• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Animal Practice Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Joanna Garcia, Kym Whitley, Bobby Lee
  • Summary: Dr. George Coleman (Justin Kirk), Dr. Kim Yamamoto (Booby Lee), and Dr. Doug Jackson (Tyler Labine) are some of the eccentric veterinarians who work at Dorothy Crane's (JoAnna Garcia Swisher) Animal Hospital.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Brian Gatewood, Alessandro Tanaka
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Aug 12, 2012
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Aug 3, 2012
    83
    Leads Justin Kirk and JoAnna Garcia Swisher charm. [10 Aug 2012, p.70]
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Aug 8, 2012
    67
    Not terrible--really--but not yet remotely the winner NBC so badly needs either.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 10, 2012
    60
    The show may not be comedy gold, but it generates enough laughs to make it worth checking out before hitting the sack Sunday night. But is it a keeper in the long run? We'll see.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 10, 2012
    50
    There are some funny set pieces in the pilot, and enough fruitful interactions with the patients and their troublesome owners that I could see this show developing into a kind of Scrubs with rabies shots, if the characters can develop beyond the familiar menagerie we start out with.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 8, 2012
    42
    Kirk just doesn't click in the lead role. Nor do most of the words he's given.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 25, 2012
    30
    In comedy there's a fine line between wacky and desperate. Animal Practice crosses it early and often.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2012
    20
    It's hard to see this show lasting too far beyond the initial taste.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Very cute and fun show. Has a couple kinks to work out in future episodes, but very funny, and great acting. Looking forward to seeing more ofVery cute and fun show. Has a couple kinks to work out in future episodes, but very funny, and great acting. Looking forward to seeing more of this new family comedy. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    5
    Way too early to make a final verdict but I gave it 5 out of 10 just for the cast and what I know they are capable of. Lets hope the growingWay too early to make a final verdict but I gave it 5 out of 10 just for the cast and what I know they are capable of. Lets hope the growing pains process creates the material they need. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    I thought the show had a couple humorous moments, but it is not something that will last. The show almost seems gearded for kids, but doesn'tI thought the show had a couple humorous moments, but it is not something that will last. The show almost seems gearded for kids, but doesn't quite hit the target either. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    2
    I felt the show was not much of an comedy. The real vet. Dr. Po on the cable channels has funnier moments. Unless they come up with someI felt the show was not much of an comedy. The real vet. Dr. Po on the cable channels has funnier moments. Unless they come up with some better story lines, this show will be a waste of time. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    What a waste of Justin Kirk and Tyler Labine. So stupid, written poorly, more like people acting badly with animals. Too bad an animalWhat a waste of Justin Kirk and Tyler Labine. So stupid, written poorly, more like people acting badly with animals. Too bad an animal hospital show would be good concept, but not this one it is painfully bad. Not a kids show, maybe for 13 year old boys ( which is what these so called Vets act like). I am amazed these type of shows NBC buys and they cancel Harry's Law. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    This is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancellThis is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancell the show soon. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    I would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn'tI would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn't have far to go after watching this trash. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews