• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: May 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Angry Boys Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Summer Heights High's Chris Lilley returns with a comedy about the lives of average men and boys in Australia, with many of the characters played by Lilley.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Comedy, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 3, 2012
    75
    Angry Boys showcases his considerable talents in the notably imperfect world he's created.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 3, 2012
    75
    Angry Boys is an equal-opportunity offender, but its infectiously juvenile humor, not to mention its secret heart and, of course, the appeal of Chris Lilley's multiple impersonations, make it very hard to stay angry for long.
  3. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Jan 3, 2012
    60
    The mixing of those elements--crassness, poignancy, social commentary--is a hard one to master, and Lilley doesn't always succeed in tying them together in a way that is funny beyond the amusing cringe of recognition.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 3, 2012
    50
    Angry Boys will certainly have some appeal to fans of offbeat comedy but it seems unlikely to become a mainstream hit.
  5. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 3, 2012
    40
    [It] leaves only the flashes of comedic brilliance, and even they don't light up the sky very often.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 3, 2012
    30
    The expansion emphasizes the sameness of his writing and his performances, and makes the payoffs of the jokes feel small.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 3, 2012
    20
    His wavelength is extreme narrowcasting, and most viewers are likely to find Angry Boys just rambling and dull.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Brilliant, good mix of different characters shown, does some aussie portrayals well, and remember that S-MOUSE is supposed to be intentionallyBrilliant, good mix of different characters shown, does some aussie portrayals well, and remember that S-MOUSE is supposed to be intentionally annoying... Collapse
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Chris Lilley has accomplished the impossible.This show encompasses talents much like Chappelle's Show, just when we thought it couldn't be done again.
  3. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    A comedy show done right in many ways you don't see often. It's not only hilarious, but painfully creative. I'd even consider putting thisA comedy show done right in many ways you don't see often. It's not only hilarious, but painfully creative. I'd even consider putting this above Summer Heights High. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2014
    8
    If you ask me which is my favorite Chris Lilley show, I would instantly answer with Angry Boys.

    Angry Boys would have become one of my
    If you ask me which is my favorite Chris Lilley show, I would instantly answer with Angry Boys.

    Angry Boys would have become one of my favorite TV shows. One thing that fascinates me about this show is that Chris Lilley handled the plot with care and dedication with the continuity and I really enjoyed the plot because it made me care and love for the characters, despite its satirical nature.

    I will list down the characters of this show and give them a brief opinion on them.

    Daniel and Nathan Sims
    I never thought I would actually like them. While this is an ensemble show, it’s clear that the main focus was on the twins. I liked Daniel, despite his douchebag-ery and homophobic thoughts. He is that “guy” you want to hang-out with. For Nathan, he is the weird, yet kinder version of Daniel so it’s pretty much the same. I cared for the twins, especially Nathan. I adored how he still acts like a normal kid despite his disability in hearing. There are people like Daniel, whether they’re from Australia or not, and I think it just gives props to the realism to the show.

    Ruth “Gran” Sims
    I thought she would be scary at first, but then she reminds me of my auntie who took care of me when I was a child. Gran is not only my favorite character in the show, but my favorite Chris Lilley character. When she revealed that she has Alzheimer’s, I cried. I never thought I would cry on a Chris Lilley show. It’s because Gran is a caring, lovable character despite her political incorrectness and seeing her sick is devastating. It reminded me when I got the news that my auntie, who took cared of me, died in 2012. I think Gran is the emotional aspect of this, otherwise sarcastic show. I would love to see her again on an ensemble Chris Lilley show.

    Blake Oakfield
    I thought Blake was okay in my book. I felt like he is underused in this show, like he could have done more character development. The ball-less story was kinda weird.

    S.mouse
    S.mouse is basically like Jonah, only more funnier to look at. I was shocked that Chris Lilley used blackface and the N-word as his character, but then again, most people like S.mouse tend to be like this so Chris Lilley is just doing his job. While I find him very funny, I wish not to see him again, especially on his own stand-alone show. I cannot stand his dumb ghetto accent.

    Jen Okazaki
    If S.mouse is the Jonah of Angry Boys, then Jen Okazaki is the Ja’mie of Angry Boys, only worst. I actually like her, lol. I can’t believe it. She is funny and bad at the same time. The scary fact is that there are mothers like her, just not Japanese mothers. She is the funniest character in this show in my opinion.

    Chris Lilley managed to pull-off all of these characters perfectly, even to the point it’s becomes over-the-top and controversial.

    Speaking of controversial, I think most people don’t see that this show is just being sarcastic and that does not reflect Chris Lilley in real life (I hope).

    Angry Boys, in my opinion, is Chris Lilley’s best effort thanks to his performances, character and plot development and the sarcastic, controversial humor.
    Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    Angry Boys is a great comedy that most Chris Lilly fans will enjoy, although not his best performances. In my option I enjoy his series moreAngry Boys is a great comedy that most Chris Lilly fans will enjoy, although not his best performances. In my option I enjoy his series more when their are less characters as it gives the audiences more time to favour certain individuals and not have to sit through the boring and cheesy characters in which has happened with this series. Some episodes do become boring and frustrating as you want to see more of your favourite characters although you will still get your hours worth of laughs each episode no matter watch. Angry Boys is an enjoyable series that once its over, leaves you ranting for more. This is a sign of a successful series that was a joy to watch. Expand