• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Archer Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The animated comedy from the same people who brought you Adult Swim introduces Sterling Archer, a spy for ISIS, whose boss is also his mother and his ex-girlfriend is a fellow spy.

    A sneak peak of episode one was shown in September 2009.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Archer is the rare show that's in love with its own wordplay and good enough that this love becomes endearing rather than annoying.
  2. This spy spoof hits a bull’s-eye with risque snark and one of the best vocal casts assembled for any animated series.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The first episode is, maybe to grab the young-guy audience, heavier on the sexplay and lighter on the laughs. But two or three episodes in, the characters and dynamics come together, and the show really begins to kill. Literally and figuratively, but mostly figuratively.
  4. 80
    Archer is a millennial (and very much R-rated) "Get Smart" that acerbically and hilariously plays on our post-9/ll fears that "U.S. government intelligence" might be a grim oxymoron.
  5. 75
    While the show's humor can be raunchy or even cruel, the voice work is pure unruffled deadpan. [18 Jan 2010, p.42]
  6. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    75
    The show is fast, funny and smart, although it stoops a little low for punchlines; I could do without the fat jokes and the cheap shot at Indira Gandhi. But the random humor pays off more often than not.
  7. The new series boasts eye-catching animation and dollops of sex and violence but only enough humor to elicit occasional chuckles. If you eliminate the references to sexual perversions, even the smiles are few and far between.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best shows on T.V. right now. It's just too bad there's so much time in between seasons but that does make it better because of the anticipation. The animation is really nicely done and the characters are excellent. The season 3 premiere was this last week and, while that may have been one of the weaker episodes, the series as whole is something to appreciate for it's outstanding humor and wonderful characters. Give it a chance and it'll grow on you fast. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I find this show absolutely hilarious. The animation is well done but really, its the writing and the voice talent that sells the product. Even the secondary characters are fun to watch. I watched it as it aired on FX and then when they released to season on iTunes, I pulled it down to watch it again. To have repeat view ability is pretty impressive. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Started watching it with low expectations and was rather happy that it far exceeded expectations. It's a very funny show and if you like the ranchy style humor then you will love it. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    The plot feels a little cliche, but Archer is saved by incredibly clever dialogue. I am in love with this show, and Sterling Archer is one of the best secret agent characters since Maxwell Smart. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    The first season was an absolute 10/10. Season 2 was a 9/10, and this season has been a 7 or 8/10. I've sort of come to expect that they'll never re-capture that awesome first season, and just enjoy the show for what it is. The inside jokes/background is nice; I feel like the writers make an effort to connect with their fans in ways no one has before. For anyone wanting to get into the show, I don't think you really can unless you go back and watch the entire series. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    This show is completely hilarious and a lot of fun to watch, every episode had me rolling on the floor, the season finale was a little disappointing but it's was still hilarious, I highly recommend watching. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    I've watched this show straight and I've watched it stoned. I can't find the channel changer fast enough..void of humor...maybe its the voices that made me cringe...but I would rather pay to see pigeons f%*k than to waste my time with this show.. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.