Banshee : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Banshee Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ex-con Lucas Hood (Antony Starr) may be the new sheriff of Banshee, Pennsylvania, but he's not reformed even if he's hiding from the gangsters he and his old partner, Carrie Hopewell (Ivana Milicevic), betrayed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jan 3, 2013
    83
    Despite the somewhat strained setup, Banshee is a kick: ultraviolent, over-the-top, and wickedly fun. [11 Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    It's the characters of Banshee and their labyrinth of relationships that make the show an engrossing, entertaining portrait of a fictional small town.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 10, 2013
    75
    It's all much better than it sounds, and more importantly, like "Strike Back," is written better than you'd expect.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Banshee is a mangy mutt of a TV show and doesn't care if you know it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee has has elements of "Justified," "Big Love," Ball's "True Blood" and, of course, the film "Witness." What it doesn't have, at least in the first two episodes, is anything new to say, about small towns, power, corruption, fear, crime or love.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    The show has some unorthodox elements, but feels fairly cliched in most of its beats, largely serving as an excuse for bouts of grisly violence and gratuitous sex.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Banshee has the audacity to behave as though its bloody violence, implausible set-up and studied ugliness is somehow vanguard television. In fact, it's just more of the same.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I LOVED this series. Have been watching all the must see fare from HBO and Netflix etc and this tops the lot for can't wait for nextI LOVED this series. Have been watching all the must see fare from HBO and Netflix etc and this tops the lot for can't wait for next episodeness (except maybe for Game of Thrones.) Firstly, the story is excellent, it keeps its threads going brilliantly, it's never flabby or verbose, it's always right on point. The main character is a whizz at the ultra-violence and you wonder how he can be so good with his extremities until you find out with a nice bit of back story. Indeed, the frequent(ish) back story elements are part of the programmes charm, you look forward to them, rather than dreading them as annoying exposition, like in so many dramas. Lots of great fight sequences, lots of gratuitous nudity (all skinny up and down women but hey, you can't have everything) and the piece de resistance, THE BEST BADDIE BEST ACTED BADDIE I've seen in many a year, in the fantastic Ulrich Thomsen as Kai Proctor. I was mesmerised every time he was on the screen, his character is brilliantly written and brilliantly acted, and look out for one of the most intricately realised scenes depicting a man confronting his past in episode 8 when Proctor encounters his estranged Amish family. Thomsens' acting here made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end. And like all series with a second run on the way, the ending is left somewhat open but is not at all frustrating, it is a fitting and exciting climax, you don't groan and wish they'd 'ended it differently' or given you more, like in so many series. Brilliant, I love Banshee. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ok...its a shoot 'em up series, but this is brilliantly done, it does have a story that carries over from episode to episode and into series two so that's not it after the individual episode finishes which is nice. yes there are sex scenes but not too over the top and what do you expect from an adult after the watershed time slot programme, well done to everyone concerned for commissioning a third series, long may it continue Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    This show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle ofThis show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle of Black Water," a run for its money. Ulrich Thomsen portrays Kai Proctor in what is some of the best acting I have seen in recent memory. I have never seen so many amazing plot twists before and look forward to watching the rest of this season and season 2. I suggest anyone that likes bloody action scenes to watch every episode immediately. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    i think its a good action drama TV series with superb actors...but its pace of the TV series is a bit sloppy

    but on the whole BANSHEE is a
    i think its a good action drama TV series with superb actors...but its pace of the TV series is a bit sloppy

    but on the whole BANSHEE is a gem...watch it guys...
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I have to give the show another review. The show got much, much better than the earlier episodes were promising. The plan in the earlyI have to give the show another review. The show got much, much better than the earlier episodes were promising. The plan in the early episodes was to every episode have outsiders bring danger into the town (and the rave episode with the kids was pathetic). However, ever since then the show has gotten much better. I have thoroughly enjoyed the main character, as well as his interactions with everyone else. The focus on rabbit was a great move, there are many interesting characters in the show, no need to bring outsiders in every episode, this shouldn't be law and order. If Anna's kids are out of the picture I'm very glad, what a bore no Deva please!!! I really like Kai's relationship with his niece, she is a definitely an interesting young character, looking forward to see more of that in season 2. Great season finale. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    (Spoilers below) I have to say when I first heard of this show I thought it was going to be typical mindless junk, but I was pleasantly(Spoilers below) I have to say when I first heard of this show I thought it was going to be typical mindless junk, but I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are interesting and relatively complex, the action is great, plenty of laughs and almost every episode has "edge of your seat" moments. The only reason I would not give this show 9 or 10/10 is because of how ridiculous the plot is. Pretty much every episode has absolutely ridiculous things happening first, the way Hood becomes Sheriff; then the ability of the dragqueen character to do whatever he wants with his laptop, including opening blast doors in a museum; Hood's asinine interpretation of laws, like punching criminals in front of other cops and letting prisoners go; Hood deciding to and succeeding in beating up a biker gang by himself, etc. If you can get over how ridiculous the story is a lot of the time you will definietely enjoy yourself. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. None of the characters are believable. The town deputies would have snatched his badge the first time he did the outrageous illegal stunts he pulled, especially the one passed over for sheriff. There's no reason for them to fear him, he holds no weight, he's an outsider. And an ex-con would show more sense than his brazen ways.

    Many scenes scream "filler" and the overall acting is wooden at best. Gratuitous, stereotyped writing, especially the boxed in minority, LGBT and/or female characters. You knew the outcome of episode 3 from the moment the primary figures were introduced.
    Expand

See all 49 User Reviews