• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Arrow Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the DC comics character, Oliver Queen (Stephen Amell), a son of a billionaire returns to Sterling City after having been stranded on a deserted island and seeks revenge under the guise of the Arrow.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 8, 2012
    100
    Solid start to what could--and maybe should--be a future CW franchise.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    83
    Your interest in Arrow depends on how much you miss the troubled-in-love, conflicted-by-family heroics of Smallville--it mirrors that series' setup.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 9, 2012
    80
    The pilot of Arrow is a darkly gleaming gem. If the show can keep up its cinema-quality action sequences and maintain an air of mystery to Ollie's agenda, this could be a really fun series.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Arrow has a rather stylish neo-Goth look, and Stephen Amell (who played a dim-bulb gigolo in Hung) neatly balances his portrayal of Arrow between camp and Saturday-matinee ingenuousness.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    There's nothing particularly new about a superhero show, but Arrow exhibits a stylized ferocity that, in its initial hour at least, makes a positive enough impression.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 8, 2012
    67
    Arrow may not be a-point-ment television. But for starters at least, it's a sharper little tale than expected.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 8, 2012
    50
    Arrow certainly looks polished (having David Nutter direct a pilot virtually insures that), but there's only so much action an hourlong drama can afford, and the characters necessary to sustain the series are, initially, strictly two-dimensional, even with the island as a go-to flashback.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 117
  2. Negative: 19 out of 117
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best series premiere of this fall season. Everything is right and it has a thing that reminds me of Batman Begins. I only hope they keep it that way. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best new shows of 2012. Drew me in the moment I started watching it. Each episode not only shows Oliver's hunt for the people who have "failed Starling City" but also shows Oliver's time on the Island. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    As a pilot, this has been a refreshing start and I hope this series continues in the same vein. The writing was strong and the story arcs that it seems to be developing are all interesting. I look forward to more episodes at this level. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly well written and produced show from what is generally a teen soap trash network (CW). I was expecting Good lucking young actors in a poorly acted and written soap with more romantic intrigue than mystery, emotional depth or character development. What I go tinstead was only a few of those, which I can stomach. The acting is still subpar and leave much to be desired, but the writing is very tight and the moderation of romantic fluff is appreciated. Yes, it is still filled with hotties making the the whole thing less believable, but a female viewership is always on the CW's mind. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    A great show when there arnt too many filler episodes and when its not too "days of our lives" . Gets a 7/10 just because of the wholly unentertaining soap opera parts that must be there for a target demographic im not part of. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    I have seen episodes 1 and 2, and I would not recommend this show to anyone. The casting, acting, and writing are a bit too close to "soap-opera-ish." I'm not exactly sure who the show is trying to appeal to, but I can't imagine that it is comic book fans. The violence in the show did surprise me though (in a good way), because people do actually die when they get shot, and Arrow isn't afraid to shoot the bad guys. But the bad out weighs the good unfortunately. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    This is the worst TV series i ever seen, its so stupid that i cant understand how it can be so stupid. I remember one episode when he killed one man all guards so he could take him to the prison... or how blind you have to be to not notice that Oliver is Arrow? Hes from the island, same as Sara and her parents knows shes the vigilanty.. So 1+1 = 2... It's just completly out of sense drama for teen agers or who wants to watch tv without thinking much. Expand

See all 117 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Arrow (The CW)

    Fall TV Second Look: Arrow (The CW) Image
    Published: November 8, 2012
    The new superhero series "Arrow" is a hit for The CW, and the network's best new show in years. How is it holding up after five episodes? Get the latest impressions from critics and recappers inside.
  2. Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 6, 2012
    Get our final rankings of all new primetime shows that debuted this fall, and find out how each broadcast network performed compared to years past.