• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 8, 2003
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 202

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    Let me start off by saying all in all Battlestar Galactica deserves a 10 as a series. It has everything you could ask for and then some. And only reason I rate season 1 as an eight is because Season 2 and Season 3 are somehow better and the scale doesn't go above 10 so season 1 gets an eight by default. Always on the edge of your seat, always trying to understand all the web of lies and hidden agendas, never knowing who is going to pull a gun on who. Season 1 opens with a powerful story and a powerful cast of characters with the top tier in my opinion being Commander Adama ( Edward James Olmos), Laura Roslin(Mary McDonnell), and Gaius Baltar (James Callis), as far as acting is concerned. You would think if it was the end of the world that everyone would pull together to defeat the enemy but instead season one ends with the president in the brig and the commander shot in the chest. But the journey it takes to get to that point is one of morals, ethics, and what certain characters determine are right in their minds. What I applaud about this show in general and season one is that you see both sides of the coin in every situation and problem that comes from the characters. One minute you are agreeing with one character and the next you think they are a bastard. It is good television that in this day and age has been replaced by shows with weak plots, weak characters, or just plain trash tv. Watch Battlestar Galactica. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    I can't go to 10 on this one for 2 reasons: Starbuck and the President. The Starbuck character is way, way over the top. Every time she's in a scene I'm either rolling my eyes or cringing. The President isn't bad but it seems like she's always on the verge of tears, even if it's not an emotional exchange. Someone get Madame President a hanky for gods's sake. As for the good points of the show, feel free to read all the gushers who've previously posted, subtract the zealotry and you'll approach the truth about this show. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    The best modern sci-fi tv series. There is great action and surprisingly good special-effects in BSG and it all comes together to create an amazingly enjoyable experience.
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    3
    The series, while starting good, quickly fell into a soap opera. It was like Voyager, but without the happiness or even rhythm. It just becomes tedious.
  5. May 25, 2013
    8
    From the get go it is easy to ignore the fact that this show shares its name with the low-budget 70's original as that is pretty much all the two have in common.

    In this retelling man created the Cylons, a group of cybernetic organisms that eventually became too smart and rebelled. Following a destructive War the Cylons vanished and haven't been seen for fourty years. Suddenly, and
    without warning, the Cylons return and launch a devastating attack on the twelve human colonies. The only thing left standing in the way of the extinction of the human race is the ageing Battlestar Galactica and its experienced commander William Adama. Most sci-fi fans will have likely heard plenty of praise for the remake and, while not as interesting as the first full season; this three hour mini-series/movie does an excellent job of setting up the premise of the show for the episodes that followed. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    An all time great sci-fi show-It's a must see for any sci-fi fan. Loved the music of this show so much! It goes perfectly along with the plot and stays in your mind for days..
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    trully the best show i have ever seen. The characters, the story, soundtrack are perfect. Animations are well done for the time this was filmed. Really a must see for anyone who likes Sci-fi theme.
  8. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    What started off as a cohesive story quickly turned into the villain-of-the-week format. That was weak and disappointing. Fortunately, the show got its act together towards the end. The series of events leading up to the last moment of the finale were absolutely enthralling. Never have I been shocked out of my comfort zone like that. As the mini-series felt like a part of this season, I included it in my score, which turned an 8 into 10. Expand
  9. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    There is a large cult following behind this show and I am proud to be a part of it. In fact, I would consider this series to be one of my favorite television shows in existence.

    Whenever a series develops such devotion, there is always a reason for it. Battlestar Galactica is often overlooked as being another
  10. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    I am soo glad that I've found a show that takes a hold of my imagination and moves it to places I didn't expect to go. I started watching the first season of this show. It's been almost ten years since it has come out and I am still captivated. I can't wait to run through each episode like candy. The story, the characters, and the setting are what grab you, and allows the show to transcend that geeky mold that tends to repel. I wouldn't say that I am a Sci-Fi enthusiast, however, I still like to indulge my nerd side every once in a while. This show definitely helps me with that. IT IS SO GOOD! Expand
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    For viewers who liked Blade Runner and that world, this series will appeal. Again, nothing about the visual effect is neat and tidy. It is gritty reality. For SF people, this takes you beyond the childish Star Wars fantasy space operas into something with real-world commentary and relevance (as good writing and good SF should).

    The menace is palpable, and the Cylon agenda better thought
    through than in the Terminator series. The search the meaning of life speaks to us all: the Cylons seek truth in a god, while the humans simply want to survive. What a commentary on the modern world!

