• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 727 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Paul Blackthorne, Jamey Sheridan, Willa Holland
  • Summary: Based on the DC comics character, Oliver Queen (Stephen Amell), a son of a billionaire returns to Sterling City after having been stranded on a deserted island and seeks revenge under the guise of the Arrow.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 8, 2012
    100
    Solid start to what could--and maybe should--be a future CW franchise.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    83
    Your interest in Arrow depends on how much you miss the troubled-in-love, conflicted-by-family heroics of Smallville--it mirrors that series' setup.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 9, 2012
    80
    The pilot of Arrow is a darkly gleaming gem. If the show can keep up its cinema-quality action sequences and maintain an air of mystery to Ollie's agenda, this could be a really fun series.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Arrow has a rather stylish neo-Goth look, and Stephen Amell (who played a dim-bulb gigolo in Hung) neatly balances his portrayal of Arrow between camp and Saturday-matinee ingenuousness.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    There's nothing particularly new about a superhero show, but Arrow exhibits a stylized ferocity that, in its initial hour at least, makes a positive enough impression.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 8, 2012
    67
    Arrow may not be a-point-ment television. But for starters at least, it's a sharper little tale than expected.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 8, 2012
    50
    Arrow certainly looks polished (having David Nutter direct a pilot virtually insures that), but there's only so much action an hourlong drama can afford, and the characters necessary to sustain the series are, initially, strictly two-dimensional, even with the island as a go-to flashback.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 127
  2. Negative: 21 out of 127
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best series premiere of this fall season. Everything is right and it has a thing that reminds me of Batman Begins. I only hope theyIt's the best series premiere of this fall season. Everything is right and it has a thing that reminds me of Batman Begins. I only hope they keep it that way. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I like big Hollywood comic book movies, but they should all be ashamed on the amount of money they spend on production compared to what thisI like big Hollywood comic book movies, but they should all be ashamed on the amount of money they spend on production compared to what this show accomplished in it's finale. It was phenomenal. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    The pilot episodes does what's it suppose to do, draw us in to the episode. The episode itself is well done and David Nutter is directing.The pilot episodes does what's it suppose to do, draw us in to the episode. The episode itself is well done and David Nutter is directing. Stephen Amell as Oliver Queen does good in this episode and I am going to follow this series for now.... Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    What do you get when you mix Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy with 'Gossip Girl'? You get one of this season's surprising hit: a version of superWhat do you get when you mix Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy with 'Gossip Girl'? You get one of this season's surprising hit: a version of super hero Green Arrow, brought to live in a typical Nolan-esque fashion. It reminds me a lot of another excellent (albeit short lived) TV series based on the Flash, released several short years after Burton's Batman. Sure, it tries to pander to the CW's usual target market: containing hearthrob such as Steve Ammel and Katie Cassidy, but hey..it works. It also brought one of DC's B-Grade super hero into the limelight. Great stuff. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    I'm familiar with the Green Arrow history only from other characters (Smallville/ Justice League animated series) and wikipedia. I like howI'm familiar with the Green Arrow history only from other characters (Smallville/ Justice League animated series) and wikipedia. I like how they've modernized it and switched up some characters. Feels a little like a bad weekly Batman Begins for the first few episodes, but if you stick with it, you'll have a relatively cool superhero show at a time when most tv is unscripted and awful. Good for mid-road superhero lovers (die-hards will surely pan it for its departures from the comics). Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    "Arrow" builds its story from scratch and that's both a good and a bad thing. Bad because the growing pains won't heal until episode 15 and"Arrow" builds its story from scratch and that's both a good and a bad thing. Bad because the growing pains won't heal until episode 15 and good because once the growing pains are gone, "Arrow" is surprisingly fun and entertaining show to watch. Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2015
    0
    A misogynistic egotistical Tarzan's emotional make up is pursued most vigorously, more than any crimes or villains. Straining this series intoA misogynistic egotistical Tarzan's emotional make up is pursued most vigorously, more than any crimes or villains. Straining this series into meeting its Brady's every week. To the point of it failing, seen as recruiting half of city into his self sense of vigilantism, instead of simply letting Hulk Smash.

    If I watch any alternate universe like Dread. I don't want to see a team of judges doing CSI. I want to see all that superhero alien fallout criminal action. I certainly don't care who robin's girlfriend is, why she won't have his babies, making more little vigilantes, or why every cuckoo is in that nest, and who the real rooster is, if only he could remember why they weren't dead.

    Shown as here as little action, seen as intolerably fake people being so intolerably super fake in its weekly soap opera.

    I watch a show because it meets my demands. If I watch any superhero I want to see hulk smash for the majority of any air time aired. There are plenty of shows that do this currently and so much better even within their teams, etc etc, but they don't suffer from the same amount of nonsense every episode. Constantly plagued on why that Hulk is actually Dr jekll, Mrs hyde. Even more so with the rest of his band of misfits, their babies, alcoholism, addictions, mommy, daddy, boyfriend, girlfriend, brother, sister, pizza party, dilemma's.

    This show really doesn't cut it within it's labelled genre, shown as 10 minutes of action too 30 minutes of garbage.. Prolonging all content aired to end degrees, shown as seeing some Crim a supposed "mastermind" getting one shot. After all "nuclear" reasoning behind why these fakes were ever needed.

    Also such a drag that as nobody dies, they will always keep coming back creating more simplistic error as they pop into episodes later. Carrying with them all their other baggage around every episode. While constantly being plagued with amnesia of why there was never any start to this fragmented story.

    If you are some kind of 12-15 year old, who watches neighbours with your girlfriends family then this certainly is the right show for you. Watch out vigilantism!!
    Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Arrow (The CW)

    Fall TV Second Look: Arrow (The CW) Image
    Published: November 8, 2012
    The new superhero series "Arrow" is a hit for The CW, and the network's best new show in years. How is it holding up after five episodes? Get the latest impressions from critics and recappers inside.
  2. Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 6, 2012
    Get our final rankings of all new primetime shows that debuted this fall, and find out how each broadcast network performed compared to years past.