Banshee : Season 1

  • Network: Cinemax
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 288

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 24, 2017
    0
    ça commence avec le "héros" : dans le genre gueule de con au charisme d'andouille des îles à col roulé et QI de mollusque, il se pose, là, triomphant dans la ville de péquenots dont il s'est retrouvé Shériff d'un coup de baguette magique aussi grotesque qu'improbable.

    ça continue avec le grand méchant qui contrôle la ville et qui s'appelle Proctor (ça ne s'invente pas) : mafieux à la
    ça commence avec le "héros" : dans le genre gueule de con au charisme d'andouille des îles à col roulé et QI de mollusque, il se pose, là, triomphant dans la ville de péquenots dont il s'est retrouvé Shériff d'un coup de baguette magique aussi grotesque qu'improbable.

    ça continue avec le grand méchant qui contrôle la ville et qui s'appelle Proctor (ça ne s'invente pas) : mafieux à la petite semaine, sapé comme l'as de pique, il roule des mécaniques comme une vieille Corvette rouillée, une sorte d'affranchi de Prisunic sauf qu'on est pas dans les Affranchis... on en est loin, du genre deux milliards d'années-lumière.

    Et puis y a les gonzesses qui ne servent qu'à épater la galerie et amuser le terrain, elles ne sont ni plus ni moins, passez-moi l'expression, que des garages à bites pour le "héros" à tête de con. Tout le reste est à l'avenant et se veut "mature" et branché, "top délire" à la Tarantinolle et assimilés pour se la jouer série de gros durs et de personnages trop "personnels" et violents. Mais oui, on y croit bien fort !

    Enfin, la fin, la suite je sais pas, j'ai arrêté pendant qu'il en était encore temps avant d'avoir le cerveau aspiré par cette misérable série au jeu si mauvais qu'on arrive pas à y croire et à la réalisation si chaotique des rares scènes d'action qu'il faut 3 aspirines pour s'en remettre.

    Banchie, mon téléviseur, mon vieux lecteur DVD et ma xbouse ont décidé de vous bannir à l'unanimité et leur décision est irrévocable. Mes baffles voulaient te mettre des baffes et mon grille-pain a porté plainte.
    Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2017
    10
    I went into Banshee hoping for a fun and mindless action show, yet I never expected the first season of Banshee to hook me as much as it did. I went from expecting the show to be a 7/10 to in the end on my YouTube channel giving Season 1 a 9.6/10, because It was that amazing.

    The premise alone of a criminal taking the place as 'Lucas Hood' the recently murdered new sheriff of Banshee,
    I went into Banshee hoping for a fun and mindless action show, yet I never expected the first season of Banshee to hook me as much as it did. I went from expecting the show to be a 7/10 to in the end on my YouTube channel giving Season 1 a 9.6/10, because It was that amazing.

    The premise alone of a criminal taking the place as 'Lucas Hood' the recently murdered new sheriff of Banshee, Pennsylvania was an intriguing enough concept, but I ended up being instantly interested in that story-line along with him staying off his former boss' radar. The characters were all really fun interesting and well developed in the 10 action packed episodes that has some of the best action and CGI I have seen on a TV show.

    If you haven't checked out Banshee, In the word of Shia LaBeouf, just do it! You owe it to yourself!
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2016
    8
    This is one of those shows that you'll truly enjoy if you have Cinemax! And Cinemax has done right to claim Alan Ball's second action-packed show to air on its network to bring out the most action-packed storyline and sensuality to accommodate your viewing pleasure. Trust me, it's so damn good...
  4. May 27, 2015
    9
    Te atrapa desde el primer momento. La historia es casi disparatada, pero desarrollada de forma inteligente y atrapante. La composición de los personajes es simplemente genial, por lo cual, lo disparatado se vuelve creíble.
  5. Mar 18, 2015
    7
    If you're looking for action, this is the show for you. If you're looking for a solid plot that's enjoyable, it might not be a good choice. The first 3 or so episodes are just random nonsense, and it starts to fix itself after that. Like I said, GREAT action but sub par plot. My rating is a 7/10 but I would much more consider a 7 "mixed" than "positive"
  6. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    The Good: Action, violence, and naked bodies...
    People, this ain't a deep thinking type of production so...take a chill pill. Its got decent enough story lines and characters that will make you wanna watch more...

