User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 343

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is the best show that has ever aired anywhere ever on TV ever. Unless you have the IQ of a mongoose you will like this show. Watching this series from front to back is the best television experience you can possibly have.
  2. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Best television series of all time! It is extremely unique and clever, I've been watching it for about 4 years now and I'm still noticing jokes that i never noticed before. The cast is excellent, every actor on the show moved on to doing many movies after this series was cancelled. The writing for this show is godly as well, I've never seen better, nor do I think I ever will. There are so many different jokes and I don't understand how Mitch Hurwitz manages to think of all of it. In short, this is a perfect show. Please watch Arrested Development :) Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    A refreshing TV show from the copy paste style of most shows today. Original characters, and a good story line. Definitely worth watching, or better yet owning on DVD.
  4. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Completely hilarious and yet poignant tale about the insanity of family that I am sure we all can relate to. There isn't one misstep, nor one bad episode in the entire series. Easily my favorite show of all time, it only gets better with age. Every character is unique and extremely funny, even the narrator. Every person I have introduced to this show has completely fallen in love with it. A timeless classic. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Arrested Development is not only the greatest comedy to appear on TV but also the most well written. Their casting and attention to detail are outstanding. Truly ahead of its time. This is where several notable actors have got their start/ are most well known for (Jason Bateman, Michael Cera, Will Arrnet, David Cross). If you enjoy comedy and have yet to see this masterpiece I advise you to fix that. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Arrested Development is the best comedy series ever on tv, and is also the most underrated. The jokes are incredibly funny and the cast is superb. A must see.
  7. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    An amazing debut season for the best sitcom of the 00's. It takes a bit to get going, and as a recommendation I would probably watch like 6 episodes in a row every time you decide to pop in the DVD, as it has so many callbacks, in-jokes, etc. that if you decide to watch one episode and 3 days later another one, some of those jokes may just go over your head and you won't even notice. Probably the reason why this show never attracted many viewers. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    BEST TELEVISION SHOW IN THE HISTORY OF ALL TELEVISION SHOWS. I watched all three seasons in a row, almost without stopping and coming up for air. Since then, I've watched the whole series three more times. Absolutely brilliant, clever, fun, beautiful work by the actors, just an F-ING amazing program. The real travesty is that there are only 6 reviews from users, none from critics, showing that people just didn't know how good it was. The program should've lasted 10 more seasons and I'd watch every second of every show. Oy, I love Arrested Development. Expand
  9. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is there to say about this show? It started SO many trends in comedy. It pretty much started the modern day Documentary-style Sit-com, and if it didn't start it, then as the Beatles perfected Rock and Roll, Arrested Development started this new style of comedy. What makes this show stand apart from others is that continuity isn't ignored. Even in great sit-coms like Friends, they ignored Continuity like bastards. Characters used to be able to break a leg or something in one episode, then be fine the next time. But Arrested Development said to hell with that, and when Buster got his hand bit off, it stayed off. This is NOT a show you can watch through one time, and get the full experience, I have rewatched the series probably 4 times now, and I'm STILL finding jokes I've never caught before. The backround crew did a great job. This show's storyline was epic. It practically took any story you'd read on the papers about a crazy family, and gave you an inside look at it. It showed the troubles of a really rich, celebrity company, and made them lovable. These characters are just about the worst people ever. And Ron Howard will straight up tell you when they are lying (thus why he has so many lines), and put everything into perspective for you in such a funny, regular voice, that it makes it seem as if what the characters are doing aren't so bad anymore. Seriously, this show does not hide the fact that these are terrible people. Stupid, insensitive, money-wasting, and absolutely horrible people. Aside from Michael and his son George-Michael, and sometimes Linsay (Michael's sister). And you can just feel Michael's frustration every time this horrible family ruins things for him. He is forced to save them time after time, and they are just the absolute worst people. It works for some really funny stuff. And every episode is just amazingly executed. I love this show, it's one of my favorites, and never seizes to amuse- You know what? It never seizes to not have me on the floor, amuse is the biggest understatement that could be made about this show. It is Godly, it has everything.... So don't watch it. Don't. It will ruin television for you simply because of how good it is. You will hate everything after this. You will be angry that the show you are watching isn't called Arrested Development. Since watching this show, I have not found a single comedy that really makes me laugh that much anymore. How I Met Your Mother and Community are two, but otherwise, not much left. If you watch this movie, you will hate every other show you ever see. It's your choice. Pick your poison, either watch the greatest show ever written and hate television itself for all eternity, and then see the movie in 2012 (year the world will end because people will hate both television AND movies, as it's sure to be better than any other movie ever made), or don't watch it, and fail at life in general. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have to go cry because there are only 53 episodes or something. And that gets to me. Expand
  10. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    The plot is overly forced. The writers were hell-bent on having to create dozens of ridiculous coincidences. For some reason they think this makes the situations funny ... its a distraction and the difference between ok and great.
