• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 8, 2003
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 299

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeeAdama
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    Best. Show. Ever.
  2. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Great mirror of US invasions, assault on individual freedoms, courage, villainy and the nature of humanity. All in a TV show with better effects than most movies.
  3. G
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    First episode I saw was 2x07 (Home, Part 2). No background information and seeing people in uniforms walking in a forest made me turn it off and forget about it (first impression: a total waste of time). Much later I had a chance to see it from the beginning and really got addicted. As everything in life, it has it´s ups and downs, but overall it is much more than just okay. My First episode I saw was 2x07 (Home, Part 2). No background information and seeing people in uniforms walking in a forest made me turn it off and forget about it (first impression: a total waste of time). Much later I had a chance to see it from the beginning and really got addicted. As everything in life, it has it´s ups and downs, but overall it is much more than just okay. My opinion is based on how far I got till now (Season 3 Ep. 2). Hope it stays this way. And hey, no jokes about Germans. I like that. Expand
  4. JimmyT
    Feb 18, 2008
    8
    Excellent narrative with unparalleled depth in the context of modern sci fi. The season lost a little steam towards the end but left us with a compelling cliff hanger. The only fundamentally negative aspect of this new series are the female characters. Many either portrayed as chld abuse victims with gender identity disorder +/- various other psychopathies (Kara Thrace), sexually Excellent narrative with unparalleled depth in the context of modern sci fi. The season lost a little steam towards the end but left us with a compelling cliff hanger. The only fundamentally negative aspect of this new series are the female characters. Many either portrayed as chld abuse victims with gender identity disorder +/- various other psychopathies (Kara Thrace), sexually manipulative harlots (six, the XO's wife, Dualla), and of course the president playing the role of school mistress to the rest of the characters in the cheesiest way imaginable. Expand
  5. Muldfeld
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    The most politically insightful show in the history of US pop culture, and the most dramatically realistic show on TV today. It's also a lot of fun.
  6. StevenB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    It is the most awesome show on television. Why is it going away?
  7. LucasD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best shows out there. The plot is fantastic, incorporating such sc-fi classics as sentient machines, the definition of intelligence and Lovecraftian ancient astronauts. The special effects are excellent on the whole, but whatever company does it needs work on it's smoke effects.
  8. ThomasK.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I find this show wonderfully unique and truthful (the social aspect).
  9. Clint
    Jan 15, 2007
    0
    Man this show is total crap. They use human cyclons cheep, They use 9mm, they drive humvees and world war 2 6 wheelers come on get real. Then they biker and fight so much i don
  10. CylonsRule
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    I am on the second season now. While I am enjoying the chance to revisit the concept that captured my imagination as a child, I do have to poke pins in my legs every time I watch an episode to keep from scoffing at the heavy-handed use of character cliche in this series. The drama seems highly synthetic, and much of the dialog is predictable. But, the show remains enjoyable enough for its I am on the second season now. While I am enjoying the chance to revisit the concept that captured my imagination as a child, I do have to poke pins in my legs every time I watch an episode to keep from scoffing at the heavy-handed use of character cliche in this series. The drama seems highly synthetic, and much of the dialog is predictable. But, the show remains enjoyable enough for its special effects. Expand
  11. MattA.
    Apr 7, 2008
    4
    More with MonoApe on this one than the critics and most of the users. All of MonoApe's points are valid and even the most devoted can't deny the cheesiness factor here. Yes, a cut above other TV sci-fi dramas, but that isn't saying much.
