• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 10, 2012
    30
    The animals can't make a sitcom work unless they're surrounded by good human writing and human originality, both of which are in short supply here.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 13, 2012
    30
    The show is pretty darn terrible, derivative and tired, co-starring a monkey (never, ever a good sign) and chockablock with characters we have seen too many times before.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2012
    20
    It's hard to see this show lasting too far beyond the initial taste.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Aug 13, 2012
    30
    Animal Practice seems to know exactly what it wants to do, it just isn't any good at it.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 7, 2012
    25
    For the humans, nothing ensues that can't be predicted by a comatose cockatoo.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 25, 2012
    30
    In comedy there's a fine line between wacky and desperate. Animal Practice crosses it early and often.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 10, 2012
    30
    Crystal (previously seen in the Night at the Museum movies, the second Hangover film and a memorable cameo on Community) steals what little show there is here.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Aug 10, 2012
    37
    The shame is that Practice has a fine human cast... But Kirk and his cohorts quickly get taken down by the barrage of stupidity the show sends their way.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 10, 2012
    30
    Animal Practice is a forgettable show sloppily built from comedy cliches, but it can be fixed by firing most of the cast and rebuilding the show around the monkey.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    I would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn'tI would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn't have far to go after watching this trash. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    3
    If a monkey is one of the funniest characters in a show, that usually means trouble.
    The humour is mostly juvenile, kind of like taken from
    If a monkey is one of the funniest characters in a show, that usually means trouble.
    The humour is mostly juvenile, kind of like taken from "Scrubs" without the really funny stuff.
    I have nothing against juvenile humour therefore my 3 Points, but the show needs better writting and from what I've seen, I doubt that the writers are up for the task.
    They actually managed to make Tyler Labine's character boring. I think that says enough.
    In the first episode, the bright sides of the show were the monkey and Betsy Sodaro.
    And Joanna Garcia Swisher is such a cutie, I must admit.
    But that's just not enough for a good show.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    This is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancellThis is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancell the show soon. Full Review »