    Series fell apart a bit with the trying to sort out the gaps in the filming (and we can blame the studio for that). Hence the score of 8 and not 10.

    Superbly revisioning of the original, which felt too much like Ponderosa in Space.

    Recently rewatched the final few episodes and there is room for more story here.
    Expand
  12. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This is maybe the best television show ever written - except for the last two episodes. But for this first season, you will be treated to amazing effects, incredible actors playing believable characters, twisty plots with just the right amount of exposition, and more. Mini plots in the overarching story range from space action, mystery, politics, suspense, and religion. You will never want to stop watching. Expand
  13. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The re-imaged Battlestar Galactica is brilliant. After watching the original series as a kid (which I barely remember) I was excited to learn of this remake. This remake is very dark compared to the original and also to other space sci-fi shows, it even makes shows like all of the Star Trek series look like a "walk in the park". The special effects are great, the human characters are all very believable. The show is very dramatic, you never know who is going to die next, who is going to betray someone next. There are some really messed up things that happen along the way too. If you like dark movies/shows or sci-fi or drama I recommend you watch this series. Expand
  14. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible show. Amazing settings, amazing special effects, so many great characters, excellent action scenes, some great comic relief, and it doesn't let up for at least 2 seasons. Then you get a few more excellent seasons with some minor flaws. Covers pretty much all elements of human nature, from basic instincts up to politics. I had a couple of gripes with it over the course of the entire show. Kara Thrace's acting wasn't up to scratch. More importantly there was religious mumbo jumbo which was fine with me for most of the series, but when it became definitive in the storyline that there was a higher power at work it bothered me. There are ways to promote tolerance and provide multiple views of a scenario without ramming one single philosophy down anyone's throat. Worse, making that central to the final resolution of the conflict between humans and cylons really irked me. I would have been totally fine with it if Gaius Baltar was not converted. His objectivity when it came to allegiances and choices made him my favourite character, and instead of going straight from atheism to his new belief I think it would have fit him better to become agnostic. Having said that he was still the hero of the show for me. When he said he knew about farming in the final episode a tear came to my eye (no homo). I think what was crucial about this show was that there were quite a few characters that could be your hero, depending on how you look at the world. Both the Adamas, Colonel Tigh, Laura Roslin, Baltar, they all made choices that conflicted with each other but each one had good intentions and their approaches remained consistent through the series. So everyone should have someone to root for. Despite the flaws I have to give this a 10 because the show is incredibly rich and I genuinely can't think of a better TV series. Expand
  15. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    Season 1 was great and gets a 10.. Seasons 3-4 sucked so bad I would barely give it a 2. No character development of the enemy. People don't know who they really are. Twists are wild but after seasons 3 we begin to cheer when they finally die so we don't have to listen to them whine anymore. I think the writers should have been fired for not being able to sqeeze one tiny ounce of humor in the series. When the show began we all felt that the sexy cylon had a sadistic sense of humor - then poof. Nothing. Expand
  16. May 29, 2012
    10
    It's a pity that one of the best and awesome TV show is as unknow as this. I mean, because it's SCIFI, a majority just think that there will be some evils aliens and badass against them, but BSG is faaaaaar away from these clichés. To me, this is one of the best show that you must see before dying.
  17. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Good, interesting, fast-paced sci-fi show, perfect for anyone who loves deep space battles. Although first episodes were a little dull in my opinion (after a dismal pilot, which made me put aside this series until I played the board game it inspired), when I sat in front of the TV for episode 3 I stood up only when the series ended. The more you watch it, the more you want to see next episodes. A must-see for anyone who played Master of Orion, Wing Commander and Freespace video games! Expand
  18. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    This is one of those things that has an AWESOME score, for no other reason than that it's a niche products, and only the sci-fi geeks who watch it review it. I happen to like well-made sci-fi, but I'm not a Trekkie by far, and my review represents the opinion of someone "outside the sci-fi cultist sphere", so to speak. I do own this series on DVD. I've even watched through it all, bonus movies included. But at the end of the day I didn't really like it. It was actually depressing to watch at times! The "good" thing about this show is supposedly that it shows "real and believable characters", that it "examines humanity", as the reviewer below me puts it. I guess I just don't like humanity then... Battlestar Galactica is populated by a bunch of characters with no moral compass whatsoever. They're mostly backstabbing each other and sleeping around. I didn't LIKE any of them! And when you don't LIKE the characters, you don't really care when they die. Which sometimes happens here by the way. Not the main characters of course, but some relatively well-developed secondary characters. Don't take me wrong - there ARE many good things to say about this show! It's very competently written and made. It's just that I can't rate something that depresses me to watch higher than this. Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    One of the best science fiction shows that I have ever seen. Excellent character building, a good amount of mystery, no pointless techno-babble. All in all an excellent show.
