• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 8, 2003
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 278

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2013
    9
    With a full twenty episode order Season 2 of Battlestar Galactica is where the writers really began to expand upon the shows mythology as we learnt more about the Cylons as well as the wider universe in which the show is set. All the while the series was able to retain a sense of realism, dealing with controversial issues ranging from terrorism to religion in a thought provoking manner as only the very best sci-fi shows are able to.

    Aside from a couple of slightly dull episodes this was every bit as good as the first season with truly game changing events taking place throughout that affected all the characters from that point onwards. This is a must buy whether you are a sci-fi fan or not.
    Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    The television show of a generation! Don't try to compare this to the original series. Doing so would only rob you of the treasures to be found with the revamped series. Quality acting and a story that only gets better and better as the series develops. The only time you'll be disappointed is when you've watched the last episode and realise there's no more.
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I have watched the entire series. I am amazed at the effects and the complicated plot to this story. To me this series seems like a triumph and tragedy, because they have lost the world they know as Caprica. But they find a more prosperous world to live on. During the series most of the episodes are how the colonials survive against a rebellious race they created by the name of Cylons, and as they search for a new home which for some to be the Earth. But the best part of this series was the ending. If you have seen every episode the ending to me is sad, yet truly perfect to me because they had found a new home, multiple people are living happily, but several loved ones die which is sad but in a beautiful way. Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    A truly great work of art isn't afraid to change gears, and that is what this season brings. Everything that makes BSG a great show is back in full in season 3, but with a time jump and location change that makes you gasp at the courage of the writers. Also, I have not mentioned it in other seasons, but since another reviewer complained about it: one of my favorite things about this show is the portrayal of women. I would be hard pressed to find a show that does not have a romantic focus that has so many women in leading roles, who make major decisions and do not exist as sexually extrapolated stereotypes (The Sci-Fi three: Geek, Dominatrix, Slut). Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Battlestar Galactica, in my opinion, is a TV masterpiece. Generally I don't care for sci-fi, it is not a genre that interests me. With that said, BSG is so much more. The storyline, the acting, the characters and character development, the cliff-hangers and suspense...it
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Battlestar Galactica, the science fiction show with none of the cheesy and overdone science fiction clichés. If this sounds great that's because it is. Battlestar Galactica is able to deliver an excellent story line wrapped in great acting. The action scenes and the graphics are well done and the plot will deliver unexpected twists.
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Battlestar Galactica is a beautifully mastered show, well -balanced, intellectually stimulating, an most of all provocative. It's one of those shows you need to watch the 1st season to get hooked on but, in the end its absolutely worth it. It ended the way it should have and it wasn't dragged on longer than it should have. This show has it all relationships, drama, action, hope, religion, meaning of life kind of things! Deeply thought provoking I only wish my closest friends an family spent the time I did watching the show to have others to elaborate on the ideas it provided well past it's time. The shows mysteries and subliminal messaging through dreams on both sides Human and Cylon created a confusion through the entire show in regards to the nature of another force at work. For those of you with a foot halfway in the door to religion or science this is the perfect show for you. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    Any show that can accommodate decadent cruelty, tragic bravery, and political divisiveness is one you ought to be watching, frakkin' spaceships or not.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    100
    One of TV’s boldest and best dramas.
  3. 90
    [The] third season... provides a[n] unpredictable, fascinating take on events dominating real-world headlines.