Awkward Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jenna (Ashley Rickards) made her choice between Jake or Matty, but there's still more drama for the teenager with her mother.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Henry Goldblatt
    Jun 29, 2012
    83
    It's the best show on MTV--and one of the best on any network this summer. [6 Jul 2012, p.71]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 28, 2012
    80
    The spirit of John Hughes lives on in this rowdy ensemble of insecure spazzes and delightfully fresh mean girls (yes, we're talking about you, Sadie).
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 28, 2012
    80
    Jenna's buoyancy in a life of constant land mines keeps Awkward fun and refreshing.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 22, 2012
    75
    If it doesn't have the ABC sitcom's [Suburgatory's] satiric sheen, it captures some of those glum patches that strike in adolescence. [2 Jul 2012, p.38]
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 26, 2012
    75
    The performance quality of the show is matched only by the sharpness of the writing.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 26, 2012
    70
    The relationship plots are less interesting to me than the comedy.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 28, 2012
    67
    Awkward has grown and matured, but I don't think I love the direction that MTV and, presumably, Iungerich have chosen to push the show.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Every episode leaves me wanting for more! I've seen all the episodes of Season 1 and 2 non-stop, and I'm still not eagerly waiting for the next. Great acting+ great story = Happy audience Collapse
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    This show became tripe as its first season wore on, and season two continues its abysmal journey. In season two it fully embraces a central concept of a popular girl and a ridiculous Twilight-style love triangle. How edgy. That Jenna "chooses" Matty, the reprehensible creature who had a relationship with her but kept it secret because she was beneath his social position, is a final nail in the coffin. Ignoring any notion of self-respect, Jenna chooses the hotter guy who so seriously abused her. Of course, Matty is now presented as a sterling guy, a worthy challenger to nice guy, Jake, even as he uses another girl while pining for Jenna. That this show is aimed at teenagers is a disgrace in and of itself. What is the message? Go with the hot guy who you crush on, no matter how disgusting his behaviors are. The first few episodes of season one showed a great deal of promise. I kept waiting for Jenna to come to the realization that she respected herself too much to bother with the likes of Matty. No. Matty's abs were too alluring. God, I came to hate this show so very much. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.