive new show, Amish Mafia, the most bizarre reality series, well, ever.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2012
    63
    It's more shoofly than pie, but amusing. [17 Dec 2012, p.39]
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Even if Amish Mafia may evoke for some viewers the popular and somewhat discredited "Breaking Amish," the show has a running undercurrent that feels interesting and credible.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Amish Mafia may be intermittently entertaining, but it doesn't pass the smell test.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Dec 11, 2012
    30
    The Amish Mafia may sound oxymoronic, but as a TV show, it's strictly moronic.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 10, 2012
    30
    In terms of the bar on reality-TV standards, though, Amish Mafia, in particular, effortlessly limbos beneath it.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Reality TV doesn't get much cheaper or crasser than this, and just to clinch its rock-bottom status, the show fills out its picture of rural menace by momentarily citing the 2006 mass shooting at a Lancaster County Amish school.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 11 out of 12
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    Is the show a real portrayal about the Amish Mafia? Doubtful. Does this show prove there's an actual Amish Mafia? Also doubtful. What this show does is prove that even the most ridiculous of circumstances can be funny and entertaining. This show's entertaining without having to be a reality TV show. This could be an excellent scripted TV show on a network like AMC or HBO or Showtime. To make this a 'real' thing is stupid. No one believes the Pennsylvania Dutch Amish are housing known heathen in their ranks, no matter the circumstances. The show IS entertaining and at times funny. But to play this as a 'real' thing is silly. No one believes their is an Amish Mafia and even if there was one, no one would believe it exists. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    1
    This show is absolutely fake, and a disgrace to real Amish people. Amish mafia? They collect protection money, sell beer, hold parties, have guns and expensive cars, have tattoos, beat up people and above all they show their criminal activities to the television? This is the dumbest thing I have ever seen. Some reviewer wrote it is great entertainment...Well it is not. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    Good god this show is terrible. When did discovery start pumping out **** trash like this? It has to be one of the stupidest things I have ever watched. Very disappointed in discovery, didn't think they would sink this low, I think they owe us an apology and more good shows like planet earth (which is made by the bbc). In conclusion: FLAT OUT WORST SHOW EVER ON DISCOVERY CHANNEL. Ill even watch stupid **** about aliens if it means I don't have to watch this garbage. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    I Didn't like the kardashians either, but at least they are like the show dynasty compared to this despicable exercise in the violence, torture and humilation of the amish community, Lebanon Levi and the rest of them are so fake and shameful it makes me sick, they should never drive automobiles and other stuff, how in the hell did discovery channel cancel american chopper for this disgusting trash saddens me, it's a disgusting, mean spirited and hateful, what's next amish car customs with ryan friedlinghaus customizing amish wagons, I Mean you have got to be kidding, I Thought here comes honey boo was the worst thing I've seen in my life, this is even worse.

    This is not only a disgrace to the amish, but also to gangsters, I Wish carfellas would just wack these fake amish losers, which they should have.

    In the Universe of bad tv shows, amish mafia is a towering acheivement.
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    Complete, fake, garbage. Discovery should be ashamed of this. What are we teaching our kids? Discovery used to have better content.

    Discovery has failed to uphold values:

    "To satisfy curiosity and make a difference in people's lives by providing the highest quality content, services and products that entertain, engage and enlighten." http://corporate.discovery.com/leadership/
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    What funny little show this is. NOT. What are these critics watching and thinking that makes them give it a high rating!? Crazy. I'm gonna call BULLSH*T on this one. Either they work for the show or are get kickbacks from the network. Pathetic. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    This is one of those fake made up shows we can expect from time to time. They say its baised on actual events, but I question who/where they are getting there stories from. Bad acting, bad stories will leave you reaching for the remote. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews