• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Banshee Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Matt Servitto, Demetrius Grosse, Anthony Ruivivar
  • Summary: Ex-con Lucas Hood (Antony Starr) may be the new sheriff of Banshee, Pennsylvania, but he's not reformed even if he's hiding from the gangsters he and his old partner, Carrie Hopewell (Ivana Milicevic), betrayed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
  • Creator: Jonathan Tropper, David Schickler
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jan 11, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jan 3, 2013
    83
    Despite the somewhat strained setup, Banshee is a kick: ultraviolent, over-the-top, and wickedly fun. [11 Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    It's the characters of Banshee and their labyrinth of relationships that make the show an engrossing, entertaining portrait of a fictional small town.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 10, 2013
    75
    It's all much better than it sounds, and more importantly, like "Strike Back," is written better than you'd expect.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Banshee is a mangy mutt of a TV show and doesn't care if you know it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee has has elements of "Justified," "Big Love," Ball's "True Blood" and, of course, the film "Witness." What it doesn't have, at least in the first two episodes, is anything new to say, about small towns, power, corruption, fear, crime or love.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee's not a terrible show. At times it can be entertaining. But at best it's terribly, entertainingly superfluous.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Banshee has the audacity to behave as though its bloody violence, implausible set-up and studied ugliness is somehow vanguard television. In fact, it's just more of the same.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I just watched all the season 1 shows this weekend with my wife during the Comcast Watchathon where they made all Cinemax series available forI just watched all the season 1 shows this weekend with my wife during the Comcast Watchathon where they made all Cinemax series available for free. I have to say we were glued to all ten episodes and I had to pry her away for Easter dinner. Very intense they try hard to shock you and make you feel for the characters. The characters are not sympathetic. They are hard antiheroes but you do care about them and feel their pain. The moral dilemmas created are complex. You start to hate a character and then he turns around and does something to save people even though it's in his best interests. There are tons of plot twists for those who like the unexpected. The violence and sexuality are not for the faint hearted though. Can't wait for the next season! Expand
  2. RPD
    Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I just recommended this show to a couple of friends last night, and showed them the fight between Hood and Damien Sanchez. Needless to sayI just recommended this show to a couple of friends last night, and showed them the fight between Hood and Damien Sanchez. Needless to say they were both interested after seeing that. I really need to get the bluray's of season one and help support this great series, as I have done for Strike Back... Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    This show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle ofThis show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle of Black Water," a run for its money. Ulrich Thomsen portrays Kai Proctor in what is some of the best acting I have seen in recent memory. I have never seen so many amazing plot twists before and look forward to watching the rest of this season and season 2. I suggest anyone that likes bloody action scenes to watch every episode immediately. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    My opinion about the first season is that is the best new series after Game of Thrones. This series could also improve, with more money andMy opinion about the first season is that is the best new series after Game of Thrones. This series could also improve, with more money and more attention to details. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I have to give the show another review. The show got much, much better than the earlier episodes were promising. The plan in the earlyI have to give the show another review. The show got much, much better than the earlier episodes were promising. The plan in the early episodes was to every episode have outsiders bring danger into the town (and the rave episode with the kids was pathetic). However, ever since then the show has gotten much better. I have thoroughly enjoyed the main character, as well as his interactions with everyone else. The focus on rabbit was a great move, there are many interesting characters in the show, no need to bring outsiders in every episode, this shouldn't be law and order. If Anna's kids are out of the picture I'm very glad, what a bore no Deva please!!! I really like Kai's relationship with his niece, she is a definitely an interesting young character, looking forward to see more of that in season 2. Great season finale. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    Banshee is a great show to a point, some of the characters need a lot of work for season 2, the main character is great and is acted well. IfBanshee is a great show to a point, some of the characters need a lot of work for season 2, the main character is great and is acted well. If the last two episodes of the first season which were the best of the season tense and ending very interesting if it continues down that road should be good. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. None of the characters are believable. The town deputies would have snatched his badge the first time he did the outrageous illegal stunts he pulled, especially the one passed over for sheriff. There's no reason for them to fear him, he holds no weight, he's an outsider. And an ex-con would show more sense than his brazen ways.

    Many scenes scream "filler" and the overall acting is wooden at best. Gratuitous, stereotyped writing, especially the boxed in minority, LGBT and/or female characters. You knew the outcome of episode 3 from the moment the primary figures were introduced.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews