• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Beauty and the Beast (2012) Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Kristin Kreuk, Jay Ryan, Max Brown
  • Summary: A remake of the 1987 series, in this version homicide detective Catherine Chandler (Kristin Kreuk) crosses the path of Dr. Vincent Keller (Jay Ryan), who supposedly died in in Afghanistan in 2002 and has been hiding the past 10 years.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
  • Creator: Ron Koslow
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 11, 2012
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    All this setup, and more, happens at the speed of light. But it's all easily understandable and gets us right to the real attraction.
  2. 50
    Beauty and the Beast's pilot is rarely more than competent, sometimes stubbed-toe clumsy. But if it can hang around for a while, devise a style that matches its story, and tap its stars' sincerity, it could become a cult hit: perpetually underrated but loved.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2012
    42
    The true horror here is the utter lack of imagination.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 11, 2012
    37
    [Kreuk and Ryan are] terrible, but the material may have left them with no other option. Luckily, in this world of 1,000 channels, you have plenty of other options.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 11, 2012
    30
    Loosely based on the 1987-89 series, it's a silly, flat piece of work that is all about posing longingly in the face of impossible love.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    25
    There's no erotic pull between him (Jay Ryan) and the detective (Kristin Kreuk). [15 Oct 2012, p.49]
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 10, 2012
    0
    [An] overheated, badly written, wretchedly acted and unconvincing drama, which makes mincemeat out of the traditional beauty and the beast fairy tale.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I was really hesitating before watching because of kristin kreuk but I'm loving it so far. And seriously what's with the critics ?! -_-' Can'tI was really hesitating before watching because of kristin kreuk but I'm loving it so far. And seriously what's with the critics ?! -_-' Can't wait for the next episode Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    It is very easy to become dependent on this serial. Critics didn't like it at all, but I'm fond of it. Especially cool is the string ofIt is very easy to become dependent on this serial. Critics didn't like it at all, but I'm fond of it. Especially cool is the string of feelings between main characters - chemistry between sexually sad doctor-halk and cop-girl. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This series has me absolutely hooked! I rarely ever watch TV and I happened to stumble across the show partway through episode 18 (aired moreThis series has me absolutely hooked! I rarely ever watch TV and I happened to stumble across the show partway through episode 18 (aired more recently in Australia!) and it has consumed my thoughts. I love the complexity of the lead characters and the conflict between the reinterpreted Classical and Renaissance hero statuses in Vincent's character. Kreuk's presentation during fight scenes is especially graphically appealing: sharp and well-choreographed; particularly as I believe she (at least for the most part) does not use a stunt double.The marriage of the police procedural with the elements of illicit romance and science-fiction gives the narrative extra depth. I found the original 'beast' makeup design slightly untenable, but I eagerly anticipate its reinvented look in season 2. I have been searching for an airing date of season 2 in Australia and am on the brink of becoming distraught at the lack of information to be found concerning it. As an indication of my infatuation: in the days leading up to episode 19, I watched the channel on which it airs not for the programs that were currently playing but rather in the hope of catching an ad for the next episode. It is a show that I readily recommend. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I, for one, am an avid fan of this new series. I began the show without expectations, but it quickly reeled me in. Kristin and Jay have soI, for one, am an avid fan of this new series. I began the show without expectations, but it quickly reeled me in. Kristin and Jay have so much on-screen chemistry. But beyond that, I love that Catherine Chandler can hold her own ground. I like shows with strong heroines, and she proves to be just that. Not to mention Jay is great as the beast, filled with his angst and inner turmoil. Collapse
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This tv series is starting to grown on me. After watching episode 1, I didn't want to stop. It's an addictive tv series and i can't wait forThis tv series is starting to grown on me. After watching episode 1, I didn't want to stop. It's an addictive tv series and i can't wait for the next episode! It's a part of my life now. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Yes is very different to the 87 version and yes its cliche but its watchable and as the season goes on the story lines are not bad. I haveYes is very different to the 87 version and yes its cliche but its watchable and as the season goes on the story lines are not bad. I have seen worse on t.v these days. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    1
    Unbelievable! I can't believe I stuck around till episode 3! Not a hater here but it just reminds me of all three things, Law&order wannabe,Unbelievable! I can't believe I stuck around till episode 3! Not a hater here but it just reminds me of all three things, Law&order wannabe, Batman wannabe, Bourne legacy thing going on. Beast is not beastly enough and the tantrums aren't working. Beauty named Det. Chandler great fighting skills but bad detective work always asking someone outside of work for help. Yea, it's a failure show. Chemistry of cast just isn't there. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.