Back in the Game : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2013
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    The cast throws this curveball that catches the plate for a strike.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Caan’s perfectly clipped delivery and his daughter’s well-timed comebacks make Back in the Game at least a standup double if not a sliding triple.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 25, 2013
    80
    No matter who’s on screen or what they’re doing, Back in the Game is gut-bustingly hilarious.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    I don’t know if Back in the Game will have a long shelf life, or if it will turn Caan into a prime-time star (like son Scott on “Hawaii Five-O”), but I do think it’s worth a half-hour of your time.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 24, 2013
    75
    Most every move creators Robb and Mark Cullen have made is a smart one, starting with casting an entirely fetching Maggie Lawson as the mother and the great James Caan as her gruff, constantly inappropriate father.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 25, 2013
    70
    While this Little League comedy doesn't quite measure up to the big leagues, we shouldn't be surprised if family audiences rally around the team, turning a solid base hit into something potentially worthy of extra innings.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 25, 2013
    70
    In this case familiarity breeds more comfort than contempt. Caan and Lawson spark when they spar, Crichlow's Lulu is a delight as is Gluck's Danny. And even Dick, though burdened with far too much sexual innuendo, has a few good moments.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Back In the Game doesn't really scream long-term storytelling beyond the family dynamic, which is precisely why it's wedged between The Middle and Modern Family on ABC. ... But this is a series that would seem to need, at minimum, four episodes before the audience could begin to get a real feel for it. Even smushed between two high-caliber comedies, there might not be enough lift to let all the charms of Back in the Game play out.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    Not quite as hilarious as the other shows such as Modern Family or The Middle, but it still manages to be clever and provide enough laughs toNot quite as hilarious as the other shows such as Modern Family or The Middle, but it still manages to be clever and provide enough laughs to be watchable. Full Review »
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    Pilot was a rocky start, but Back in the Game really shown during the 2nd episode. James Caan and Maggie Lawson make me want to keep watchingPilot was a rocky start, but Back in the Game really shown during the 2nd episode. James Caan and Maggie Lawson make me want to keep watching this show, which I'm sure will continue to please. Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    My DVR has recorded at least one episode of most of the new comedy shows. I watch that initial episode with the goal of either recordingMy DVR has recorded at least one episode of most of the new comedy shows. I watch that initial episode with the goal of either recording more of the series or simply dropping the show. I was pretty sure that "Back in the Game" was a dropper. I am surprised to admit that I did enjoy the show. James Caan, dancing around the edge of overdoing it, has produced a somewhat interesting character. I don't know who plays the daughter but she provides an acceptable anonymous foil for Caan. Is the show great? No. Is the show worth a few more tries? Yes. Full Review »