  12. MonoApeApe
    Jan 18, 2008
    2
    Hmmm. Seems like I may be in a minority here. Rather than write a waffling review, I'll simply suggest some alternative titles for the show: 1. Battlestar Cliche (the writers use every tired soap opera, science fiction mechanism invented) 2. Battlestar LongHardStare (as practiced by all the chracters at each other every 8 minutes, or so - hey, it's cheaper than special effects Hmmm. Seems like I may be in a minority here. Rather than write a waffling review, I'll simply suggest some alternative titles for the show: 1. Battlestar Cliche (the writers use every tired soap opera, science fiction mechanism invented) 2. Battlestar LongHardStare (as practiced by all the chracters at each other every 8 minutes, or so - hey, it's cheaper than special effects and compelling storyline) 3. Battlestar GodNonsense (I was expecting to see Ted Haggard in the script writer credits) 4. Battlestar HammyActing ("ooh, it's my turn for the camera - watch me ACT!") 5. Battlestar WhoopinAndHollerin ("Any time there's a celebration amongst the pilot jocks I half expect them to start chanting "USA! USA! USA!") 6. Battlestar GenderEquality (It's amazing how often women beat up much larger men I could go on, but you get the idea. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2008
    3
    Tedious, ponderous, and way too self important. The original BSG was definitely a joke, but I would still rather watch it compared to this. I just have a great deal of difficulty dutifully accepting all this nonsense about the humanoid cylons as i feel the show's producers would like me to. It is, quite simply, a plot device that is way too convoluted (I've read Kafka novels Tedious, ponderous, and way too self important. The original BSG was definitely a joke, but I would still rather watch it compared to this. I just have a great deal of difficulty dutifully accepting all this nonsense about the humanoid cylons as i feel the show's producers would like me to. It is, quite simply, a plot device that is way too convoluted (I've read Kafka novels that make more sense!). I appreciate that the notion of 'sleeper cells' mirrors our own society's current events nicely, but i feel that the ambiguous, to say the least, nature of the cylons - are they or aren't they? do they know themselves? can they choose to disobey their programming? - effectively ends any similarities with the terrorism we deal with in the real world. I see this less as a clever allegory and more as a rather pathetically manipulative ploy by the shows producers to string the audience along for 'just one more episode, 'when all questions will be answered'. don't bet on it. Also, if Cylons look like humans, act like humans, may or may not BE humans, then aren't they really just humans? Just because the show's producers tell you they are cylons is no reason for you to believe it. Give me the old scanning, red eye and the "By your command" any day over this manipulative drivel. Expand
  14. OganK.
    Mar 24, 2009
    3
    I totally agree with MonoApe Ape. I loved the ship designs and technology elements in the series, and some philosophical references, but machines having FAITH !?! that is far from SCI-FI machines built to compute and rely on reference logic can never have such pointless faith and stuff. And whats up with all that god mumbo-jumbo. There were too many cliches and the uniforms the space I totally agree with MonoApe Ape. I loved the ship designs and technology elements in the series, and some philosophical references, but machines having FAITH !?! that is far from SCI-FI machines built to compute and rely on reference logic can never have such pointless faith and stuff. And whats up with all that god mumbo-jumbo. There were too many cliches and the uniforms the space marines are wearing are too much alike SWAT teams, the weapons they used are also not compatible with the general texture of the series. I MEAN come on if you are making a sci-fi and if its about a people that has nothing to do with us humans PLEASE give some time to design ORIGINAL uniforms etc at least ! These are very crucial in a sci-fi, the watcher must lose contact with todays human society in order to enter into the atmosphere of what they are watching. In general I couldnt connect to the whole battlestar galactica concept I general found myself bored (except for the first season) watching. This series is a light sci-fi movie directed at general crowd who doesn't pay attention to detail and has little idea about sci-fi and philosophy. Big disappointment for me in general. Look at the real sci-fi works such as star wars and ghost in the shell, that is how sci-fi is made. IMAGINE DEEP. (cylons with ak-47's and 15000 yrs ago yeah right) - its like Scientology. Expand
  15. js
    Mar 31, 2009
    4
    If you like this Babylon 5 is better. Not as flashy not as expensive, not as new but not as rubbish and boring. Babylon 5 was so ahead of its time and is an amazing story both of how it struggled by for 5 seasons and the tale itself. This is just to silly, the way artificial intelligence is portrayed is so ridiculous, I often feel the need to spank Sci Fi writers on the butt with If you like this Babylon 5 is better. Not as flashy not as expensive, not as new but not as rubbish and boring. Babylon 5 was so ahead of its time and is an amazing story both of how it struggled by for 5 seasons and the tale itself. This is just to silly, the way artificial intelligence is portrayed is so ridiculous, I often feel the need to spank Sci Fi writers on the butt with Asimov's the complete Robot. The Cylons, being more advance more intelligent killing machines should just kill the damn thing like that. The whole way through the fact that they should all be dead already just makes it unwatchable. Expand
  16. Tomas
    Apr 12, 2009
    3
