• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 11, 2012
    20
    A hilariously bad remake of the original, substituting the amazingly gorgeous Kristin Kreuk and Jay Ryan in the title roles, which is how The CW rolls.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 11, 2012
    0
    Beauty and the Beast is, alas, also woefully crafted on every level.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The original Beast was a beauty. This one's a bust.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 11, 2012
    37
    [Kreuk and Ryan are] terrible, but the material may have left them with no other option. Luckily, in this world of 1,000 channels, you have plenty of other options.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Loosely based on the 1987-89 series, it's a silly, flat piece of work that is all about posing longingly in the face of impossible love.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2012
    20
    The CW's Beauty is laughably bad in myriad ways. There's no sense of star-crossed lovers, just a plasticized romance between a Cover Girl and a glum, anger-prone male model.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 10, 2012
    33
    Absent a compelling core romance, and absent a passably beast-like beast, you're left with a sodden police procedural.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 10, 2012
    0
    [An] overheated, badly written, wretchedly acted and unconvincing drama, which makes mincemeat out of the traditional beauty and the beast fairy tale.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 9, 2012
    30
    While the paper-thin revival might benefit from the presold title, its approach sidesteps any such dilemma--and as constructed, should be hard-pressed to get under viewers' skin.
  10. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    25
    There's no erotic pull between him (Jay Ryan) and the detective (Kristin Kreuk). [15 Oct 2012, p.49]
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    It is very easy to become dependent on this serial. Critics didn't like it at all, but I'm fond of it. Especially cool is the string of feelings between main characters - chemistry between sexually sad doctor-halk and cop-girl. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    I like this show. It's premis is totally different from the 1980's version of the show starring Ron Perlman & Linda Hamilton. This is a modern day take on Beauty & the Beast. The first 5 episodes were kind of uneven in pacing, storyline & character development. But things are getting interesting now & the mid-season finale was really good in my opinion. Kreuk & Ryan have on-screen chemistry which helps with the storyline. But I wonder what's going to happen between Evan & Catherine? Seems like there may be a love triangle brewing!

    P.S. Still cannot totally buy Kreuk when she does the fight scenes. In terms of body type she looks far too delicate to be able to kick ass. I've never seen a fighter that looks like her & I have practised Aikido & Karate.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    I am loving this show! It was a little slow starting out, but now it is so interesting! I have been watching it on Hulu. I just finished watching the last episode that is one there last night. I cant wait for the show to come back after new years!! Full Review »