• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 2, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Are We There Yet? Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This series based on the movies "Are We There Yet?" and "Are We Done Yet? follows the lives of Nick (Terry Crews), Suzanne, and their two kids.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. 63
    This family sitcom, adapted from Ice Cube's hit 2005 movie, is a modestly conceived, somewhat blandly executed story about a stepdad (Terry Crews from Everybody Hates Chris), his new wife (Essence Atkins) and her two kids. [7 Jun 2010, p.50]
  2. 63
    The frequent pop-culture references might not age well in syndication--Michelle Obama maybe, but Heidi Montag? Overall, though, there's enough originality and likability in "Are We There Yet?" to make it a pleasant destination.
  3. The alleged comedy follows this blended family's attempts to get along. The laugh track works harder than anyone here.
  4. It is so far minor stuff, inconsistent in tone and not particularly original yet fundamentally sweet and, if not stared at too hard, appealing.
  5. In the end, "Are We There Yet?" is a harmless little family comedy, and that's about the best that can be said. The traveling Kingston-Persons have come home, but it's not necessarily the best place of all.
  6. While the story feels thin and forced, it does let the show dig into Nick and Suzanne's real feelings toward each other, and reminds us that we like them both.
  7. Reviewed by: M.T. Richards
    25
    For a piece of old-school sitcom traditionalism, Are We There Yet? gets the concepts of family and marriage all wrong.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This show is the WORST!!!!! show i have EVER!!!!! seen in my life. I heard all of the jokes they say and HATE that there is nothing original in this show. You could just tell that this show is not funny when you need a laugh track for the jokes they tell. Also I HATE all of the characters in this show and the acting is HORRIBLE FROM ALL OF THEM!!!!!! I hope that this stays off the air Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This was a show that started out a cutesy-before the kids-go to bed type of comedy based on a winning and profitable movie idea. Over the formative weeks there were many stumbles and a few falls. The cast was made up of two seasoned veterans and, two second time series participants mixed in with two novice child actors.
    Now that it has reached the 3/8 mark of its episode commitment the show has now found a loyal following because the characters have settled and the guest stars make the show a must watch for mid week television entertainment. After a successful 10 p.m. timeslot settlement, TBS sees fit to send it to do battle in the 9-10 Primetime TV spot to run with the big dogs. This may be the only mistake. Once back at 10 p.m. the show will hold its own!
    Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    I can literally understand all this hate cause I didn't like the first season, but you know I love Essence she is one of my favorite actresses so I took a chance I actually laughed now after season three everything gets better. The story is fairly decent the actors Essence, GiGi, and Martin are why I really watch it cause they a extremely funny escpecially Essence and Gigi. The daughter is eh I like the daughter from Meet The Browns more. Kevin eh I like him better then Joaquin from Meet the Browns. Terry he was better in other things, but he straight her. Want my advice watch the show only for Essence, Gigi, and Martin (They the only ones who can make you laugh a lot). For the most part it's better then Meet the Brown, and def. House of Payne and For Better or Worse. Let's just say better then Tyler Perry shows, not movie, but his shows. Expand
  4. TerranceH.
    Jun 3, 2010
    0
    The Bernie Mac Show.. The Fresh Prince of Bel AIr.... The Waynes Bros.. It would be nice to see another great African American sitcom,, unfortunately you won't find it on TBS. Are We There Yet is another piece of stereotypical garbage just as unfunny and poorly executed as House of Pain. The jokes aren't funny.. Ice Cube and the kids can't act. Terry Crews and the beautiful Essence Atkins can't make the god awful writing any better. Annoying characters. Unfunny jokes. Bad Acting. Nothing new. Sitcom. Bad. Expand
  5. StuL.
    Jun 7, 2010
    0
    Boy oh boy does this show stink. Corniest jokes I have ever heard. And the acting is just terrible. So boring, who would watch it?
  6. LarryS.
    Jun 7, 2010
    0
    I hate this show and I hate the laugh track and I hate the characters and I hate that there's ANOTHER bad sitcom on TV.
  7. LewisH.
    Jun 7, 2010
    0
    This show is garbage.

See all 12 User Reviews