• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 114
  2. Negative: 24 out of 114

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CJG.
    Apr 18, 2010
    0
    Never saw the kind of drivel you write about the Army or it's environs. Make a mockery of the Military and you can expect negative criticisms.
  2. JokerR
    Oct 12, 2009
    4
    Show started off as a good drama now wallowing as the sappiest of the sappy of smarmy soap operas. Last show of season (10/11/09) was prob my last ever. TOO many explpsions for a season finale. A good showmight have some minor cliffhanger drama; This had a pregnancy , a possible suicide after a bar fight(Yaaawnnn-cliched, biz shutdown for the new mom-to-be ,possible combat death, angry Show started off as a good drama now wallowing as the sappiest of the sappy of smarmy soap operas. Last show of season (10/11/09) was prob my last ever. TOO many explpsions for a season finale. A good showmight have some minor cliffhanger drama; This had a pregnancy , a possible suicide after a bar fight(Yaaawnnn-cliched, biz shutdown for the new mom-to-be ,possible combat death, angry mopey husband, 'preciou' baby with dead or woundedothet, FBI invading former black activist on the run, needy, horney teen trying too hard( she'll prob be in bed in the other room when they find suicide possible, or even worse she's shot cuz she bravely tried to stop him,mama leaving rogue hubby, feistyblack bar worker turns out to be fantastic singer(bet she can dance too,) a shame she can't act beyond the sassy stereotype of the street smart heroine as stereotypical black female actress. Roxy spiraling down to the duh-duh-duhmm blond abyss, plot lines all sensation with little acting and many confrontational 'walkaways' (when does that happen in real life, and WAY too many 'can I talk with yous while adjourning to a spot a few feet away , very obvious and where everyone can still hear' , OVERacting and chewing up scenes by the brilliant and beautiful Kim Delaney ( forgive me for saying, in the past we have seen that during her bouts with substance abuse-I pray that that is not happening). All in all a reliance on cheap gimmicks and tawdriness as a lazy excuse for good writing and acting, it seems that all involved stopped creating and read some early positive press go to their heads- HEY Y'all , as you soar over that shark glance down and see what you were and could have been and try to get back work -if it is not too late. Thank you. Expand
  3. NavyWife
    Jun 8, 2009
    0
    I agree with Daniel S. that this show is a disgrace to those in uniform. My husband and I watched it for the first time last night. I was so disappointed, not that I expected much, but the acting, was AWFUL and dry!!! Roxy and Pamela (I think that was her name) are portrayed as uneducated airheads in my opinion. And it was so cheesy that after being fired for having a relationship with a I agree with Daniel S. that this show is a disgrace to those in uniform. My husband and I watched it for the first time last night. I was so disappointed, not that I expected much, but the acting, was AWFUL and dry!!! Roxy and Pamela (I think that was her name) are portrayed as uneducated airheads in my opinion. And it was so cheesy that after being fired for having a relationship with a patient, that nurse got dumped, BY the patient! And, we hate "Claudia Jo's" name - ICK!! What kind of name is that??!! Expand
  4. DanielS.
    Sep 22, 2008
    3
    Army Wives is a show that was originated with a concept that is no longer being portrayed. It is now no more than a regular soap opera where the characters perform in uniform. It no longer shows the true lives of the ones connected to the military. It is now proving to be a disgrace to those of us in uniform.
  5. SueG.
    Jun 15, 2008
    0
    This show is so superficial. I was a military wife for 26 years and I never have seen such a bogus show in my life. It' nothing but a soap opera and the things they do as army wives on the show is nothing compared to the real life of an army wife or any military wife. It just makes me sick. They are just trying to capture the civilian world with a bunch of lies (BS). You want to know This show is so superficial. I was a military wife for 26 years and I never have seen such a bogus show in my life. It' nothing but a soap opera and the things they do as army wives on the show is nothing compared to the real life of an army wife or any military wife. It just makes me sick. They are just trying to capture the civilian world with a bunch of lies (BS). You want to know what real life is like as a military wife than I would gladly talk to you. They put this show on a pedestal just to grab viewers. My 27-year-old daughter is sickened at how they portray army wives. My daughter was a military brat for 20 years and has seen it all. Army wives show is nothing like real life. This show SUCKS! You are wasting your time watching it. My husband was in Iraq twice and I could tell you real stories that can make your head spin about what military wives go through. This show is just another made up soap opera. I suppose they will not post this as it's the truth. They want people to watch this silly show, so they wont post my truth of a real military wife. They show previews of the show to suck people into watching it. Expand