    Lack of logic, gaping mistakes and spec effects. Fleet is commanded by an admiral who has no tactical and strategical knowledge, AI for stupid reasons create ORGANIC fighters (when the rest of their technologies are purely cybernetic) that is bred to be fighting mashines BUT include oxygen, space for passenger(which is not supposed to be there) AND the means to control it when it is Lack of logic, gaping mistakes and spec effects. Fleet is commanded by an admiral who has no tactical and strategical knowledge, AI for stupid reasons create ORGANIC fighters (when the rest of their technologies are purely cybernetic) that is bred to be fighting mashines BUT include oxygen, space for passenger(which is not supposed to be there) AND the means to control it when it is SUPPOSED to be stand alone unmanned fighter, parashutes in a SPACEFIGHTER. If you think this is ok and it should be like this - watch it, if not - do not even bother. You will save valuable time indeed. Expand
  17. MrShark
    Apr 12, 2009
    1
    I am grateful I'm not the only one here that thinks this show deserves way less than a 5. I'll try to make this review short; This show has too much sex scenes to cover up the boring plot and cheap twists in it. Every plot line looks like the writer's were saying something like "Hmm, this character doesn't have enough drama, let's make her/him act dumbly to creat I am grateful I'm not the only one here that thinks this show deserves way less than a 5. I'll try to make this review short; This show has too much sex scenes to cover up the boring plot and cheap twists in it. Every plot line looks like the writer's were saying something like "Hmm, this character doesn't have enough drama, let's make her/him act dumbly to creat cheap drama!" And yes, the drama is so cheap it would barely fit into a soap opera. The characters are unlikeable, unrealistic, full of cliché and as deep as a puddle of pee. They're the main thing why the whole series fall apart. They're not fleshed out, they don't have any actual character (other than "the manly chick" and "the strict captain" etc) because this kind of show needs characters that are easily made into something else. That they can be used as many times as needed and in as many different situations as needed. Everything surrounding the Cylons made me bored to death. The unlikeable blonde (that was trying to appeal to people by wanting ~love~) was I think, the worst character in the series. She appeared way too much, she didn't have any character at all, they basically tried to make her "mysterious" by making her reactions, character, thoughts and ways of thinking completely random and all over the place. The cylons were trapped between "ooh, we're scary machines!" and "boohoo, we just want to be loved"-drama and never really got out of it. I would've given this show a zero if it didn't have it's good sides though. I like the designs of the ships, but they lack actual details and depth. The only detail there is, is that nothing is rectangular. I think that was a cheap way to make things different from ours and I really don't consider it a "detailed environment". I also like the problems they face, for example the lack of water and food and how they cope with that. But the overall Crappiness vs. Good is 10-1 so for me, this show is not worth watching. The whole show lacks depth, interesting plot and characters. I would not call this show a "Sci-Fi Drama" but more like "Sci-Fi-ish Soap Opera". (Also AI that believes in a god? Give me a break.) Expand
  18. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    What an utter piece of crap. Luckily, I recognized the downward trend and prevented my time and energy to go to waste. The 5 is for the first 5 episodes. I tried to like it but could only go as far as episode 12. The stupid executives ruined a brilliant show by turning it from a serial drama into an episodic villain-of-the-week joke of a narrative. There were more filler episodes than IWhat an utter piece of crap. Luckily, I recognized the downward trend and prevented my time and energy to go to waste. The 5 is for the first 5 episodes. I tried to like it but could only go as far as episode 12. The stupid executives ruined a brilliant show by turning it from a serial drama into an episodic villain-of-the-week joke of a narrative. There were more filler episodes than I was accustomed to. I lost interest about halfway and didn't bother to resume. Expand
  19. JH
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    First season and pilot was great. This is season is good, but it's lost some momentum i think.
  20. ScottS
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    Babylon 5 used to be my favorite sci-fi show of all time. And MASH was my favorite show period. Now I have a new show that takes over the top spot for both: Battlestar Galactica is so much better than the original 70s series that there is almost no resemblence whatsoever. The acting is first-rate, the actors are well-cast, the writing is deep and pointed, topics are bleak and yet there is Babylon 5 used to be my favorite sci-fi show of all time. And MASH was my favorite show period. Now I have a new show that takes over the top spot for both: Battlestar Galactica is so much better than the original 70s series that there is almost no resemblence whatsoever. The acting is first-rate, the actors are well-cast, the writing is deep and pointed, topics are bleak and yet there is always a glint of hope each week. There is little chance it could get better, but I was glad when they got OFF of that planet. The writers (for some reason) seem to do better when the humans are trapped on the ship. The episode where they form the "circle" and execute people for treason with presidential permission was making a powerful statement against the current practices of the U.S. government. That was one of the best episodes I have ever seen of any TV show period. Expand
  21. GP
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    The best show on TV by far... totally addictive, with great acting, writing, special effects... I pity those who are not watching it!
  22. DBrown
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    I never thought I'd be grateful for commercials so I can remember to breathe. The most intense drama on television.
