• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 799 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the DC comics character, Oliver Queen (Stephen Amell), a son of a billionaire returns to Sterling City after having been stranded on a deserted island and seeks revenge under the guise of the Arrow.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 8, 2012
    100
    Solid start to what could--and maybe should--be a future CW franchise.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    83
    Your interest in Arrow depends on how much you miss the troubled-in-love, conflicted-by-family heroics of Smallville--it mirrors that series' setup.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 9, 2012
    80
    The pilot of Arrow is a darkly gleaming gem. If the show can keep up its cinema-quality action sequences and maintain an air of mystery to Ollie's agenda, this could be a really fun series.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Arrow has a rather stylish neo-Goth look, and Stephen Amell (who played a dim-bulb gigolo in Hung) neatly balances his portrayal of Arrow between camp and Saturday-matinee ingenuousness.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    There's nothing particularly new about a superhero show, but Arrow exhibits a stylized ferocity that, in its initial hour at least, makes a positive enough impression.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 8, 2012
    67
    Arrow may not be a-point-ment television. But for starters at least, it's a sharper little tale than expected.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 8, 2012
    50
    Arrow certainly looks polished (having David Nutter direct a pilot virtually insures that), but there's only so much action an hourlong drama can afford, and the characters necessary to sustain the series are, initially, strictly two-dimensional, even with the island as a go-to flashback.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 136
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best series premiere of this fall season. Everything is right and it has a thing that reminds me of Batman Begins. I only hope theyIt's the best series premiere of this fall season. Everything is right and it has a thing that reminds me of Batman Begins. I only hope they keep it that way. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    I enjoyed everything in this season and I going to watch season 2 when I can, it is an enjoyable experience that anyone will enjoy and get aI enjoyed everything in this season and I going to watch season 2 when I can, it is an enjoyable experience that anyone will enjoy and get a kick out of watching. I hope they don't ruin the series and that the next one is just as good Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I went into this thinking that it would be boring, but it proved me wrong. The show has a great plot that has so many twists that you neverI went into this thinking that it would be boring, but it proved me wrong. The show has a great plot that has so many twists that you never know what to expect Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    Arrow is an adaptation of the DC comic hero Green Arrow on The CW. As a fan of the character of Green Arrow I have to say I was worried by theArrow is an adaptation of the DC comic hero Green Arrow on The CW. As a fan of the character of Green Arrow I have to say I was worried by the idea of making him a "real" person. I've seen the failures of other people to turn comic characters into "real" people. That said I have to say on the whole Arrow is a very enjoyable show.

    The story as far as Season 1 goes the story was very strong in my opinion. We see Oliver Queen, Green Arrow, attain amazing feats in order to get rescued off of what appears to be an uninhabited island, from there we meet interesting characters such as his family, friends and soon to be allies and enemies. From here we watch an intriguing mystery rise from the broken pieces of the past through flashback and secretive character interactions. The characters are interesting and seem to have personalities some more prominent than others but they have what appears to be the beginnings of real "character".

    The second season has just started and from the looks of it we are looking at new but familiar characters, more secrets and a new Green Arrow.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Don't expect Arrow to be the next great thing. But if you put your mind on the right setting, it may be a pretty enjoyable show. The actionDon't expect Arrow to be the next great thing. But if you put your mind on the right setting, it may be a pretty enjoyable show. The action sequences are very fun to watch and Stephen Arnell is a solid lead as Oliver Queen since he's likeable and believable as a badass antihero. The acting is decent, but the corny and contrived dialogue doesn't help you to take the show any seriously. Specially the unnecessary pop culture jokes, which get annoying after a while and will be dated in 3 years. Even though the plot has every single superhero story cliche you can think of, it keeps you interested to know what happens next. Arrow isn't as cheesy as Smallville, nor as dark and gritty as the Christopher Nolan Batman films, it's somewhere right in the middle, which is a nice place to be. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    6
    One of the big problems and biggest strength is somehow that it is too much like Batman Begins. There are scenes in several episodes thatOne of the big problems and biggest strength is somehow that it is too much like Batman Begins. There are scenes in several episodes that remind me to a "t" of scenes from that movie. In episode one, the billionaire that just lost loved ones and found change and survival training is legally brought back from the dead, to find his city is in decay. It changes a couple things from the comics to make it more believable, like the suit and a couple names which honestly weren't a big concern in that department, but so be it. Overall though, the character is fairly the same, and the island parts(that VERY closely resemble Green Arrow:Year one) are done well. The action is shot and choreographed well, and his vigilante scenes are generally interesting. The show is like if you mixed Dexter(The emotionless character who narrates as he hunts), Smallville(Unfortunately, the love triangles, some of the actors, the sets, and the shooting style), and as mentioned, Batman Begins(scenes and character traits). The main issue I have with it is that they shoot in a style that's very soap-opera-esque(over contrasted/slightly over-exposed shots), and the romantic sub-plots reach those levels too. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    This is the worst TV series i ever seen, its so stupid that i cant understand how it can be so stupid. I remember one episode when he killedThis is the worst TV series i ever seen, its so stupid that i cant understand how it can be so stupid. I remember one episode when he killed one man all guards so he could take him to the prison... or how blind you have to be to not notice that Oliver is Arrow? Hes from the island, same as Sara and her parents knows shes the vigilanty.. So 1+1 = 2... It's just completly out of sense drama for teen agers or who wants to watch tv without thinking much. Expand

See all 136 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  2. Fall TV Second Look: Arrow (The CW)

    Fall TV Second Look: Arrow (The CW) Image
    Published: November 8, 2012
    The new superhero series "Arrow" is a hit for The CW, and the network's best new show in years. How is it holding up after five episodes? Get the latest impressions from critics and recappers inside.
  3. Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 6, 2012
    Get our final rankings of all new primetime shows that debuted this fall, and find out how each broadcast network performed compared to years past.