• Network: ABC Family
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 20, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 20, 2012
    58
    Fox's "Raising Hope" manages to be both more outrageous and realistic than this flimsy, forgettable time-waster.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Jun 15, 2012
    75
    This sitcom makes enough rooms for fresh gags. [22 Jun 2012, p.55]
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 20, 2012
    42
    Baby Daddy has no real point of view, no real comedic voice and one very cute infant.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 20, 2012
    40
    Even if you could forgive its lack of creativity, it's difficult to overlook its absurdly clunky execution. Oh, and the fact that it isn't very funny.
  5. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jun 19, 2012
    75
    It does well what standard sitcoms do.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 18, 2012
    40
    It's also similar to Fox's "Raising Hope," except that "Raising Hope" offers smart comedy and Baby Daddy is stuck in the realm of TGIF humor.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 15, 2012
    50
    Both shows [Bunheads and Baby Daddy] are agreeable additions to the ABC Family stable, even if they don't really break any new ground.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 18, 2012
    30
    The cast is cheerful enough--and a lot younger than Tom Selleck, Ted Danson and Steve Guttenberg--but there's really not much to be done with a concept this stale, or characters this thinly defined.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    1
    Baby Daddy is a painfully shallow bit of TV, rarely funny and the characters themselves are horrid 2D caricatures of what a visiting alien would assume is typical American culture -- if all he observed was a hodgepodge of other horrible American sitcoms. The show's premise is weak and to the cynical observer appears to be nothing more than a shallow ploy to capitalize on the "Teen Mom' trend on MTV. To give you some understanding of how awful and predictable this show will be, it starts with a baby being left in a basket on the deadbeat father's doorstep. Seriously.

    The fact that the producers haven't heard of the term "child abandonment", the premise of the show is weak and does more to harm the sitcom than it does to help. The main character is rendered almost totally unlikable because of this, a few episodes in and it's fairly obvious he's a terrible father despite the continued insistence of the show that he's not. More to the point the logic of the show leaves open the possibility that he has other illegitimate children, a fact that is lamp-shaded several times. This bit of self-awareness would do the show credit, were it not for the fact that "Ben" is an unrepentant p***y hound not above exploiting his daughter to help him get laid. It speaks to a certain assumption to the primary demographic of the show, teenage girls, that twenty-something males are all sleazebags who can be counted on to think only with their members.

    Getting on to cast, and I'm not even going to bother discussing the horrid acting, it's as singularly weak as the premise. The actor portraying Ben, Jean-Luc Bilodeau, is a virtual unknown whose most notable appearance in TV or film prior to Baby Daddy was an appearance of Supernatural in 2008. Chelsea Kane, who plays obvious future romantic interest Riley Perrin, is likewise a virtual unknown. Prior to her role in Baby Daddy she primarily drifted around Disney projects. It should shock no one that the character of RIley is being set-up as the static, disposable love-interest whose sole plot-point is to "redeem" wanton womanizer Ben.

    This continues on for sometime, until we get to what I hoped would be a redeeming moment for the show in Melissa Peterson, better known for her role as Barbara-Jean on former WB hit Reba. While I never considered Reba a particularly good show it was redeemed through the character Barbara-Jean who remained consistently funny unlike the other predictable character of Van Montgomery (played by Steve Howey) and better known by me as "the stupid-jock". You can imagine my frustration when that glimmer of hope was snuffed out. I wouldn't expect, nor want, Melissa Peterman to play Barbara-Jean 2,0 but this is a woman who is capable of doing funny but simply doesn't. Thus far everyone in the story is an absolute stereotype, a bland caricature of an actual person, it shouldn't be surprising that Bonnie is as well. Essentially the character of Bonnie is the generic, unreasonable mother who is overly critical of her son. At no point in time does the show make any attempt to demonstrate that Bonnie's criticism of her womanizing son is unreasonable. Vapid love interest Riley actually sticks up for fathering a child with an unknown woman and being so incompetent he attempts to change his daughter's diaper with a pair of tongs and duck-tape. Newsflash Riley, maturity is demonstrated not assumed.

    Of course, we can talk about the unfortunate implications of the shows premise. I'll share this from a commenter on another review page, because if you can't say it well steal from someone who can. -- This show is another prime example of the entertainment industry perpetuating negtive and false stereotypes about fathers.

    So freaking true, we're no longer living in the era where women are all barefoot and pregnant and the only role of dad is sharing a beer with his kid and beating the crap out of him when the boy becomes a riley teenager and calls the old man out. It's difficult to imagine a show like this will have longevity when fathers actually are doing things like changing diapers, taking kids to the doctor, and even (GASP!) staying home while mommy goes out to earn.

    To add insult to injury, potential sources of drama like child custody and legal rights are totally ignored. I can understand the illusive mother being overwhelmed by her status as a single mother, granted by the shows premise she never attempted to reach out to the presumptive father for aid. What I can't understand is why a slacker and womanizer would suddenly accept a responsibility as serious as raising a child. It's out of character, no I'm serious. It doesn't seem like Ben has ever tried in his life why wouldn't he simply chuck the baby off to an adoption agency? Or his grandmother? The only explanation the show seems to give? D'aaawww she's cute and causes women to have sex with me!
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This Show is good, not great just yet... I do see great potential, maybe some guest stars? The Mother is funny, I definitely enjoy her, attractive cast with the quirky kid (Mowry). It would be a whole 10 if it becomes more about (Baby) Daddy... but overall good show. Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    It was funny and emotional. I enjoyed the pilot. I can predict it will b one of my favorite shows. The character-bonnie was clearly funny just like mowry. It has comedy n a little of romance...give it time; it should get better once u fall in love with the characters. Full Review »