  23. AndrewR
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Absolutely "appointment TV"! Bummer that it's so hard to convince friends, family, & acquaintances to give a "sci-fi" (e-gad) show a try. It's a brilliant show with brilliant writing.
  24. CrunchH
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    Hey Ann O, you should probably stick with "What About Brian". Agree with Jim S. The name makes it difficult to convince others to watch it. Great show that only gets more interesting.
  25. BattlestarFan
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    I am not a huge Sci-Fi fan, but this show is the best drama on TV. So relevant and timely...the writing and acting by the first-rate ensemble cast are amazing!
  26. AndrewA
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    A show with actual depth? Doesn't happen very often. Everything if fantastic, the writing, acting, music, and so on.
  27. element609
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    Finally a scifi show that doesn't rely on expensive special effects, techno doublespeek, and fancy costumes. The characters have been very well developed. The story, while fanciful, deals with human issues, and touches on today's issues without being overly political. I think this is one of the best series ever. I rarely ever make it a point to watch TV, and this has been the Finally a scifi show that doesn't rely on expensive special effects, techno doublespeek, and fancy costumes. The characters have been very well developed. The story, while fanciful, deals with human issues, and touches on today's issues without being overly political. I think this is one of the best series ever. I rarely ever make it a point to watch TV, and this has been the exception. Keep up the great work guys. Expand
  28. BrandonS
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    Currently, this is without a doubt the best, smartest, most creative show on tv. I feel like I waited forever for the season premiere, and it totally came through. This is going to be an incredible season.
  29. TimW
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    The best show on television. Smart plot twists, fabulous acting and stunning visuals keep you hooked!
  30. ToddB
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    This is as good as television gets. This show is relevant on so many levels that it is hard to find someone who can't identify with it. It strikes a cord in us on a primal level by dealing with such issues as the love for our children, love for each other, the very survival of our species and how to go about ensuring that survival. Combine this with first class acting, writing, This is as good as television gets. This show is relevant on so many levels that it is hard to find someone who can't identify with it. It strikes a cord in us on a primal level by dealing with such issues as the love for our children, love for each other, the very survival of our species and how to go about ensuring that survival. Combine this with first class acting, writing, directing and special effects and you got one of the best shows ever made. Period. Expand
  31. hohum
    Oct 9, 2006
    1
    I am a sci-fi fan and I have tried to get into this show. I just cannot keep from falling asleep when I watch this. If I want drama I will tivo soaps. As far as a sci-fi fix I will continue looking.
  32. JulioM
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    my favority show on tv right now. shold be the standard for any series to follow. you can tell that everyone in this show loves what they are doing, the show and fans. with every episode the series gets better and better.
  33. MichaelB
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    An extremely interesting take on what would happen if machines fought back against humans and later grew a conscience, followed a religion, and could experience extremely human emotions. This series explores most -if not all- of the aspects of this situation, leaving out the complicated, scientific aspect of space travel and focusing more on the human aspect of these circumstances. An extremely interesting take on what would happen if machines fought back against humans and later grew a conscience, followed a religion, and could experience extremely human emotions. This series explores most -if not all- of the aspects of this situation, leaving out the complicated, scientific aspect of space travel and focusing more on the human aspect of these circumstances. Overall, season 3 is the best yet! Expand
  34. paulh
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    The best scifi show ever created.
  35. IssaK
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Frankly one the best episodes of the show I've ever seen and there's been many many good episodes... Uneasy and very much darker than most plotlines in movies or TV shows, these episodes are a can't miss
  36. m
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    One of the only shows worth watching on television!
  37. JeffW
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    I just decided on a whim to start watching this show after reading so much of the critical acclaim. I blew through the first two seasons in less than two weeks and am finally watching the gripping third season. Amazing. This is genre transcending and finally fills the hole for socially relevant television that hasn't been filled since MASH. Amazing acting, amazing writing the I just decided on a whim to start watching this show after reading so much of the critical acclaim. I blew through the first two seasons in less than two weeks and am finally watching the gripping third season. Amazing. This is genre transcending and finally fills the hole for socially relevant television that hasn't been filled since MASH. Amazing acting, amazing writing the producers have gotten unbelievable value out of a cable budget. Expand
  38. Elpresidenti
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    great series so far, lets just hope that they dont ruin things by straying from the sci-fi settings and trying to cater for an audience that its not ment for, if they do try and cater for the general viewing public then you can be sure that the show wil go downhill quickly.the only reason its worked so far is because they have kept to a formuler of the first season, but i expect season 3 great series so far, lets just hope that they dont ruin things by straying from the sci-fi settings and trying to cater for an audience that its not ment for, if they do try and cater for the general viewing public then you can be sure that the show wil go downhill quickly.the only reason its worked so far is because they have kept to a formuler of the first season, but i expect season 3 may be a bit to political and start vering from what we know, lets hope baltar joins the cylons and and trys to destroy the rest of the human race. Expand
  39. JorgeM
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    The best show on TV right now. I didn't get into this show until I was living abroad and downloaded the entire first two seasons from itunes. Now I am hooked.
