• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Archer Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Timothy Olyphant and Ron Leibman will guest star this season. Bob’s Burgers' Bob Belcher is set to visit the spy world in one episode of the show (with Sterling Archer, also voiced by H. Jon Benjamin, crossing over for one episode of the Fox show).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jan 14, 2013
    88
    Archer is a wonder in that its most fiercely flawed characters are its inextinguishable heroes, and their stylized comeuppance arrives in ways that are perpetually unpredictable and altogether resonant within the show's singular, emotionally unhinged universe.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 14, 2013
    83
    Outrageous lewdness and delightful non sequiturs speed by, which makes each episode rewardingly rewatchable.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 17, 2013
    80
    For viewers, most of the jokes still click.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2013
    80
    The animated comedy returns in stronger comedic shape in its fourth season.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2013
    80
    Archer, meanwhile, is all about the funny, and kicks off its fourth season of deranged spy parody.
  6. Reviewed by: J.C. Macek III
    Jan 17, 2013
    70
    Even though Archer does occasionally overwhelm its sharp wit with violent fight sequences or simplistic shocks, it usually recovers with a one-two punch of cool animation and skillful wordplay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Underrated FX jewel, the crisp dry humor of the show only becomes more remarkable, than played out, with smart references and rich stereotypes. Sterling Archer, though clearly the central character, doesn't overshadow his associates at ISIS, but each adds a dimension to the show with twisted relationships and hilarious personalities. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Still Archer, still awesome, still underrated. Some people just have a bug up their ass about animation. But get over it. Archer is probably one of the best shows in general. Just like Game of Thrones is a great drama. Just happens to be in a fantasy setting. Archer is a great comedy. Only exception I can think of is if someone does not like dry humor. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Great season 4 start for Archer. Lots of super hero funny's which took me by surprise with the other craziness going on. Like SHAZAAAM!! I really wish the show was a hour long, but beggars cant be choosers. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Three seasons later, Archer's still got it. Sterling and the other lovable and zany agents of Isis return and are as funny as ever. Expect many, many cameos and homages (including a great "Bob's Burgers" nod). Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    With a few new supporting characters added to the cast Archer’s fourth season retains the high standards the show has set for itself and continues to be amongst the most consistently funny shows, animated or otherwise, currently on TV. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    I'm actually a huge fan of this show since last year, I loved all the seasons so far, this one not so much. It just didn't made me crack up so many times. I found some memorable moments but not as many as in season 2 and 3. It was still funny though, among my favorites in this season. Maybe I expected too much. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed the first 3 seasons but I gotta admit, It has faded fast this season. Episodes are not really funny, No plot to them, Rather disappointing considering how much I liked the previous seasons. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.