  11. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    It is a testament to the superior quality of this show that it is now almost clichéd to state how underestimated this show truly is. The show manages to effectively use so many styles of humor it often leaves me wondering how a show can get away with slapstick in the modern era. However it is all used tactfully and awesomely :D Greatest comedy show ever. Watch it.
  12. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I could write endlessly about how good Arrested Development is and why, but I don't want to waste your time when you could be watching it instead and finding out for yourself. I will simply say this: Arrested Development is undeniably the funniest, most intelligent, best written and fantastically acted sitcom that has ever existed. In my opinion, the greatest sitcom of all time.
  13. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Hands Down, Best Comedy TV show of all time (sorry FRIENDS). I remember watching a few episodes of the show back when it was on aired but i didn't realize the sheer greatness of it till a few months back when i finished watching the entire series, which unfortunately consists of just 3 seasons. The show has some great storylines and arcs, wonderfully created characters, subtle and utterly hilarious humor and on top of all one of the most perfectly constructed show i have ever seen. Packed with a stellar cast that equally gives brilliant performances, making it a great ensemble. Bateman, Tambor, Arrnet, Walters, Cross, Cera i mean literally everyone just epic performances. Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    'And now for a story about a family who lost everything, and the one son who had no choice but to keep them all together - it's Arrested Development.'
    This show, this show, this show - amazing, simply put. So many jokes, so many mishaps, so many misunderstandings, and none of it so forced that it shouts at you, in fact, most of the jokes in the show can be overlooked if you haven't seen it
    a million and one times. So nonchalant, casual, but focused. A show about a family obsessed with themselves in the most comical fashion, out of touch with reality, just outstanding to watch. Viewing it the first time through, I could not wait to start the next episode, and then the next, and the next. Compelling any wonderful, this show is a YES. Expand
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    There isn't much to say about Arrested Development that hasn't already been said. What I DO think is that this is the kind of show that you need to watch many, many episodes of, many many times, before you can realize exactly how funny it is. Therefore, by nature the first season isn't as funny as the ones that follow. I love that each character on this show represents a different brand of humor, from big-man George, awkward George Michael, biting Lucille, deadpan Michael, idiot Gob, self-centered Lindsey, out-there Buster, blissfully unaware Tobias, worldly Maeby, and a sarcastic and hilarious narrator; there is something here for everyone to like. Once the writers get going, they really reward continuous viewers with plenty of inside jokes and references to older episodes. This is a show that truly deserves the hype. Expand
  16. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    Very witty for its time. Don't blink or get distracted because there is a lot of subtle humor. I can't remember the last time a TV comedy actually made me laugh out loud. I really like this show.
  17. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Hands down the best ever.. Critics wont even review it. Its perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing show. I like it almost as much as Avatar: The Last Airbender series, however that had many more episodes. That's really the only downside, is that there are only 4 seasons (and soon a movie as well). Watch it. Watch it now.
  19. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Probably the most witty, clever and hilarious show to ever air on television. I absolutely love it. If you haven't already, watch it. It will be the best time you've spent watching T.V. in a long time.
  20. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest sitcom ever made! It is only 3 seasons long just like chappelles show but just like chappelles show from start to finish it is just amazing.
  21. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Pretty much laugh after laugh after laugh after... well, you get the point. This show is one of the funniest ever made. The cast are all hilarious, and the writing is perfect, and every joke made is funny as hell. Watch it, and you'll never stop laughing.
