Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    88
    It's the season's best new series, period.
  2. Reviewed by: Carina Chocano
    Jun 17, 2013
    100
    I don't know about you, but I'm not used to laughing out loud alone in front of the TV. Honestly, I was startled.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Speier
    May 26, 2013
    90
    With faith in its own inspired goofiness, the net's newest Sunday entry reinvents what works --- and mocks what doesn't --- within the confines of the undernourished sitcom world. Critics and viewers clamoring for something unique since the sesh began back in August finally have something to champion ... and boy, is it funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    May 26, 2013
    88
    As you might expect from an experimental show that is doing its best to misbehave, there are times when Arrested goes too far. I could live without George Michael's crush on his first cousin, a story given more prominence in a future episode when it really needs less. But for now, I'd say stick with the Bluths, even when their behavior is more alarming than arresting. At least they're not dull. And this season, that's a development worth encouraging.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 26, 2013
    100
    If you enjoy seeing wealthy, petty people get their deserved comeuppance, this is the show for you. If you enjoy laughing, this is definitely the show for you - the funniest new comedy of the season by a wide margin...For a show about dumb, unfocused people, Arrested Development is wickedly smart and quick, willing to go anywhere for a good gag. [31 Oct 2003, p.49]
  6. 90
    Arrested Development has been hyped to the clouds in a number of ads, all piling on critical encomiums from all over the country. This time they're telling the truth. [31 Oct 2003, p.E1]
  7. 88
    The funniest, hippest and most imaginative new comedy on any network this fall. [31 Oct 2003, p.E-11]
  8. The one truly original new show this season and certainly the funniest comedy. It is outrageous. It is odd. It is fresh. It is smart. And, given the track record of such refreshingly sophisticated comedies on network TV, it will be lucky to last three episodes. [31 Oct 2003, p.9E]
  9. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    May 26, 2013
    100
    There are moments in Arrested Development, Fox's new sitcom, that are pants-wettingly funny. There are jokes and scenarios that bend you over in gleeful agony. All of a sudden, with this last new fall series offering -- hope having been beaten out of all of us -- we get one of the most hysterically ridiculous half hours on television.
  10. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    May 26, 2013
    88
    I haven't the slightest idea what the heck I'm watching, but I've seen two of 'em now, and all I know is that two of 'em weren't enough. I wanted to watch a bunch more.
  11. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    May 26, 2013
    80
    The Bluth heirs are eccentric and warped, but they are not hothouse child prodigies like the Tenenbaum siblings. They are nouveau riche misfits, the Ewings of "Dallas" as seen by Bunuel. And they are quite amusing.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 26, 2013
    90
    For all its willful outrageousness, Arrested Development is sort of gripping -- a continuing story that one actually wants to see continue, which is more than can be said of most of the new dramas the season produced. [31 Oct 2003, p.E1]
  13. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    May 26, 2013
    90
    Bateman is a revelation -- the ex-child star is great in this show. The rest of the cast is also very good, the writing is sharp, the humor level is high and it succeeds in creating a different comedy look and style. [31 Oct 2003, p.C08]
  14. Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    May 26, 2013
    75
    Arrested Development is one of those increasingly rare network comedy series that dares to assume there might be intelligent life out there watching, viewers who actually know when to laugh. Bless you, Fox. [31 Oct 2003, p.1H]
  15. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    May 26, 2013
    100
    Arrested Development is very animated but it is not a cartoon. Cartoonish, perhaps, but it is filled with real actors playing surreal people, all of whom have frighteningly identifiable traits and tics. Together they are the Bluths, the latest and at this moment greatest of TV's dysfunctional families. Dysfunctionalism has rarely been as ingratiating or, certainly, as hilarious.
  16. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    May 26, 2013
    100
    Generous with the laughs. A wonderfully quirky and stylish series from a creative team headed by director-producer Ron Howard, this isn't merely the best new comedy of the season. It's the best new show of any kind.[2 Nov 2003, p.J1]
  17. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    May 26, 2013
    100
    The best new sitcom to come along in years. [2 Nov 2003, p.C4]
  18. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    May 26, 2013
    80
    With its depiction of a warped, absurd family, Arrested Development is worth watching for fans of out-there comedy. [2 Nov 2003, p.TV-5]
  19. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    May 26, 2013
    40
    A marvelous cast, including Jeffrey Tambor, Jason Bateman, Portia de Rossi, Jessica Walter and Alia Shawkat. Offbeat situations and innovative direction. Your humble critic, however, finds one problem: It's not very funny. [2 Nov 2003, p.H01]
  20. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    May 26, 2013
    60
    Despite some amusing bits involving the parents, there's a major problem: Arrested Development isn't especially funny. That's the one asset every successful sitcom must have. [2 Nov 2003, p.4]
  21. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    May 26, 2013
    100
    Nobody tries to be funny here, so they're more hysterical than the folks falling all over themselves elsewhere. They're simply hopeless specimens of spoiled humanity who haven't a clue how to operate in the real world. [2 Nov 2003, p.04]
  22. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    May 26, 2013
    100
    News bulletin: We've finally found the weapons of mass destruction, or at least one of them. The jokes fly like shrapnel in Fox's dangerously hilarious new sitcom Arrested Development, and, like shrapnel, they often draw blood...A scathingly, unnervingly comic riff on stupidity and greed in the corporate world, Arrested Development is something like a National Lampoon's Wall Street Vacation, painting its targets variously as buffoonish or malefic, but always hitting them dead-center. [2 Nov 2003, p.3M]
  23. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    May 26, 2013
    100
    The season's best new comedy - we're talking laugh-out-loud funny. [2 Nov 2003, p.F-14]
  24. Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    May 26, 2013
    90
    This is compelling in both the broad strokes and the little details. The funny thing is, even at its most absurd, it feels almost realistic, because Hurwitz so precisely sketches his characters and their setting. [1 Nov 2003, p.27]
  25. Reviewed by: Monica Collins
    May 26, 2013
    75
    What a dazzling bunch of jerks. Yet, somehow, they are family and you can't help but laugh at them. Arrested Development is so dopey - but slick dopey. [2 Nov 2003, p.39]
  26. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 26, 2013
    100
    A smart, tart, daring comedy in a season that could really use one. Arrested Development and Mr. Bateman both deserve a long and prosperous run. What a nice, bracing development that would be. [2 Nov 2003, p.3]
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is the best show that has ever aired anywhere ever on TV ever. Unless you have the IQ of a mongoose you will like this show. Watching this series from front to back is the best television experience you can possibly have. Full Review »
  2. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Best television series of all time! It is extremely unique and clever, I've been watching it for about 4 years now and I'm still noticing jokes that i never noticed before. The cast is excellent, every actor on the show moved on to doing many movies after this series was cancelled. The writing for this show is godly as well, I've never seen better, nor do I think I ever will. There are so many different jokes and I don't understand how Mitch Hurwitz manages to think of all of it. In short, this is a perfect show. Please watch Arrested Development :) Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    A refreshing TV show from the copy paste style of most shows today. Original characters, and a good story line. Definitely worth watching, or better yet owning on DVD. Full Review »