  40. RodB
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    SImply the best show on television and one of the best sci-fi shows in television history.
  41. Nick
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Simply put: Fantastic.
  42. TomasD
    Oct 30, 2006
    7
    This Reevisioned Series Shoots holes all over the original.
  43. JohnL
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    I stopped watching TV shows 10 years ago, and found BSG on iTunes. It is the only television show I watch. Fantastic story telling.
  44. StarbuckApollo
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    For anyone willing to look past the title this show is the best Drama on television.
  45. rg
    Oct 5, 2006
    8
    Good show. Easily the THIRD best drama on TV after LOST and Rescue Me. You kidding yourself (or simply don't watch those shows) if you think otherwise.
  46. CharpleslyBoogypoogy
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    TV's hidden gem
  47. jd
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    best fraking show on TV, Just Watch It!!!
  48. RickB
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Absofrackin' lootly fantastic...the vest show on TV, full stop.
  49. andrewc
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Historic entertainment. Completely engrossing story and characters.
  50. Nellus
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Simply an outstanding series. For anyone who hasn't seen it, you really are missing out. You don't need to be a Sci-fi fan to enjoy it, its so well writen, acted, produced it stands head and shoulders above anything else (yes, even Lost) If they can keep it as good as it is and has been, then i'll be watching for years to come.
  51. CaseyP
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    Riveting. Intense drama. Sometimes hard to watch because of that. Best show on television, perhaps one of the best dramas on television ever.
  52. PonR
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    This series continues to succeed and excel where other sci-fi ventures ultimately failed. Accept no substitute.
  53. tylert
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    gattlebar salactica- geally rood!
  54. GGnosis
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Just when you think they can't top the previous season, Battlestar is taken in a new and presently relevant direction. The writing and vision can't get any better. If you haven't seen this show yet, now's the time to get onboard. Its gonna be a helluva ride.
  55. BillE
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Battlestar Galactica takes risks in character and themes that other shows only dream, and it does it with class! My only dissapointment is that people willl pass it off as spaceships and sci-fi. Too bad for them!
  56. SDJames
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    One of the best dramas on TV now and in the past. Unbeliveably sharp acting, writing and production. Don't be turned off by the SCI-FI genre - that's so interwoven, you'll hardly notice it ! Kudos to Sci-Fi and NBC for this production.
  57. HalP
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    I dowloaded BG a few weeks ago on my Ipod during a 3-week business trip to England. All I can say is WOW! This is the best series of television ever produced. Why it hasn't won multiple Emmy awards baffles the imagination. Shame on Hollywood.
  58. LeeAdama
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Best. Show. Ever.
  59. MingOnMongo
    Mar 3, 2007
    2
    Sorry, but the new Battlestar Galactica series just seems way too overwrought and tedious to me. Sort of like watching Edward James Olmos doing "Days of Our Lives - in Outer Space". Or maybe like the 'soaps', the over-acting is the whole attraction. But hey, it's just TV and if it floats your boat, fine. What I'm curious about is why this series seems to attract the Sorry, but the new Battlestar Galactica series just seems way too overwrought and tedious to me. Sort of like watching Edward James Olmos doing "Days of Our Lives - in Outer Space". Or maybe like the 'soaps', the over-acting is the whole attraction. But hey, it's just TV and if it floats your boat, fine. What I'm curious about is why this series seems to attract the kind of fans who have such a spooky, almost religious fervor, and seem especially touchy about any kind of criticism from "unbelievers"? Or perhaps it's simply what happens when you watch too much over-dramatized, forced paranoia every week. Expand
  60. dusan
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    spectacular
  61. DavidP
    Apr 5, 2007
    7
    Might be just under a 7 for this season. First half was great but the second half? Not only was there a huge momentum loss (the lass 2 seasons also have a slight 'pause' after the halfway mark) but it went on for more than 8 episodes... It might be showing the LOST syndrome of a going off in more tangents even though you're there are dozens of unfinished threads Given they Might be just under a 7 for this season. First half was great but the second half? Not only was there a huge momentum loss (the lass 2 seasons also have a slight 'pause' after the halfway mark) but it went on for more than 8 episodes... It might be showing the LOST syndrome of a going off in more tangents even though you're there are dozens of unfinished threads Given they are perhaps trying to flesh characters out a little more....but why spend so much time on some on a couple of characters only to end up where we begun (plus writing in previous were good enough that we GET the character relationships). After delivering a corker of a couple episodes about the eye of jupiter and the standoff did they go STRAIGHT to character backstories....for 8+ episodes!?!? did some of the main writers quit or went on an extended break1? Expand
  62. DavidE.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Finally a science fiction show that doesn't know it's a science fiction show. We are not lead around by the hand on technology and do not have to suffer though lots of expository dialogue. Very well written. This is probably the last TV series revival I would have suspected. The original series tried too hard to be
  63. Brian
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This is the best thing I've ever seen on TV or the big screen. It covers the entire scope of history, as well as the future (because history always repeats itself).
