• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2012
    20
    It's hard to see this show lasting too far beyond the initial taste.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 10, 2012
    30
    Crystal (previously seen in the Night at the Museum movies, the second Hangover film and a memorable cameo on Community) steals what little show there is here.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 10, 2012
    30
    The animals can't make a sitcom work unless they're surrounded by good human writing and human originality, both of which are in short supply here.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Aug 10, 2012
    37
    The shame is that Practice has a fine human cast... But Kirk and his cohorts quickly get taken down by the barrage of stupidity the show sends their way.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 7, 2012
    25
    For the humans, nothing ensues that can't be predicted by a comatose cockatoo.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 13, 2012
    30
    The show is pretty darn terrible, derivative and tired, co-starring a monkey (never, ever a good sign) and chockablock with characters we have seen too many times before.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 10, 2012
    30
    Animal Practice is a forgettable show sloppily built from comedy cliches, but it can be fixed by firing most of the cast and rebuilding the show around the monkey.
  8. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 25, 2012
    30
    In comedy there's a fine line between wacky and desperate. Animal Practice crosses it early and often.
  9. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Aug 13, 2012
    30
    Animal Practice seems to know exactly what it wants to do, it just isn't any good at it.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    I would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn't have far to go after watching this trash. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    3
    If a monkey is one of the funniest characters in a show, that usually means trouble.
    The humour is mostly juvenile, kind of like taken from
    "Scrubs" without the really funny stuff.
    I have nothing against juvenile humour therefore my 3 Points, but the show needs better writting and from what I've seen, I doubt that the writers are up for the task.
    They actually managed to make Tyler Labine's character boring. I think that says enough.
    In the first episode, the bright sides of the show were the monkey and Betsy Sodaro.
    And Joanna Garcia Swisher is such a cutie, I must admit.
    But that's just not enough for a good show.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    This is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancell the show soon. Full Review »