  6. DjeeE.
    Aug 7, 2007
    2
    I give it as high as a two (2) only because a the actors manage to remember their lines and some of the South Carolina location scenes look beautiful. But the story is horrifically - nearly comically bad (on purpose, perhaps?). I've lived the life for the past 17 years and so all I know is my personal experience - and that of my friends, of course. But from this wive's I give it as high as a two (2) only because a the actors manage to remember their lines and some of the South Carolina location scenes look beautiful. But the story is horrifically - nearly comically bad (on purpose, perhaps?). I've lived the life for the past 17 years and so all I know is my personal experience - and that of my friends, of course. But from this wive's perspective - "Army Wives" is a shameful caricature of some of the most honorable spouses, selfless spouses in our country. I mean come on, people! My husband is the Sergeant Major of an Infantry battalion. I've known my share of drama, gossip, and silliness - but this bizarre sort of 1960s era "us and them" version of officers wives versus enlisted wives and the whole idea that a Lieutenant Colonel's daughter would get preferential treatment at an Army hospital over an enlisted man's son is preposterous. This show is absurd and it is beyond me how it keeps getting high numbers in viewership. I can tell you - it sure doesn't come from Fort Stewart, Georgia. Maybe in the new season, Lifetime will clean house and higher another head writer - maybe someone who has some experience with military families and maybe a budget to higher an experienced technical advisor who rose to more than just the rank of Specialist. Expand
  7. SarahR
    Jul 15, 2007
    0
    this show was such a disappointment!! i couldn't even watch the whole thing. I got all excited to watch it, and now i want it off the air!!!
  8. Bort
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    The army sucks and so does tv. Get a life jerkwads.
  9. RobertM
    Jul 4, 2007
    0
    It incorrectly and mindlesslly teaches that the function of military personnel is to mindlesslly follow orders and to save their own skins from harm regardless of the cosequence to others. This of course is what may be expectesd of mercenaries who are fighting for pay, perverted pleasure or profit. I refer to the episode that shows the mental breakdown of a soldier who, accompanied by an It incorrectly and mindlesslly teaches that the function of military personnel is to mindlesslly follow orders and to save their own skins from harm regardless of the cosequence to others. This of course is what may be expectesd of mercenaries who are fighting for pay, perverted pleasure or profit. I refer to the episode that shows the mental breakdown of a soldier who, accompanied by an officer and other military personnel, returns to an Iraqi village to gather "intel" from a family that had bound his wounds and saved him from dying at the risk of their lives, and witnessess the families ten year old daughter, who also persomnally helped him , being raped and killed while our soldiers do nothing because they were out numbered and the officer in charge did not want to give their positon away. This complete inaction was all neatly justified as according to applicable US rules of engagement, and therefore as "following orders." The soldier who was saved suffers a mental breakdown takes hostages on a stateside US army post and is shot in the head by a US sniper to save the US hostages from possible danger. The officer's observing this, which included the officer who did nothing when the ten year old girl was raped and killed and the post's commanding officer whose wife was now a hostage, mutter, after the sniper's shot was fired, something about everyone having done the right thing because they were just "following orders." Simultaneously, they unemotionally strip off their bullet proof vests and go about their business, almost as if nothing had ever happened. I almost threw up. I thought that "just fo;llowing orders" had been left on the ash heap of stupid military excuses at the Nuremberg trials of Nazi war criminals. The behaviour depicted in this episode explains why we have lost in Iraq. If our military is not concerned with saving Iraqi lives we should not have gone in there in the first place and we must get out now. Military personnel are supposed to know that their lives are always at risk, civilians are not. If someone wants to do a public service , wear a uniform and not put