  64. RobC
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    OMG. Flat bloody awesome.
  65. JasonT
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    One of the best episodes the series has ever had. i give it a 9.5 out of 10. So much has happened to our beloved characters, anyone who doesn't enjoy this gem of a show obviously has no taste. With an average of 9.5/10.0 with users AND critics, you can't say no to BattleStar Galactica!
  66. andrewb
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    Battlestar is fine television because it works on two levels. As a Drama the acting and stories are moving to the point of drowning out the fantastic setting, which is in itself an achievment. As science fiction it does not allow us to escape our everyday life, but forces us to look inward at what it means to be human in the wake of tremendous tragedy and responsibility.
  67. BrunnhildeV
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Phenomenally powerful and gutsy show that is less about scifi and more about people, relationships and hugely compelling stories.
  68. MichaelL
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    BSG just keeps getting better and better.
  69. JimS
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Simply the best show on television, no matter if you are a SciFi fan or not. It's biggest burden might easily be its name.
  70. RyanH
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Hands down, the BEST show on television!
  71. Mr.Stewart
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    This show stands above all others with its superbly made stories that are relevant to the nature of our world today. Too many other programs are busy following formulas while this one is setting the mark which others shoot for.
  72. ColinW
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    I'd love to give this a lower score, die-hard cynic that I am, but... well, it's just so damnably good. The best TV show in decades, genre or not.
  73. LB
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Few shows are gifted with the fine writers that create a powerful television series such as BSG. The episode "Unfinished Business" was beyond brilliant; melding an emotionally charged and brutally revealing back story via a shipboard boxing match taking place between rivals and crew was something to watch. Outstanding!
  74. clump
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Almost unbelievably good, in all possible ways!
  75. CyrilR
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    Great show but Episode 9 of third season is a mess ! some stupid romantic flash back patchwork. get the frak up and send the real show !
  76. LanceC
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    My favorite show..... sexy, scary, intriguing, nail-biting. Sometimes I am blown away about how good this show is. All the critics make a big deal out of the human drama of it all, which is great, but I think other elements are also great. The whole look of the show is great, including the special effects. The critics also try to play down the sci-fi aspects, but this IS defintely sci-fi, My favorite show..... sexy, scary, intriguing, nail-biting. Sometimes I am blown away about how good this show is. All the critics make a big deal out of the human drama of it all, which is great, but I think other elements are also great. The whole look of the show is great, including the special effects. The critics also try to play down the sci-fi aspects, but this IS defintely sci-fi, just of a quality that people dont expect from the genre. I dont think this show transcends its genre as much as it asks it genre to try to keep up. Expand
  77. CorenD
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Fantastic.
  78. JimG
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    This is a top notch show. The directing, writing, acting and effects are all superior to anything still playing on TV today. If you still remember the campy old version from the '70s...you won't after you watch the first episode. I highly recommend buying the first two seasons on Itunes and watching them before starting season 3. It will blow you away!
  79. ValM
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Great show - always intelligent plots, interesting characterisations, intense action and thought provoking drama. Should stand proud along side other wonderful dramas like The Sopranos.
  80. DareT
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Absolutely astounding! I'm not a sci-fi fan but this is the most amazing series that I have ever had the privaledge of watching.
  81. GaborA
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    The two our season opener blew away my expectations. Its good to see the show has only gotten stronger.
  82. HollyR
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Best show on TV! I love it! Especially Tricia Helfer! She ROCKS!
