• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 28, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Anger Management Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Charlie Goodson (Charlie Sheen) is an ex-baseball-player-turned-anger management-therapist who juggles his clients, his own therapist (Selma Blair), an ex-wife (Shawnee Smith), and a teenaged daughter.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 34
  2. Negative: 12 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 28, 2012
    80
    It's a big cast where every piece fits, and at least upfront, the writing and jokes are good enough that Anger Management only uses sex gags where they work, not to cover up any lack of other ideas.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 27, 2012
    70
    [Anger Management is] funny in that way where you might see the joke hanging there and even if it's a little bit obvious, you're happy enough when the actor hits it.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 27, 2012
    58
    They're [the initial episodes of Anger Management are] somewhat more amusing than expected.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 27, 2012
    50
    Anger Management is Charlie Sheen doing what Charlie Sheen does-- on-screen. It's not artful, it's not elegant.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 27, 2012
    40
    Sheen's obvious, minimally funny new sitcom.
  6. 30
    The dialogue is so weak, the characters so thin, and Sheen's performance so uncommitted that Anger Management sleepwalks across the screen.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 25, 2012
    0
    Anger Management isn't going to bring that [good] actor out though, and it isn't even trying to, as it's just another cynical cash-in that lamely tries to milk laughs from casual, unquestioned dehumanization.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 34
  2. Negative: 15 out of 34
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    ...sure the show has room for improvement... but its hardly derivative... need to see where they take it... and I'd rate it just for bringing Charlie Sheen back! Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    The low scores on here are Obviously from people that NEED Real Anger Management.
    This show is not for Everyone.
    If you're looking for a
    show with no sexual dialogue; no gays; no gay-jokes; no Sexy women,
    then this show is not for you, because there's LOTS of it.

    If you Are looking for : Old-school Disney-style dialogues and plots; characters that want to give childbirth; or a show that fits the same-ol mold, then this show is not for you.

    This show is for Anyone, but Mostly for the Open-minded.

    Anyone that is a die-hard Bible-thumper and a Church-goer will immediately hate this show.

    Anyone that is a Hard-core feminist and is a man-hater, will DEFINITELY hate this show.

    Anyone that likes Freedom to think and do as you wish,
    or that likes to envision life as Care-free, but within the rules, and feels no need for "Serious"
    subjects and just likes to Laugh and have a good time, Will Love this show.

    This show is WINNNING !

    Ps:

    Anyone that watches this show, EXPECTING this show to live up to 'Their' expectations and has a pre-determined mind-set as to what a Sit-com should be, or what kinds of Plot they think are 'best'
    are Looking to be disappointed and WILL be disappointed.
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    It´s good and plenty room to get even better. I am a sitcom addict, i know nearly every comedy show. This is in no way a mixture of other shows. yeah, maybe the environment is and the daughter looks like the one from who´s the boss and got the same name, but that´s all about the copying. the jokes are Charlie Sheen style and better than in Two and a Half Man. I think it´s because Sheen got more to say here. I never liked the art of how they handled it in Chuck Lorre productions. Too many laughs when nothing funny has been said. but in here, every third joke stings and is kinda new. i laughed a lot. I recommend this show with a 7 and it might climb up to a 8 if they go more radical in further episodes 7 seasons.. (most times they do so while the ideas run out) In my opinion, this show has the potential to be better than tahm in it´s best times. For now (after two episodes) i see this on the same level as tahm now is, but with newer ideas and better jokes. Need to get familiar with a bunch of unfresh looking faces though...lol Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    At first it was pretty funny for about the first few episodes, then after a while, it starts to be unfunny and lacks a good story structure it had. Overall, just another sitcom with "Winning" Charlie Sheen. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2014
    2
    It's just tiresome. Charlie doesn't work as a lead character and definitely not as some chick-magnet looking as old as he does. It's almost as if he's perpetually stuck in some sort of mid-life crisis. Everyone else is just a stereotype and completely one-dimensional. They're constantly firing off 'jokes' for some cheap laughs, which are only provided by a laugh track. There is a lot of potential, especially with characters like Kate's fear of commitment and expanding the back story of the ex-wife and kid. Each other character in the group can easily be expanded on as well, adding some depth, making me believe they are actual people rather than cardboard imitations of them.

    There is just no reason to care for what these characters are doing or saying. It's the most shallow series I've seen to date. The only reason this is on the air is because Comedy Central bought 100(?) episodes when Charlie Sheen was still 'a thing' during the final days on Two and a Half Men and his subsequent lay-off due to his substance abuse. There are better ways to spend your time than watching 'Anger Management'.
    Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    1
    This show would be total garbage if not for the formulaic drivel. But, on the bright side, at least it has a laugh track. Otherwise, I may not have awoken from my dumbfounded zombie trance. A terrible waste of time and talent. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    Much better than two and a half retards. Way much better. I think it has great potential. Only time will tell, which is way I have set for recording. I have to admit, I wasn't a big fan of Charlie sheen, but I think he has no competition in as a tv comedian actor at this moment. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews