• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Archer Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Aisha Tyler, Jessica Walter, Chris Parnell
  • Summary: The animated comedy from the same people who brought you Adult Swim introduces Sterling Archer, a spy for ISIS, whose boss is also his mother and his ex-girlfriend is a fellow spy.

    A sneak peak of episode one was shown in September 2009.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Adam Reed (I)
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jan 14, 2010
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Archer is the rare show that's in love with its own wordplay and good enough that this love becomes endearing rather than annoying.
  2. This spy spoof hits a bull’s-eye with risque snark and one of the best vocal casts assembled for any animated series.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The first episode is, maybe to grab the young-guy audience, heavier on the sexplay and lighter on the laughs. But two or three episodes in, the characters and dynamics come together, and the show really begins to kill. Literally and figuratively, but mostly figuratively.
  4. 80
    Archer is a millennial (and very much R-rated) "Get Smart" that acerbically and hilariously plays on our post-9/ll fears that "U.S. government intelligence" might be a grim oxymoron.
  5. 75
    While the show's humor can be raunchy or even cruel, the voice work is pure unruffled deadpan. [18 Jan 2010, p.42]
  6. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    75
    The show is fast, funny and smart, although it stoops a little low for punchlines; I could do without the fat jokes and the cheap shot at Indira Gandhi. But the random humor pays off more often than not.
  7. The new series boasts eye-catching animation and dollops of sex and violence but only enough humor to elicit occasional chuckles. If you eliminate the references to sexual perversions, even the smiles are few and far between.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. AzizD
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    I am a 23 y.o. male, and i grew up with Southpark, and Family Guy. but This Show is so Far past the Idiacrocy that made those two Funny for I am a 23 y.o. male, and i grew up with Southpark, and Family Guy. but This Show is so Far past the Idiacrocy that made those two Funny for me. The Language is a lttle stronge for Kids, but i have not seen anything this Great in a long Time. I literally have Teared from laughing so Hard. This is one of the greatest animation adult comedies i have ever seen... I am Literally Looking forward to every episode. Keep up the Great work. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    Crazy good! I've watched everything on adult swim so much that I've stopped watching it because of all the crap like Tim & Eric and The MightyCrazy good! I've watched everything on adult swim so much that I've stopped watching it because of all the crap like Tim & Eric and The Mighty Boosh. Thank god FX released something to feed my need. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    I have seen all episodes of Family Guy & Futurama, most of South Park, and I have to say this show beats them out because they have a castI have seen all episodes of Family Guy & Futurama, most of South Park, and I have to say this show beats them out because they have a cast that love recording the show as much as they do watching it, this show should last a long time. Expand
  4. Brew
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Truly enjoyed the sneak peek at Archer! While it's geared toward a male audience, I am a girl and got lots of laughs watching it. Maybe Truly enjoyed the sneak peek at Archer! While it's geared toward a male audience, I am a girl and got lots of laughs watching it. Maybe it's because I'm one of those It's Always Sunny...cult followers or maybe I think the typical Desperate Housewives chick flicks are so cliche...or maybe it reminds me of Frisky Dingo. Probably, all of the above. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    All preface by saying this show is not for everyone. In fact, it's probably not for most people. The humor is sophomoric (incredibly soAll preface by saying this show is not for everyone. In fact, it's probably not for most people. The humor is sophomoric (incredibly so sometimes) and the jokes can be a bit repetitive. That said, this is my favorite comedy on TV. It's hard to review comedy, as plot, characters, location, etc... all essentially don't matter to me. Sure the music is good and the voice acting is wonderful, but the real barometer, and the one that earns this show a '9' from me, is "does it make me laugh?" The answer: more than any other show on TV. Archer is hilarious. Season 1 is simply outstanding. Watch a single episode and if you like it and the jokes resonate with you, than you'll be in for a great season of TV! Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having never seen Frisky Dingo and only a few episodes of Sealab 2021(Archer creator Adam Reed's previous shows), I wasn't sure exactly what to expect out of Archer. Though the plot did have me interested. It follows a top secret agency, ISIS, as their agents thwart international terrorist threats with the support of the other ISIS employees. At least that's what would happen in a perfect world. What really occurs is the agents usually just getting the job done by the skin of their teeth or not at all, while the employees are too busy with office politics and gossip to assist them.

    What lured me in was the cast, which is as close to perfect as I've seen in quite awhile. The main attraction was H. Jon Benjamin who I had first seen in Home Movies, which quickly became one of my favorite shows and has remained one of them for years. Knowing he was going to be heading the cast as Sterling Archer, top field agent for ISIS, I felt I had to give the show a try. After looking into the show I learned that there were a couple of Arrested Development alums(my favorite comedy), in Judy Greer(Carol or Cheryl, depending on who you ask) and Jessica Walter(Malory Archer). Both of whom are reprising their respective roles on Arrested Development, in a way. Carol being a very dim witted receptionist, and Malory as Archer's overbearing and controlling mother. How controlling? Well her son's full name is Sterling Malory Archer and he shares his code name with Mallory's dog.

    Rounding out the main cast were a couple of actors that I wasn't so sure about. Chris Parnell, who I love on 30 Rock as Dr. Spaceman, but haven't really cared for in anything else. And Aisha Tyler who I just wasn't that familiar with. Both have delivered incredible performances, especially Tyler who's trademark "yup!" has become something I can't stop myself from saying. Parnell plays Cyril Figgis ISIS comptroller and current boyfriend of Lana Kane, Tyler's character. Lana is a field agent and used to be in a relationship with Archer. This of course leads to some pretty awkward moments between the three, all of which are hilarious.

    A couple of the less prominent characters also deserve a mention, Pam voiced by Amber Nash is ISIS's Human Resources director and not so secretly attracted to Lana. Pam has become one of my favorite characters her lines and delivery are always hilarious. George Coe voices Woodhouse, Archers man servant and whipping horse, who is usually there for Archer to bounce jokes off of, but his extremely dry delivery provides some humor as well.

    The animation is excellent as well, the retro look blended into a modern world is an interesting take and everything has a sleekness to it that you'd expect in a world of spies, even fumbling ones.

    I fell in love with the series after the first episode and would highly recommend it to anyone that likes an even mix of smart, witty comedy and broad, very un-PC jokes.
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    I've watched this show straight and I've watched it stoned. I can't find the channel changer fast enough..void of humor...maybe its theI've watched this show straight and I've watched it stoned. I can't find the channel changer fast enough..void of humor...maybe its the voices that made me cringe...but I would rather pay to see pigeons f%*k than to waste my time with this show.. Collapse

See all 56 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.