  83. Sighlawn
    Oct 9, 2006
    9
    Creepy, honest, and hitting at today and tomorrow's most likely conflicts. My one complaint is that the show's story is almost too "modern". I don't want to rehash what I saw on the news and see it being lifted and then mixed straight into a sci-fi story. I don't need words like "insurgents" or "infidels" to get the point. Nor do I want to keep getting beat with that Creepy, honest, and hitting at today and tomorrow's most likely conflicts. My one complaint is that the show's story is almost too "modern". I don't want to rehash what I saw on the news and see it being lifted and then mixed straight into a sci-fi story. I don't need words like "insurgents" or "infidels" to get the point. Nor do I want to keep getting beat with that analogy. The writers need to be careful to not turn BSG into purely Islam vs. the West copy. Otherwise the acting is amazing and really is on par or better than what CSI or even Lost has done. Kudos to the cast and directors. Stockwell is so quirky nice-guy bad that it's hard to hate him. The depressing part right now is that there is little heroism in this show to inspire you, everyone has got their back against the wall. But it is also what makes the show so watchable to see if anyone can rise up to make a difference. Expand
  84. TonyA
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Best TV Show ever, Sci-fi with action/drama touches on issues without over-doing it, much like Star Trek series' but on more serious note. Shows TV show doesn't have to be full of Big name actors to have good acting.
  85. GeoffC
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    same thing they said great show. I want starbuck to hurt me...yeah...yeah...id like that
  86. joris
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Amazing, superb acting and directing... this and Lost are one of the most innovative and exciting shows to air on screen ever... makes tv a worthwile medium again... you don't have to be a Scifi fan to love this, it stands on its own
  87. AllenB.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I'm easily one of the most uninterested people in science fiction shows and movies you're bound to run across; the same guy you know who pokes fun at those goons whose photos appear on the Internet wearing prostetic masks at those silly sci-fi conventions. However, having written that: Battlestar Galactica has me enthralled to the point where I can hardly think of anything else. I'm easily one of the most uninterested people in science fiction shows and movies you're bound to run across; the same guy you know who pokes fun at those goons whose photos appear on the Internet wearing prostetic masks at those silly sci-fi conventions. However, having written that: Battlestar Galactica has me enthralled to the point where I can hardly think of anything else. During the day, I lke to play the trailer from the show on my laptop over and over again to get motived to put in a good effort at work. And guess what? I'm making new converts. My girlfriend is crazy about the show. This, after I practically had to wrestle her sceptical-as-I-once-was butt down to witness a show that I consider the best thing I've watched on TV in the last maybe ten years, a show that transcends its genre in so many ways. By the way, I still hate sci-fi, but not Battlestar Galactica. Expand
  88. DaveC.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    A truly great show. The best part of this show are the characters, who are as real as any ever seen on TV. There are no clear good guy or bad guys, just humans - even the cylons are as human as the rest of us (what, you say? watch the show and you will understand). Acting is solid, writers are extremely versatile, and the plots are gripping. The only less than positive thing I can say is A truly great show. The best part of this show are the characters, who are as real as any ever seen on TV. There are no clear good guy or bad guys, just humans - even the cylons are as human as the rest of us (what, you say? watch the show and you will understand). Acting is solid, writers are extremely versatile, and the plots are gripping. The only less than positive thing I can say is that the storylines frequently have holes in them (um, how exactly did they just get away from those cylon base-ships???), but hey, this IS fantasy, and given how good the rest of the show is, it is totally forgivable. A friend suggested this to me. I am a sci-fi fan and watched the original series some when I was younger, so I figured it would be entertaining, but this show blew away my expectations. Expand
  89. JJHizzle
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    The darkest, most intelligent show on television refuses to drop the ball. Keep em comin, SciFi, this show is Golden.
  90. ChrisM
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    "Or perhaps it's simply what happens when you watch too much over-dramatized, forced paranoia every week." Or when some a-hole comes here and trolls for a reaction because he has nothing better to do!
  91. AlexO
    May 10, 2007
    10
    It is without question the best show on television.
  92. AaronF.
    May 28, 2007
    9
    One of the best shows on television. It's true that the second half of season 3 saw a loss in the plot's momentum, but events set into motion in the finale should provide sufficient excitement for impending season 4.
  93. bsgfans.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    i heard about this show a few months ago....i laughed until i saw it.......best show ever (watched all three seasons plus miniseries in a week)....great acting, music, and story....i cant fathom how anyone is not watching this show.....i cant wait till season 4!!!!!!!!!!!!