  22. Apr 24, 2012
    6
    Watchable and mildly funny, but by no means is it anywhere near as intelligent or funny as many people seem to find it. The plot is so contrived, and far from there being subtle jokes there are actually blatant jokes that are often recycled, like like Dr Funke being accidentally gay all the time, which I found hilarious in episode one but after the 10th time it had really lost it's charm. The cast is brilliant, and if the writers had more ideas, or maybe just made 6 episodes a season instead, it could be a great show. As it was it was a bit tedious, and is best watched an episode at a time, as parts of it get annoying like the recycled jokes, contrived plot lines and endless narration and flashback to things that happened in that episode! The show's decent, but nothing more. Expand
  23. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    There are very few shows that actually manage to make me laugh out loud these days. And this does so, while also being dramatically intriguing. This "family" is driving everybody insane and me too. Thats what makes movies, games, tv shows, is the excellence in characters and how actors potray them. Arrested Development has taken the already earned excellence, and made it a pure masterpiece. This show will be remembered as one of the best forever, especially this first season. 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  24. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    I had the pleasure of watching the whole show on Netflix recently, after having been putting it of for a while. I did not quite love the show that much at first, but after getting to know all the characters it really become massively enjoyable.
  25. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Man, this show had me so excited for something great, but this show is garbage. There is garbage, and then there is this show. SO BAD. I hate this show, so garb, I crie everietiem,
  26. May 13, 2014
    6
    It took a while for the show to get going for me, but once I got to know the characters better I got more invested in it. I started caring about the plot lines more and I started to get some real laughs. It's just a shame that over half of the season was gone before it started to get enjoyable. For a while I was largely bored by the show, which shocked me given it's fantastic cast. Still I did eventually start to get some enjoyment out of it and am looking forward to watching the next season. So as it stands my opinion of the first season isn't exactly great, but I am excited for the next season(s). I give it a 6.5/10=Okay. Expand
  27. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Wonderful show! Every aspect of this show is meaningful. Every episode is funny. Every actor is superb. Altogether, a near-perfect sitcom.
  28. May 17, 2011
    8
    Overrated but still enjoyable.
  29. May 28, 2011
    9
    I laughed constantly watching this show. One of the rare shows where every character is funny. It's weird, ridiculous and offensive. That's why it's awesome. Can't wait for the movie.
  30. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Season 1: You can't create a greater comedy then this. It's simplicity and overall real-time comedy bring light to the comedy genre on TV. The only reason it doesn't get a perfect score is because the end of the season had a slight bit of lag and some jokes that just took to long.
  31. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Hilarious show. Michael Cera and all the other actors are amazing. Tons of crack up moments, while making advancements in the story. If u like cool things, u will like this.
  32. j30
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the funniest TV shows ever. Just watch it!
  33. May 27, 2013
    9
    The best way to describe the new Arrested Development season is this: You are all excited about taking a train ride with friends that you haven't seen in nearly 10 years, to somewhere, maybe a vacation of something. After the first hour of the train ride together you realize how slow trains are and start to get board. By the 4th hour though something changes. Whether is be a loose bolt on the tracks or a penny on the rails, the train begins to crash. Everything is in turmoil, the one exception is you seat. Your one seat seems to be the only constant on this engine of turmoil and destruction. And you can't. Stop. Watching. By the last 3 hours of this you have completely forgotten about the slow and subtly boring start. You remember that in order for their to be a payoff, there has to be a set up. And it's at about this time that you stop panicking about the series being ruined and the 4th season being a failure. You finally get to appreciate all the set ups, all the subtleties, and you hold on for your life as the story comes to it's highest points. When it's over, you are left with a sense of euphoria and just a little bit of "What the hell just happened". The best part is that once you finish the season, it isn't over. The first episodes become more in depth and clear and are an entirely new experience to watch. You can basically watch the season twice and have two different experiences. The only constant is you, sitting in the middle of a train wreck, with your eyes widened in horror and delight, and you can't. Stop. Watching. Expand
  34. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I caught this show around 8 years too late, but at the time of writing I'm around 5 episodes into the second season. As for the first season, addictive comedy perfection.
  35. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Arrested Development was and still is the funniest show to ever hit television. The show is completely original and unique, from the characters to the story line. The show is centered around a family, the Bluth's, who are all different in their own way and very greedy. Arrested Development gets better every time you watch it!
  36. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Yay for the Bluths, man. Yay for the Bluths.
  37. May 28, 2013
    10
    The best comedy in television history.
