• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Banshee Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ex-con Lucas Hood (Antony Starr) may be the new sheriff of Banshee, Pennsylvania, but he's not reformed even if he's hiding from the gangsters he and his old partner, Carrie Hopewell (Ivana Milicevic), betrayed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jan 3, 2013
    83
    Despite the somewhat strained setup, Banshee is a kick: ultraviolent, over-the-top, and wickedly fun. [11 Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    It's the characters of Banshee and their labyrinth of relationships that make the show an engrossing, entertaining portrait of a fictional small town.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 10, 2013
    75
    It's all much better than it sounds, and more importantly, like "Strike Back," is written better than you'd expect.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Banshee is a mangy mutt of a TV show and doesn't care if you know it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee has has elements of "Justified," "Big Love," Ball's "True Blood" and, of course, the film "Witness." What it doesn't have, at least in the first two episodes, is anything new to say, about small towns, power, corruption, fear, crime or love.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    The show has some unorthodox elements, but feels fairly cliched in most of its beats, largely serving as an excuse for bouts of grisly violence and gratuitous sex.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Banshee has the audacity to behave as though its bloody violence, implausible set-up and studied ugliness is somehow vanguard television. In fact, it's just more of the same.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ok...its a shoot 'em up series, but this is brilliantly done, it does have a story that carries over from episode to episode and into series two so that's not it after the individual episode finishes which is nice. yes there are sex scenes but not too over the top and what do you expect from an adult after the watershed time slot programme, well done to everyone concerned for commissioning a third series, long may it continue Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    I rarely give a 10 to anything, usually there's always a few flaws that can be pointed out, but this show is clear in their intention, itI rarely give a 10 to anything, usually there's always a few flaws that can be pointed out, but this show is clear in their intention, it doesn't try to hide is own nature, and in doing so it establishes a perfect ground for measurement.

    "Passive" and "active" violence is a constant, and so is nudity, so if you don't like fist fighting, people shooting others dead, women showing their breasts, soft sex scenes, then this is definitely not a show for you. This scenes really keep me entertained, and I'm the kind of person that finds sexual intercourse scenes usually boring, but I'm quite comfortable if I think they fit into the show, which is clearly the case in my opinion.

    The characters are just amazing, all of them are so alive and so filled with character, what an amazing feat, so rare this days, they all feel unique and even better than that, in a over the top show you would expect a ton of cliches everywhere, and a ton of cliche characters, Banshee has none, just amazing character development, I take my hat and bow to the show creators. The acting is in my opinion of top quality, even the less important characters provide us with quality acting. And the main villain of this story, Kyle Proctor (not sure if I'm spelling it right), Sir, your acting, the character you bring to life, you deserve an Oscar, no contest here.

    So I read some concerns about this show diminishing women, I laughed at it because it does exactly the opposite, this show is filled with strong women filled with character and strong personalities, but because they have sex with men, some people think this diminishes them. Typical 100 year old mentality, women are free to have sex like men are, just because you think that women should be a symbol of puritanism doesn't mean they should be, if you want to live in your virgin fantasy dome, there's plenty of other shows.

    So summing it up, I recommend this show to everyone, minus puritans and anti-violence evangelists, and of course, people that can't understand the difference between fiction and real life.
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    This show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle ofThis show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle of Black Water," a run for its money. Ulrich Thomsen portrays Kai Proctor in what is some of the best acting I have seen in recent memory. I have never seen so many amazing plot twists before and look forward to watching the rest of this season and season 2. I suggest anyone that likes bloody action scenes to watch every episode immediately. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    i think its a good action drama TV series with superb actors...but its pace of the TV series is a bit sloppy

    but on the whole BANSHEE is a
    i think its a good action drama TV series with superb actors...but its pace of the TV series is a bit sloppy

    but on the whole BANSHEE is a gem...watch it guys...
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I have to give the show another review. The show got much, much better than the earlier episodes were promising. The plan in the earlyI have to give the show another review. The show got much, much better than the earlier episodes were promising. The plan in the early episodes was to every episode have outsiders bring danger into the town (and the rave episode with the kids was pathetic). However, ever since then the show has gotten much better. I have thoroughly enjoyed the main character, as well as his interactions with everyone else. The focus on rabbit was a great move, there are many interesting characters in the show, no need to bring outsiders in every episode, this shouldn't be law and order. If Anna's kids are out of the picture I'm very glad, what a bore no Deva please!!! I really like Kai's relationship with his niece, she is a definitely an interesting young character, looking forward to see more of that in season 2. Great season finale. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    (Spoilers below) I have to say when I first heard of this show I thought it was going to be typical mindless junk, but I was pleasantly(Spoilers below) I have to say when I first heard of this show I thought it was going to be typical mindless junk, but I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are interesting and relatively complex, the action is great, plenty of laughs and almost every episode has "edge of your seat" moments. The only reason I would not give this show 9 or 10/10 is because of how ridiculous the plot is. Pretty much every episode has absolutely ridiculous things happening first, the way Hood becomes Sheriff; then the ability of the dragqueen character to do whatever he wants with his laptop, including opening blast doors in a museum; Hood's asinine interpretation of laws, like punching criminals in front of other cops and letting prisoners go; Hood deciding to and succeeding in beating up a biker gang by himself, etc. If you can get over how ridiculous the story is a lot of the time you will definietely enjoy yourself. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. None of the characters are believable. The town deputies would have snatched his badge the first time he did the outrageous illegal stunts he pulled, especially the one passed over for sheriff. There's no reason for them to fear him, he holds no weight, he's an outsider. And an ex-con would show more sense than his brazen ways.

    Many scenes scream "filler" and the overall acting is wooden at best. Gratuitous, stereotyped writing, especially the boxed in minority, LGBT and/or female characters. You knew the outcome of episode 3 from the moment the primary figures were introduced.
    Collapse

See all 49 User Reviews