Are You There, Chelsea? : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2012
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 14 out of 24

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 10, 2012
    50
    The show's just not as funny as Chelsea Handler is when she's playing Chelsea Handler.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 10, 2012
    50
    If the writers relax their death grip on that formula and Handler stops choking the proceedings, Are You There, Chelsea? might be worth another look.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Goldblatt
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    Many of the plotlines are lifted (poorly) from Handler's best-sellers.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 11, 2012
    40
    Whenever Chelsea Handler is on screen in the new NBC comedy Are You There, Chelsea?, in which she plays not the title character but her sister Sloan, we see the hint of the better sitcom it wants to become.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 11, 2012
    40
    A watered-down drink of a sitcom.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 11, 2012
    40
    The problem isn't the performers....The problem is the jokes.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Ward
    Jan 11, 2012
    40
    This isn't to say Are You There, Chelsea? is completely hopeless. There are bright spots. The brightest, predictably, is Handler.
  8. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Jan 10, 2012
    40
    Prepon manages to give Chelsea's raunchy lines and irritating actions--including the brush-off of that opening DUI--more zing and charm than the material merits.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. JBM
    Jan 16, 2012
    1
    Rarely do I find a TV sitcom unwatchable but this one is it. Someone forgot to tell the producers and writers that a sitcom is supposed toRarely do I find a TV sitcom unwatchable but this one is it. Someone forgot to tell the producers and writers that a sitcom is supposed to have people in it the audience likes. Lots of shows handle drinking excessively with humor but in this case I felt like I was watching a documentary about alcoholism. What a totally unlikeable show. Can it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    Chelsea Handler must be stopped. One lame TV show is more than enough. We've all know you're a drunken slut Chelsea. Two books and a talkChelsea Handler must be stopped. One lame TV show is more than enough. We've all know you're a drunken slut Chelsea. Two books and a talk show have thoroughly uncovered the mystery. Call off the dogs. P.S. BRING BACK COMMUNITY you Hosers. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this show. Laura Prepon is hilarious in this part. I would be super upset if this show gets cancelled. I don't get it, whenI absolutely love this show. Laura Prepon is hilarious in this part. I would be super upset if this show gets cancelled. I don't get it, when Charlie Sheen plays a womanizing, alcoholic he gets paid a mil an episode, and he's a real life drug addict. But when there is a character that is a promiscuous woman who drinks a lot, people are suddenly not interested. They only had half a season to be watched. They should be given at least another 10-12 episodes to establish a bigger following that I know is out there. Good luck cast and crew I'm rooting for you. Full Review »