Arrested Development Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    May 26, 2013
    100
    Arrested Development is, in fact, "Dynasty" as it might be rewritten for the Three Stooges if there were a dozen of them...Sly, wild, clever and just plain nuts, Arrested Development makes you think as it makes you laugh, and one of the things it makes you think is, "Why the hell am I laughing?" Deep in your subconscious, you know. You've slipped on the appeal of a frozen banana. [6 Nov 2004, p.C01]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    May 26, 2013
    100
    This is one of maybe six or so elite series on all of television that you should absolutely be watching. Pitch-perfect acting (ensemble stars Jason Bateman and Jessica Walter were robbed of Emmys) and nuanced writing that staggers you with its cleverness and lunacy makes this more than a typical dysfunctional-family sitcom. [3 Nov 2004, p.E1]
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 1, 2013
    100
    In looks and structure, Arrested Development is like a 30-min. drama, just a hilarious one. In most network sitcoms nowadays, the wisecracking characters are aware that they're being funny. The oblivious Bluths are funny despite themselves.
  4. The good news is that it's still got game. [7 Nov 2004, p.C09]
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    May 26, 2013
    90
    For all their foibles, the Bluth family seems more real than most stale sitcom clans; the looks that they give each other are recognizable to anyone who has ever been embarrassed or just weirded out by the behavior of the people they love. [5 Nov 2004, p.5]
  6. Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    May 26, 2013
    88
    Funny stuff. Now if only it could find an audience. [5 Nov 2004, p.51]
  7. Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    May 26, 2013
    50
    I used to like Arrested Development, and now I don't...So shoot me.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite and the best season of AD. It has some of my favourite episodes like Meat the Veals, Motherboy, Good Grief, and Sword of Destiny, as well as some of the greatest moments including the Loose Seal, Afternoon Delight karaoke, Tony Wonder, and... Her? Perfect. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This season still manages to keep it's brilliance and especially the genius running gags. Maeby becoming a studio exec. was probably one of my most intriguing part of the season. This season is definitley one of the funniest seasons of Arrested Development. Mrs. Featherbottom, and The chicken dances were to die for. This season shows the brilliance that the writers had because it's still funny. 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    The best season of Arrested Development. Here's where all the foreshadowing, callbacks and in-jokes start to really, really pay off, and oh man, it's just flat out hilarious. Many episodes of this season had my sides hurting because of how funny it is. So many great moment: the Blue Man Group arch, "come on!", the funeral dance, Buster joining "army", "Her?", Maeby as a film studio executive, etc. This is the funniest sitcom ever made. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    A show of such wit, charm and genius the likes of which we probably won't see again. What makes AD the brilliant show that it is is how well-rounded and thought-out events are. A seemingly unimportant side plot can end up being hugely important and while each episode is a complete whole, each is expertly linked to those preceding and exceeding it. The in-jokes, fourth wall breaking and blink-and-you'll-miss-em jokes only enhance the shows ability to make you laugh and make you think about the joke. This season in particular encapsulated all these elements most effectively. p.s somebody posted a negative score? C'mon! Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Pretty much a flawless season of the best comedy ever on TV. Highlights include Motherboy, "Has anyone in this family ever seen a chicken?," A loose seal, the Hot Cops, and Mrs. Phyllidia Featherbottom. Watch it now. Collapse
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    It is SO well written. The foreshadowing is hilarious, you won't even get it until it just passes you. Full of wit and humor, season two of Arrested Development is an excellent follow up to the equally funny first season. Expand
  7. May 14, 2014
    7
    A step up from the first season. The jokes are funnier and the characters are just as enjoyable as ever. I also have to give special praise to all of the great cameos throughout. There are a ton of great plot lines this season and I can't wait to see how they are expanded upon is season 3. The show still does hit some dull notes that made it hard for me to get involved in the first season, for instance it's jokes don't always succeed at resonating, but for the most part it is an enjoyable show. It just has it's issues and might just be a touch overhyped. Still, it is a sitcom that does manage to consistently keep me invested, and because of that I love it. I give this second season a 7.7/10=Good. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns

    Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns Image
    Published: April 22, 2010
    Earlier this week, we told you which TV shows were in danger in cancellation. Now, learn about what you can do to save your favorite show -- and what other fans have done in the past to mount successful campaigns.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.