    If you like shows like Strikeback, Spartacus, and Justified...this will suit you just fine.
  7. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    Banshee is the bomb! Action packed combined with deep rooted story lines that draw in viewers from start to finish. Once you start watching this show it's hard to stop. This is one of those series that is elevating the quality of television shows far above the quality of movies because they have more time to build on character & storyline depth.
  8. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ok...its a shoot 'em up series, but this is brilliantly done, it does have a story that carries over from episode to episode and into series two so that's not it after the individual episode finishes which is nice. yes there are sex scenes but not too over the top and what do you expect from an adult after the watershed time slot programme, well done to everyone concerned for commissioning a third series, long may it continue Expand
  9. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    My 3 Favorite TV Shows of All-Time:
    (1) Game of Thrones
    (2) Breaking Bad (3) Banshee The creators of Banshee are definitely fans of Breaking Bad....since the lead Sheriff Hood (awesome actor) is a likable bad guy (like Walt)...is motivated by noble motives (the woman he loves, in Walt's case, his family), and in both shows the bad guys are relentless and brutal in their pursuits (the
    My 3 Favorite TV Shows of All-Time:
    (1) Game of Thrones
    (2) Breaking Bad
    (3) Banshee

    The creators of Banshee are definitely fans of Breaking Bad....since the lead Sheriff Hood (awesome actor) is a likable bad guy (like Walt)...is motivated by noble motives (the woman he loves, in Walt's case, his family), and in both shows the bad guys are relentless and brutal in their pursuits (the cartel, Rabbit, etc.). The acting is great. The nudity is great. The action scenes are intentionally over the top...because its Cinemax....and its what guys like! The bad reviews are by guys with one step in senior home and more estrogen than testosterone. Any red blooded male will LOVE this show. Watch now. Thank me later.
    Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    I am SHOCKED that this show is not getting better reviews! This show is AMAZING! I am strict on shows and I watch a ton of TV. This show has a terrific cast, edge of the seat action, and a can't wait until next week kind of story. I absolutely love this show and I can't say that about many shows, other than Mad Men, Hell on Wheels and 24. Please give this show a chance if you are thinkingI am SHOCKED that this show is not getting better reviews! This show is AMAZING! I am strict on shows and I watch a ton of TV. This show has a terrific cast, edge of the seat action, and a can't wait until next week kind of story. I absolutely love this show and I can't say that about many shows, other than Mad Men, Hell on Wheels and 24. Please give this show a chance if you are thinking about it. Its very very good! Expand
  11. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Awesome action like you've never seen before: thumping fighting scenes, explosions galore, a spartacus like head chop-off. This show has action, sex and great story line. This is the best show on TV today. 10/10!
  12. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    I rarely give a 10 to anything, usually there's always a few flaws that can be pointed out, but this show is clear in their intention, it doesn't try to hide is own nature, and in doing so it establishes a perfect ground for measurement.

    "Passive" and "active" violence is a constant, and so is nudity, so if you don't like fist fighting, people shooting others dead, women showing their
    I rarely give a 10 to anything, usually there's always a few flaws that can be pointed out, but this show is clear in their intention, it doesn't try to hide is own nature, and in doing so it establishes a perfect ground for measurement.

    "Passive" and "active" violence is a constant, and so is nudity, so if you don't like fist fighting, people shooting others dead, women showing their breasts, soft sex scenes, then this is definitely not a show for you. This scenes really keep me entertained, and I'm the kind of person that finds sexual intercourse scenes usually boring, but I'm quite comfortable if I think they fit into the show, which is clearly the case in my opinion.

    The characters are just amazing, all of them are so alive and so filled with character, what an amazing feat, so rare this days, they all feel unique and even better than that, in a over the top show you would expect a ton of cliches everywhere, and a ton of cliche characters, Banshee has none, just amazing character development, I take my hat and bow to the show creators. The acting is in my opinion of top quality, even the less important characters provide us with quality acting. And the main villain of this story, Kyle Proctor (not sure if I'm spelling it right), Sir, your acting, the character you bring to life, you deserve an Oscar, no contest here.

    So I read some concerns about this show diminishing women, I laughed at it because it does exactly the opposite, this show is filled with strong women filled with character and strong personalities, but because they have sex with men, some people think this diminishes them. Typical 100 year old mentality, women are free to have sex like men are, just because you think that women should be a symbol of puritanism doesn't mean they should be, if you want to live in your virgin fantasy dome, there's plenty of other shows.

