Arrested Development Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 341 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Jessica Walter, Portia de Rossi, Jeffrey Tambor
  • Summary: The Emmy Award-winning comedy series ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT revolves around MICHAEL BLUTH (Jason Bateman), the “normal” one in a family of crazies, who is forced to stay in Orange County and run the family real estate business after his father, GEORGE BLUTH SR. (Jeffrey Tambor), is sent to prison for shifty accounting practices. While George Sr. spent the last year in the slammer discovering his newfound Judaism and recording inspirational tapes, Michael spent it picking up the pieces and trying to teach his offbeat family how to live without an endless expense account. All the while, Michael has also been trying to do right by his 14-year-old son, GEORGE MICHAEL (Michael Cera), an earnest kid who works diligently at the family’s frozen banana stand.

    The Bluths are led by manipulative matriarch LUCILLE BLUTH (Jessica Walter), a socialite who is as icy as her martinis. Then there’s the oldest son, GOB (Will Arnett), a womanizer and struggling magician (sorry, “illusionist”) whose biggest trick will be to make a real job appear. The youngest brother is BUSTER (Tony Hale), a neurotic professional grad student and glorified mama’s boy (he spent 11 months in the womb).

    The Bluth siblings are rounded out by cause-obsessed sister LINDSAY (Portia de Rossi), who is married to the hapless TOBIAS (David Cross), a doctor-turned-actor who might get more work if he wasn’t a self-proclaimed “never-nude.” Lindsay and Tobias are the ultra-permissive parents of MAEBY (Alia Shawkat), a 14-year-old who loves finding unique ways to rebel against their overindulgence.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    May 26, 2013
    100
    Nobody tries to be funny here, so they're more hysterical than the folks falling all over themselves elsewhere. They're simply hopeless specimens of spoiled humanity who haven't a clue how to operate in the real world. [2 Nov 2003, p.04]
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    May 26, 2013
    100
    Arrested Development is very animated but it is not a cartoon. Cartoonish, perhaps, but it is filled with real actors playing surreal people, all of whom have frighteningly identifiable traits and tics. Together they are the Bluths, the latest and at this moment greatest of TV's dysfunctional families. Dysfunctionalism has rarely been as ingratiating or, certainly, as hilarious.
  3. Reviewed by: Carina Chocano
    Jun 17, 2013
    100
    I don't know about you, but I'm not used to laughing out loud alone in front of the TV. Honestly, I was startled.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 26, 2013
    90
    For all its willful outrageousness, Arrested Development is sort of gripping -- a continuing story that one actually wants to see continue, which is more than can be said of most of the new dramas the season produced. [31 Oct 2003, p.E1]
  5. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    88
    It's the season's best new series, period.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    May 26, 2013
    88
    I haven't the slightest idea what the heck I'm watching, but I've seen two of 'em now, and all I know is that two of 'em weren't enough. I wanted to watch a bunch more.
  7. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    May 26, 2013
    40
    A marvelous cast, including Jeffrey Tambor, Jason Bateman, Portia de Rossi, Jessica Walter and Alia Shawkat. Offbeat situations and innovative direction. Your humble critic, however, finds one problem: It's not very funny. [2 Nov 2003, p.H01]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. j30
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the funniest TV shows ever. Just watch it!
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is the best show that has ever aired anywhere ever on TV ever. Unless you have the IQ of a mongoose you will like this show. Watching this series from front to back is the best television experience you can possibly have. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    This show is hilarious! The fact that the writers throw in so many clever jokes into very blatantly funny (in an ignorant sort of way) characters makes the show all the more entertaining! Its a little slow to start and the beginning of season three is a little disappointing after season 2 (my favorite season yet) but overall, its addicting, and you'll surprise yourself with how many times you catch yourself laughing. There is a reason everyone is glad its back!!!! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    There are very few shows that actually manage to make me laugh out loud these days. And this does so, while also being dramatically intriguing. This "family" is driving everybody insane and me too. Thats what makes movies, games, tv shows, is the excellence in characters and how actors potray them. Arrested Development has taken the already earned excellence, and made it a pure masterpiece. This show will be remembered as one of the best forever, especially this first season. 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I could write endlessly about how good Arrested Development is and why, but I don't want to waste your time when you could be watching it instead and finding out for yourself. I will simply say this: Arrested Development is undeniably the funniest, most intelligent, best written and fantastically acted sitcom that has ever existed. In my opinion, the greatest sitcom of all time. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    An amazing debut season for the best sitcom of the 00's. It takes a bit to get going, and as a recommendation I would probably watch like 6 episodes in a row every time you decide to pop in the DVD, as it has so many callbacks, in-jokes, etc. that if you decide to watch one episode and 3 days later another one, some of those jokes may just go over your head and you won't even notice. Probably the reason why this show never attracted many viewers. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Man, this show had me so excited for something great, but this show is garbage. There is garbage, and then there is this show. SO BAD. I hate this show, so garb, I crie everietiem, Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns

    Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns Image
    Published: April 22, 2010
    Earlier this week, we told you which TV shows were in danger in cancellation. Now, learn about what you can do to save your favorite show -- and what other fans have done in the past to mount successful campaigns.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.