  38. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    This is one of the funniest shows in the last 15 years. The characters are so well portrayed in every episode. Their misfortune really helps you care for Michael and his family. Each episode is filled with plot twist and the ending sets up a nice tone for the next, The only negative thing that comes to mind, is that it seems like not much money was spent, as the locations always seem the same.
  39. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    One of the best modern comedy classics with characters who are so over the top but remind us of quirky ppl in real life who make us continuously say wtf in our heads when around them. ;).
  40. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest comedies I have ever watched. The acting and writing was superb. Started off as Michael being the only likeable character but then slowly introduced us to the different sides of the other characters. The characters of Gob, Lindsay, George and Maeby were the source of much of the humour on the show, and the actors playing them did a terrific job. Jason Bateman carries the show on his able shoulders for much of the set-up for the comedy, at the same time delivering his lines with a deadpan expression. Expand
  41. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Comedic perfection. If you can't laugh at this show, you simply do not know jick shat about comedy. The laughs come in so many layers that you could re-watch an episode 10 times and still catch a joke you missed at first.

    Watching season 4, it's astonishing how little the entire crew has missed a beat after 8 years.
  42. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    A near brilliant sitcom. Perhaps one of the funniest ever made. Most, but not all, of the jokes land, and they're all hillarious when they do. The characters are great and the coincidences written into the show can at times be hysterical. It doesn't quite reach the creative heights of it's always sunny in philladelphia, but it comes closer than almost anything else. However, I don't like the show's mocking attitude towards christianity. Expand
  43. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prtetty good, you know. Mmm, what i was saying? Oh yeah, pretty good show. Don't know what to add to this review which will concist of 100 characters, so i'll sing a song to you. All I ever wanted, All i ever needed is here, in my arms... Expand
  44. May 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have never in my entire life seen a television show as good as arrested development. Not only does the show contain a lot of witty humor, i love the way each and every character brings comedy to the table in his or her own way. Like the whole family's chicken dance, or gorge Sr.'s escape attempts, the way in which the doctor delivers the news to the family, gobs insecurities, the man without an arm and so many other such things.

    It is all these little things that makes arrested development the best television series of all time.
    Expand
  45. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    This show is hilarious! The fact that the writers throw in so many clever jokes into very blatantly funny (in an ignorant sort of way) characters makes the show all the more entertaining! Its a little slow to start and the beginning of season three is a little disappointing after season 2 (my favorite season yet) but overall, its addicting, and you'll surprise yourself with how many times you catch yourself laughing. There is a reason everyone is glad its back!!!! Expand
  46. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    The funniest television show I have ever seen. The first season just proved that something like this could work on television. Perfect cast, perfect scripts, perfect everything. And if you disagree with me... Well excuuuuuuuuuuse me!
  47. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers. They all die in the end... :O Collapse
  48. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    One of the funniest comedies, ever. The overall season arc is so well written and hilarious. The acting is stellar. Everything about this show is excellent.
  49. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Arrested Development is arguably the greatest sitcom of all-time, and I have to say that might be true. The jokes are brilliant and hold-up well after multiple watches, and some sequences of the show are so packed with humor that new jokes can be found almost every time an episode is watched. Every character is acted to perfection and stands out for their own reason, so no one seems unnecessary or overshadowed. I would compare this sitcom to another in order to give people who have not watched Arrested Development an idea of what it is like, but there has never been a show quite like this one, either before or since. Expand
  50. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    This show is an amazing TV series that really makes you want to see more of what The Bluth Family will have to go through after the ending of each episode. With great cliffhangers, on-running gags that only true fans would understand, and clever writing make this a must-watch show.
  51. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Ron Howard & Brian Grazer Bring Us The Pen-Ultimate Of Dysfunctional Families, With Jason Bateman Leading The Charge As Micheal Bluth, The Sane One In The Crazy Bluth Family.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    88
    It's the season's best new series, period.
  2. Reviewed by: Carina Chocano
    Jun 17, 2013
    100
    I don't know about you, but I'm not used to laughing out loud alone in front of the TV. Honestly, I was startled.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Speier
    May 26, 2013
    90
    With faith in its own inspired goofiness, the net's newest Sunday entry reinvents what works --- and mocks what doesn't --- within the confines of the undernourished sitcom world. Critics and viewers clamoring for something unique since the sesh began back in August finally have something to champion ... and boy, is it funny.