    So summing it up, I recommend this show to everyone, minus puritans and anti-violence evangelists, and of course, people that can't understand the difference between fiction and real life.
    Expand
  13. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    What a show! Sure it starts out as a bit too much fantasy from the writers, but woah, does one ever get sucked in a story as easily as here. I had forgotten the weird set up very quickly and enjoyed the brutality of the picture on screen. Love it. Nice short series which strong episodes every single time.
  14. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I love this show, acting second to none, writing and screenplay fantastic. The story line just keeps getting better with each episode. Lucas the x con and how he became sheriff of banshee is pretty cool. I'm looking forward to the new season
  15. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. None of the characters are believable. The town deputies would have snatched his badge the first time he did the outrageous illegal stunts he pulled, especially the one passed over for sheriff. There's no reason for them to fear him, he holds no weight, he's an outsider. And an ex-con would show more sense than his brazen ways.

    Many scenes scream "filler" and the overall acting is wooden at best. Gratuitous, stereotyped writing, especially the boxed in minority, LGBT and/or female characters. You knew the outcome of episode 3 from the moment the primary figures were introduced.
    Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me about 16 hours and multiple extended pauses, and 8 hours of sleep, to finally finish the first episode. It was engaging enough to make me finish the episode, but stalled often enough that I was distracted and surfed the web at times for no apparent reason. Banshee has potential, which is why I finished the first episode. There are so many bad guys in this show. The two main bad guys are Kai Proctor, town boss, meat plant owner, and Mr. Rabbit, NYC crime lord, and all their henchmen. The main character is the new brand of American hero. A bad guy with a good heart that does bad things for good reasons. The antihero. I'll watch the second episode, eventually. Expand
  17. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    The combo of sex, violence is massively enjoyable in this Cinemax series. I my opinion "Banshee" shares a lot of things on common with the excellent "strike back", from the same channel, and that's a good thing.
  18. RPD
    Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I just recommended this show to a couple of friends last night, and showed them the fight between Hood and Damien Sanchez. Needless to say they were both interested after seeing that. I really need to get the bluray's of season one and help support this great series, as I have done for Strike Back...
  19. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This show is the best show i've seen so far! the plot, the cast, everything is just awsome. Antony Starr is an epic discovery.. he is so real I can feel his torment over Ana. He is so damn cool!! the whole thing is just brilliant.
  20. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Banshee is a show that revolves around an Ex-Thief who screws over his powerful boss and flees. He comes across an opportunity to take the place of a small town's sheriff and does so. Angry boss catches wind of his new locale and sends an army after him. Banshee might be, the single, most violent television series I have ever seen. It is SO VIOLENT. The main character kicks so much ass,Banshee is a show that revolves around an Ex-Thief who screws over his powerful boss and flees. He comes across an opportunity to take the place of a small town's sheriff and does so. Angry boss catches wind of his new locale and sends an army after him. Banshee might be, the single, most violent television series I have ever seen. It is SO VIOLENT. The main character kicks so much ass, breaks so many bones and kills so many people that you just wouldn't believe it until you see it. It's a pretty good show. For what it lacks in plot and character development, it makes up for in action. Expand
  21. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Second only to "Breaking Bad". Reminds me very much of Tarantino and Frank Miller. The survival of the main charakters is always unlikely but they always stay true to their personality... Incredibly dense action from the start and it never slows down!
  22. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    Cinemax's newest gentle tough guy show is easy to watch. The gratuitous scenes are almost laughable, but it is Cinemax. At its root, it is fun tv. Nothing wrong with that.
  23. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I LOVED this series. Have been watching all the must see fare from HBO and Netflix etc and this tops the lot for can't wait for next episodeness (except maybe for Game of Thrones.) Firstly, the story is excellent, it keeps its threads going brilliantly, it's never flabby or verbose, it's always right on point. The main character is a whizz at the ultra-violence and you wonder how he can beI LOVED this series. Have been watching all the must see fare from HBO and Netflix etc and this tops the lot for can't wait for next episodeness (except maybe for Game of Thrones.) Firstly, the story is excellent, it keeps its threads going brilliantly, it's never flabby or verbose, it's always right on point. The main character is a whizz at the ultra-violence and you wonder how he can be so good with his extremities until you find out with a nice bit of back story. Indeed, the frequent(ish) back story elements are part of the programmes charm, you look forward to them, rather than dreading them as annoying exposition, like in so many dramas. Lots of great fight sequences, lots of gratuitous nudity (all skinny up and down women but hey, you can't have everything) and the piece de resistance, THE BEST BADDIE BEST ACTED BADDIE I've seen in many a year, in the fantastic Ulrich Thomsen as Kai Proctor. I was mesmerised every time he was on the screen, his character is brilliantly written and brilliantly acted, and look out for one of the most intricately realised scenes depicting a man confronting his past in episode 8 when Proctor encounters his estranged Amish family. Thomsens' acting here made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end. And like all series with a second run on the way, the ending is left somewhat open but is not at all frustrating, it is a fitting and exciting climax, you don't groan and wish they'd 'ended it differently' or given you more, like in so many series. Brilliant, I love Banshee. Expand
  24. Jul 31, 2013
    7
    It's completely implausible and occasionally cheesy but I like it. Good characters, interesting twists, some snappy dialogue here and there, and, course, plenty of sex and violence. It's kinda like "Twin Peaks" meets "Amish Mafia"/"Witness"
  25. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    Banshee is a gritty, ultra-violent, ultra-sexy, truly adult TV show that I thoroughly enjoyed watching the debut season of.