  94. AdamR
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This is likely one of the best series of the past decade. If the point of art is to illuminate the human condition, this show does it excellently. While the 3rd season lulled just a bit, many series (Lost in particular) had large dropoffs, and the fact the BSG decided to end after just 4 seasons is brave and groundbreaking. I have every faith in Ron Moore and David Eick to go out on a This is likely one of the best series of the past decade. If the point of art is to illuminate the human condition, this show does it excellently. While the 3rd season lulled just a bit, many series (Lost in particular) had large dropoffs, and the fact the BSG decided to end after just 4 seasons is brave and groundbreaking. I have every faith in Ron Moore and David Eick to go out on a high and exciting note in season 4. Expand
  95. BrendanD
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Three years, and there's still not a better program on television. I admit, I was like many at first, ready to dismiss the Season 3.5 finale as overwrought, nonsensical bull-crap. I was also beginning to think that Ron Moore, the man behind not only Battlestar, but also Deep Space Nine (my favorite show of all time), had lost his marbles, finally giving in to the soap operatics that Three years, and there's still not a better program on television. I admit, I was like many at first, ready to dismiss the Season 3.5 finale as overwrought, nonsensical bull-crap. I was also beginning to think that Ron Moore, the man behind not only Battlestar, but also Deep Space Nine (my favorite show of all time), had lost his marbles, finally giving in to the soap operatics that so often have come to the not-quite-foreground in his previous outings. And then it hit me: Battlestar is SUPPOSED to be a soap opera. Not only did that make the 3.5 finale better; it cast it in an entirely different light, and it made me re-evaluate everything I'd previously thought about the show. Be warned: Many who have never really been fans might be irritated as hell with how the story progresses. But if you're a fan of long-form serials, political discussions, religious ramifications, or any of the myriad of SIM games (The Sims, SimCity, SimLife, etc.), and you crave something to follow, characters to bring into your homes once a week for the next year or so, this'll be right up your alley. Expand
  96. LeeAdama
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Best. Show. Ever.
  97. Todd
    Jan 21, 2008
    9
    BSG is amazing, no doubt. Even better then Firefly. It tackles very sensitive social issues, but also is an amazingly entertaining show. BSG was my favorite show of all time, which brings me to the reason why I only blessed it with a 9 out of 10; THE WIRE, the only show that deserves a perfect 10. If you are smart enough to love BSG then do yourself a favor and watch The Wire, you won
  98. Adamj
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best ever series, by far, politically, emotionally driven. I cant think of any tv show never mind Sci-fi that compares................
  99. DW
    Dec 8, 2009
    4
    I really wanted to like this. I really, really did. Even now I know I should give this a 2... but I can't quite.... Realism. Gritty. Believable. Sci-fi (but grown up). Hardcore. Deep. Sophisticated. Not for the faint hearted. This is all that Battlestar Galactica purported to be. Instead, in practice it more resembles Star Trek (albeit with worse lighting and cameras). Oh, it is even I really wanted to like this. I really, really did. Even now I know I should give this a 2... but I can't quite.... Realism. Gritty. Believable. Sci-fi (but grown up). Hardcore. Deep. Sophisticated. Not for the faint hearted. This is all that Battlestar Galactica purported to be. Instead, in practice it more resembles Star Trek (albeit with worse lighting and cameras). Oh, it is even like Star Trek insofar that it throws in a whole load of empty moralisation. Battlestar Galactica. I wish you were good - but all the wishing in the world cannot stop you being fracking rubbish. Expand
  100. TS
    Apr 24, 2009
    10
    Not absolutely flawless. I admit the conceit of having Tricia Helfer inside Baltar's head blah-blahing on a regular basis gets a bit tiresome, and it has the occasional episode that feels like filler. But who cares? These are puny quibbles, given that overall it's easily one of the three best TV dramas of all time, period. And Season 3's "Unfinished Business" is one of the Not absolutely flawless. I admit the conceit of having Tricia Helfer inside Baltar's head blah-blahing on a regular basis gets a bit tiresome, and it has the occasional episode that feels like filler. But who cares? These are puny quibbles, given that overall it's easily one of the three best TV dramas of all time, period. And Season 3's "Unfinished Business" is one of the best TV EPISODES of all time, period. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    Any show that can accommodate decadent cruelty, tragic bravery, and political divisiveness is one you ought to be watching, frakkin' spaceships or not.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    100
    One of TV’s boldest and best dramas.
  3. 90
    [The] third season... provides a[n] unpredictable, fascinating take on events dominating real-world headlines.