• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 1, 2012
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 1, 2012
    58
    NBC's newest drama Awake adds a drop of fantasy to its crime procedural formula and then practically buries it in musings about the mysteries of the subconscious.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 29, 2012
    50
    As lovingly written and organized as it is, the viewer must divide his or her time picking up on different scenarios and moods, caught between rather ho-hum murder cases and this other, more beguiling attempt to craft a show that is about the nature of loss and grief.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 27, 2012
    50
    What sounds like a daring concept is quickly undercut by attempts to wrap the show in a police-procedural format.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 29, 2012
    40
    Viewers who don't regularly contemplate alternative-reality issues probably should tape the show as well as watch it, because the non-expert may have to watch it twice just to figure out what's going on, or even to understand what parts we don't understand.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Seriously good performance from Jason Isaacs makes this an exceptional drama, beautifully shot and edited and with an exciting centralSeriously good performance from Jason Isaacs makes this an exceptional drama, beautifully shot and edited and with an exciting central premise. Even the procedural aspect seems relevant in this setting, well done NBC! Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I loved this show. I like the uncertainty of not knowing what is or is not real. It could be everything is real or nothing is real. It hasI loved this show. I like the uncertainty of not knowing what is or is not real. It could be everything is real or nothing is real. It has definitely intrigued me enough that I want to see plenty more. Full Review »
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    Well acted and interesting to watch but what kills the show is the slow pace and un-interesting story lines. I am disapointed that it gotWell acted and interesting to watch but what kills the show is the slow pace and un-interesting story lines. I am disapointed that it got cancelled because it had potential to be a solid series but it's a cut throat world in television. Full Review »