• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Archer moves to Mondays as the gang at ISIS undergoes a radical change in season five of the animated comedy.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Jan 13, 2014
    91
    The show is getting rebooted for its fifth season, and it’s quickly clear what a good idea that is.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Ward
    Jan 13, 2014
    80
    Archer‘s affection for character and craft makes it more likely to be remembered as one of the great TV shows of our time, and not just another dirty cartoon.
  3. Reviewed by: Jim Scott
    Jan 28, 2014
    70
    There was a certain circuitousness to the plotlines that Archer Vice not only interrupts, but short-circuits completely.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    The change in plot has created more situations of pure comedy. Same Archer in new situations. This is one of my favorite seasons of Archer,The change in plot has created more situations of pure comedy. Same Archer in new situations. This is one of my favorite seasons of Archer, and it's still the funniest animated show. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    I don't think I'm in the traditional Archer demographic, but I am completely in love with this series that just keeps on ratcheting up theI don't think I'm in the traditional Archer demographic, but I am completely in love with this series that just keeps on ratcheting up the brilliance. Krieger, Pam, Cherlene have radically and hilariously transformed, and still feel consistent to their personalities. Archer's continued almost innocent narcissistic elitist **** is perfect. Not crazy about the new palette for opening titles, but it does evoke the Miami Vice postmodern pink, teal, tropical color scheme. The sets are exquisitely and hilariously rendered as they deconstruct the notion of retro, pulling from several decades simultaneously. Obscure references continue to instruct and amuse.The timing of the cast is spot on. Loved the last episode's Breakfast Club bit (Mallory: "Now you're just spouting random words" (not verbatim). & Fred Armisen is predictably fabulous. I imagine many find this show bad for the kids, deeply profane. I just love it and Bob's Burgers, and find them Macintosh innovative compared to the mass produced Windows-like, endless McFarlane shtick. Total 10 for this girl. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The whole proposed 180-degree and (SPOILERS) downfall of ISIS is a rare and brilliant surprise (only bettered by surprise fellatio). With season 4 starting to feel tired, Adam Reed also seemed so, so he's stripping everything that we knew about the show apart from the characters. This was a great new season premiere (and possible pilot) for Archer... Vice Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    With the revelation that ISIS weren't actually a legal branch of the CIA Archer both literally and figuratively (is there a word for that?)With the revelation that ISIS weren't actually a legal branch of the CIA Archer both literally and figuratively (is there a word for that?) blows itself up to start over as Archer: Vice. This fifth season is arguably the least consistent in terms of quality, with plot taking priority of jokes perhaps a little too often, but the show still remains thoroughly entertaining with laugh out loud moments throughout the thirteen episodes on offer. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    6
    A solid start to the season but no where near as memorable or as good as previous season openers. Still, Gotta love Archer and I am glad thatA solid start to the season but no where near as memorable or as good as previous season openers. Still, Gotta love Archer and I am glad that it's back. Collapse
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    2
    I loved the first few seasons of Archer, but like other FX comedies (see "Always Sunny"), it seems to have transitioned almost overnight fromI loved the first few seasons of Archer, but like other FX comedies (see "Always Sunny"), it seems to have transitioned almost overnight from fresh and funny to old and tired. Even the pop culture references have become forced and "lol, so random." Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    What happened to Archer? I think I've laughed two or three times so far (six episodes!), not at all during the last episode. The next episodeWhat happened to Archer? I think I've laughed two or three times so far (six episodes!), not at all during the last episode. The next episode is the decider whether to stop watching this season. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.