    Executive produced by True Blood's Alan Ball, Banshee features a diverse and interesting cast of characters, from Russian crime lord to rebellious Amish young woman, colliding in the small town setting. Main character Lucas Hood (Antony Starr) grows into his role
    Banshee is a gritty, ultra-violent, ultra-sexy, truly adult TV show that I thoroughly enjoyed watching the debut season of.

    Executive produced by True Blood's Alan Ball, Banshee features a diverse and interesting cast of characters, from Russian crime lord to rebellious Amish young woman, colliding in the small town setting. Main character Lucas Hood (Antony Starr) grows into his role as the show's anti-hero with his balls to the wall hard approach to sheriff duties that shocks and impresses his colleagues in equal measures. Ulrich Thomsen steals most scenes as the sly, menacing and vile local crime lord Kai Proctor, frustrated that the new sheriff doesn't want to serve his interests as predecessors have done.

    One of the Banshee's strengths is it's brutally fantastic fight scenes. Not afraid to skimp on violence, the choreography is amazing and comfortably beats most movie punch-ups. Hood's fights with a visiting cage fighter and Albino prison beast are probably some of the best fights I've seen produced.

    The season's ending was disappointingly predictable but I still enjoyed the story, script and characters hugely and the trailer for season two shows that there is still plenty of drama ahead in Banshee.

    Not for the reserved, but a great start for one of the toughest shows on TV.
    Expand
  26. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    Next to Game of Thrones this is the best show on TV. It's better than True Blood. It reminds me of the first season of Spartacus, Blood and Sand, but in modern times. Every episode has me wondering what will happen next. This show boldly steps over the line again and again. Hot women, fantastic fight scenes, and wicked evil bosses. I must have more!
  27. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    i think its a good action drama TV series with superb actors...but its pace of the TV series is a bit sloppy

    but on the whole BANSHEE is a gem...watch it guys...
  28. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I just watched all the season 1 shows this weekend with my wife during the Comcast Watchathon where they made all Cinemax series available for free. I have to say we were glued to all ten episodes and I had to pry her away for Easter dinner. Very intense they try hard to shock you and make you feel for the characters. The characters are not sympathetic. They are hard antiheroes but youI just watched all the season 1 shows this weekend with my wife during the Comcast Watchathon where they made all Cinemax series available for free. I have to say we were glued to all ten episodes and I had to pry her away for Easter dinner. Very intense they try hard to shock you and make you feel for the characters. The characters are not sympathetic. They are hard antiheroes but you do care about them and feel their pain. The moral dilemmas created are complex. You start to hate a character and then he turns around and does something to save people even though it's in his best interests. There are tons of plot twists for those who like the unexpected. The violence and sexuality are not for the faint hearted though. Can't wait for the next season! Expand
  29. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Very gritty program that is not held back from the usual constraints of mainstream tv, And the the main actor is a New Zealander not Australian.
    Love this show.
  30. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    Banshee is a great show to a point, some of the characters need a lot of work for season 2, the main character is great and is acted well. If the last two episodes of the first season which were the best of the season tense and ending very interesting if it continues down that road should be good.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 60
    While it's emphatically not a great show, it is an overheated yet intriguing one, driven more by visuals than words--and if you don't mind that its gory action and soap-opera plots aren't yet matched by dialogue and performance, it's worth a look.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 11, 2013
    70
    It does what it sets out to do reasonably well without breaking my brain in the process.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee has has elements of "Justified," "Big Love," Ball's "True Blood" and, of course, the film "Witness." What it doesn't have, at least in the first two episodes, is anything new to say, about small towns, power, corruption, fear, crime or love.