• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Banshee Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ex-con Lucas Hood (Antony Starr) may be the new sheriff of Banshee, Pennsylvania, but he's not reformed even if he's hiding from the gangsters he and his old partner, Carrie Hopewell (Ivana Milicevic), betrayed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jan 3, 2013
    83
    Despite the somewhat strained setup, Banshee is a kick: ultraviolent, over-the-top, and wickedly fun. [11 Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    It's the characters of Banshee and their labyrinth of relationships that make the show an engrossing, entertaining portrait of a fictional small town.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 10, 2013
    75
    It's all much better than it sounds, and more importantly, like "Strike Back," is written better than you'd expect.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Banshee is a mangy mutt of a TV show and doesn't care if you know it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee has has elements of "Justified," "Big Love," Ball's "True Blood" and, of course, the film "Witness." What it doesn't have, at least in the first two episodes, is anything new to say, about small towns, power, corruption, fear, crime or love.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Banshee's not a terrible show. At times it can be entertaining. But at best it's terribly, entertainingly superfluous.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Banshee has the audacity to behave as though its bloody violence, implausible set-up and studied ugliness is somehow vanguard television. In fact, it's just more of the same.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I just watched all the season 1 shows this weekend with my wife during the Comcast Watchathon where they made all Cinemax series available for free. I have to say we were glued to all ten episodes and I had to pry her away for Easter dinner. Very intense they try hard to shock you and make you feel for the characters. The characters are not sympathetic. They are hard antiheroes but you do care about them and feel their pain. The moral dilemmas created are complex. You start to hate a character and then he turns around and does something to save people even though it's in his best interests. There are tons of plot twists for those who like the unexpected. The violence and sexuality are not for the faint hearted though. Can't wait for the next season! Expand
  2. RPD
    Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I just recommended this show to a couple of friends last night, and showed them the fight between Hood and Damien Sanchez. Needless to say they were both interested after seeing that. I really need to get the bluray's of season one and help support this great series, as I have done for Strike Back... Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    This show is easily the best shock in three years. The episode that just premiered gives the famous Game of Thrones episode, "The Battle of Black Water," a run for its money. Ulrich Thomsen portrays Kai Proctor in what is some of the best acting I have seen in recent memory. I have never seen so many amazing plot twists before and look forward to watching the rest of this season and season 2. I suggest anyone that likes bloody action scenes to watch every episode immediately. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    The show is a bit excessive on the violence but otherwise good fun and interesting to watch. There is some great character development in places in the show and Antony Starr is fantastic as the ex-con turned sheriff. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Cinemax and HBO have another winner on there hands. Full of twists and turns Banshee manages to engage the viewer through a mix of grim spectacle and outright badassery. Every episode is layered with style that oozes with dramatic meat to keep the audience magnetized to the screen and just when you're properly engaged. Some get's their arm broken or their brains splattered across the walls or streets. This all said one must remember that this is the cinemax arm of HBO, so while the acting is pretty good all around, it is by no means on the level of something like The Wire or Six Feet Under. But with certain tweaks, it could very well be. In fact it puts its sister show, Strikeback, to shame by saying, an action show can have good acting and damn good dialogue. The only other issue with the show, is when they try to do big bad chase sequences. The choreography and direction of them is great, but they don't have the budget to pull them off effectively. It becomes dissengaging when you wind up concentrating on its fakery rather than execution. Otherwise, a solid show, that will have you racing with excitment. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    (Spoilers below) I have to say when I first heard of this show I thought it was going to be typical mindless junk, but I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are interesting and relatively complex, the action is great, plenty of laughs and almost every episode has "edge of your seat" moments. The only reason I would not give this show 9 or 10/10 is because of how ridiculous the plot is. Pretty much every episode has absolutely ridiculous things happening first, the way Hood becomes Sheriff; then the ability of the dragqueen character to do whatever he wants with his laptop, including opening blast doors in a museum; Hood's asinine interpretation of laws, like punching criminals in front of other cops and letting prisoners go; Hood deciding to and succeeding in beating up a biker gang by himself, etc. If you can get over how ridiculous the story is a lot of the time you will definietely enjoy yourself. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. None of the characters are believable. The town deputies would have snatched his badge the first time he did the outrageous illegal stunts he pulled, especially the one passed over for sheriff. There's no reason for them to fear him, he holds no weight, he's an outsider. And an ex-con would show more sense than his brazen ways.

    Many scenes scream "filler" and the overall acting is wooden at best. Gratuitous, stereotyped writing, especially the boxed in minority, LGBT and/or female characters. You knew the outcome of episode 3 from the moment the primary figures were introduced.
    Collapse

See all 44 User Reviews