their lives at risk, they may join the sanitation department in their local community. I do not believe that what was depicted represents the beliefs and behaviour of all our soldiers in Iraq. Unfortunately, however, I believe the show is right to the extent it represents some. Those people should have been be brought home yesterday, since their behavior has already caused the loss of American and Iraqi lives by antagonizing Iraqi civilians and creating more insurgents. To paraphrase General Von Schliefen, Germany's Chef of Staff in World War I, people are made officers because it is beliefved they have enough knowledge to know when not to follow orders. It is another relevant military axim is that no plan survives unchanged its first contact with the enemy. The picture the program gives of the military is from another planet ,and does a terrible disservice to some very brave people who are trying their best. Expand
  10. JenB
    Jun 28, 2007
    0
    I watch the show just to see what Hollywood thinks of me. Awful show not even close to real life. I completely agree with Laura T...they could at least get the uniforms right. The 82nd patch does not go with a black berets, and when did they start Airborne training in South Carolina. This show disgusts me and most of the military wives I know!
  11. LauraT
    Jun 25, 2007
    0
    I could not watch this again! Terrible writing. The military consultant should be fired! They have soldiers wearing All American patches and black berets! Somebody did not do their homework! This show is giving people the wrong impression of military wives. Hollywood will def get wrong impression and that will give them just another excuse to bash the military! Hate the show, it could I could not watch this again! Terrible writing. The military consultant should be fired! They have soldiers wearing All American patches and black berets! Somebody did not do their homework! This show is giving people the wrong impression of military wives. Hollywood will def get wrong impression and that will give them just another excuse to bash the military! Hate the show, it could have been a good show if done right. Talk to more spouses and get it right! Expand
  12. JaniceA
    Jun 14, 2007
    1
    I am a army wife of 20 years, and my question to you is why? Why put all of dirty laundry on tv? You guys are not going to help us with our struggle. Life is hard enough with you rich people putting our information out their like it is entertainment.
  13. genea
    Jun 11, 2007
    1
    bad acting.bad writing,even worse camera work. wont watch it again.
  14. georges
    Jun 9, 2007
    2
    Army wives is nothing but non realistic characters acting like trash in a 'soap opera on steroids'!!! Can't we give our fighting and men and women the respect they deserve. Nobody acts like these characters except Hollywood scum! Excuse me but it's the truth!!!
  15. carla
    Jun 9, 2007
    1
    This show sucks ass. I hope it gets cancelled. disgusting.
  16. Carla
    Jun 9, 2007
    1
    This show is absolutely Disgusting. There are people fighting and dying in a war right now and no Army wife i know is this stupid, silly, slutty or brainless. This show was Stupid and Disgraceful. Why not show some CLASS for a change?
  17. TinaR
    Jun 8, 2007
    1
    As an Army wife of over 27 years I can only say this show is anabsolute disgrace on it's depiction of Army wives. The show is very inacurate and far fetched to say the least. Don't know who gave them advice on their story lines...some Hollywood drama writer???
  18. Barbara
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    As a military spouse, I am offended by this crappy show. Full of stereotypes, who the hell wrote this crappy show.
  19. IrisS
    Jun 4, 2007
    3
    Boring, trite. Daytime soap operas have better pacing. Yawn
  20. samf
    Jun 4, 2007
    3
    The cast is great but the writers go overboard on the stereotypes of the Army. Couldn't they find even one military adviser who knew anything about the Army? I think the writers were too busy trying to make their points to be bothered by portraying the Army accurately.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. 63
    "Army Wives" is better than it has any right to be.
  2. 60
    “Army Wives” is by no means a perfect show, but there’s a lot of potential material in the lives of these women.
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    75
    An earnest soap about women who are scrappy, sensitive, and stoic. [1 Jun 2007, p.64]