  20. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This show is truly amazing just watch it. That is all
  21. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    By FAR.. the best SCIFI show there ever was.. it touches so many topics.. and most importantly it is very anti-shiny.. very believable.. and touches the heart in many occasions
  22. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite TV shows ever. I am currently obsessed with it. A must see for any sci-fi fan. Unfortunately, I don't think too many non-sci-fi fans would watch enough episodes to get hooked. Aside from the great characters and action, the way this show examines humanity, religion and existence adds a layer of depth to the story unlike any other tv show. Thank you for all those who helped make this show! Collapse
  23. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    Battlestar Galactica is the TV equivalent of going from Super Nintendo to N64. The great visual effects dispel the ugly and often story-breaking retro effects plaguing many sci-fi shows. Combined with top-notch storytelling, great acting, imaginative technology, and a philosophical backdrop and you got a wonderful show that will keep you watching till the finale.
    That is not to say this
    show is without flaws. The complex characters sometimes revert to two-dimensional tendencies, which makes it frustrating for attentive viewers. But the highs outnumber the lows, and you will keep coming back. Available on Netflix, sci-fi fans have no excuse to pass this up. Expand
  24. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    A mostly brilliant show that manages to take it's cheesy sci-fi premise and wisely chooses to instead focus on intense and powerful storytelling and character development. The first season starts strong and gets better from there. The various characters are all memorable and relatable and the action is gritty and top notch. The way the characters are fleshed out and grow over the four seasons is truly enjoyable to experience. In fact, the only flaw this show may have is that it might be too ambitious for it's own good, as the last story arc of the series left me with a ever so slight feeling of disappointment. That being said, the journey is surely worth getting there, as you will be treated to a phenomenal cast, great story arcs, smart writing, and a series that manages to almost perfect the balance between it's characters and the events they experience. It will easily go down as one of the best shows of all time. Expand
  25. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best sci-fi shows in years. The effects were done great. And I loved how the show had a quite dark and dystopian atmosphere I really hated the religious elements though, this was quite annoying from the beginning to the end.
  26. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The best science fiction show to appear on television. What can I say that hasn't already been said? The series is epic and personal at the same time, grounded in reality but also mythic in scope. BSG follows the survivors of a nuclear attack by 'cybernetic life-form nodes' or 'Cylons', on the 12 Colonies of Man. The civilization is decimated and every of the Colonial's massive space ships, called Battlestars, are destroyed. All except one. The Battlestar Galactica rallies the surviving colonials and they form a fleet with the mission of finding the mythical planet of Earth. The series follows the crew of the Galactica and the newly formed government. The fleet is constantly hounded by the Cylons who wish to finish what they started. I could go on and on about what the series is about, but I'll leave you with this. Even if you hate science fiction, you should still watch this show. It's that damn good. 10/10. I doubt television will find something this good again for a long time. Expand
  27. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I've never been into Star Trek and really never bothered. I've loved Stargate: SG-1 and I loved Babylon 5. But damn, Battlestar Galactica is a friggin' 10 out of 10 Sci-Fi show!
  28. May 27, 2011
    10
    Best written, acted, directed and scored show ever on television. I'm not going to review each season, because, well I got bounties to collect, son. But let me put it this way, I'd trade all the credits I made selling Han Solo in carbonite AND my nude hologram of princess Leia stripping off her metal bikini for the complete series of this show.
  29. ALF
    Apr 3, 2011
    10
    All four seasons were brilliant although sad that we had to wait for the second part of Season 4. The whole production was so well done and I cannot fault it. The more realistic ships and weapons compared to the lazers in the old version was an absolute plus. The cast were excellent and the story line kept me guessing until the last episode of Season 4. The music be Bear McCreary was awesome and the way it complimented the show was memorable. I have all this wonderful series on DVD and would recommend it to anyone, skills required, the ability to follow a running story. Expand
  30. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This must be one of the best Sci-fi show i have seen in years, i was slow to warm up to it, but was soon hooked. great acting, great visuals and a compelling storyline make this a must-see although im sure you do not need me to tell you that!
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    75
    A well-crafted, surprisingly intelligent update of ABC's late-'70s Star Wars clone.