Beavis and Butt-head Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The infamous cartoon duo created/voiced by Mike Judge returns to MTV after a 13-year absence.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    88
    The animated duo have returned, as dumb--and hilarious--as ever. [31 Oct 2011, p.36]
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 27, 2011
    80
    There's still something winning and relevant about their particular blend of cluelessness and surprisingly sharp commentary.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 27, 2011
    75
    It definitely has its moments.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 27, 2011
    67
    Is the show still funny? Sure. But it now seems about as cutting edge and relevant as "Alf" or "Suddenly Susan."
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 26, 2011
    63
    Reality TV has blessed us with so many idiots to laugh at, it's overkill to have a couple of animated jackasses describe what a jackass Snooki is.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 26, 2011
    60
    You either like Beavis and Butt-Head or, if you're like most of the world, you don't. And they don't care. If you do, it will be good news that they are back and better news that they've lost nothing off their fastball.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 26, 2011
    30
    There is--beneath the stale crust of the new Beavis and Butt-head, baked in with the program's existential outlook--a special grimness.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Pretty funny, just like the original, Basically if you didn't watch/ get the old ones then you wont like the new ones, it takes a certain individual to enjoy this cartoon! Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    The Great Cornholio will never get old................................................................................................................
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Beavis and butthead have been gone for a long time but after all these years they are just as funny as they were before. I am so glad beavis and butthead came back. I havent watched mtv in years and its nice to finally see something entertaing on this god forsaken channel. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    Granted I grew up in the 80s and 90s but I couldn't be happier with MTv's best decision in years: bringing back Beavis & Butthead. The writing is just as good as it used to be and I haven't laughed this consistantly at a show in a really long time. Yes, the boys watch some MTv shows like 16 & Pregnant as well as current music videos, but beavis and Butthead make just as much fun of these shows as The Soup does. It certainly doesn't make it seem like Beavis and Butthead enjoy watching these shows. My only real complaint is that Mike Judge seems to do all the male voices. Which is fine but they really start to sound a lot alike. Otherwise, I've only seen one episode so far in this new season that was kind of a stinker. And I can't even remember which one it was. As far as Im concerned, I've been very happy with the return of the show. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    This is one show that definitely needed a comeback. The first few episodes have gotten the show off to a slow start but there's so much they can do with this. Looking forward to more. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Sucks. Has none of the humor and punch of the original. Instead of commenting on music videos B&B sit around and comment on crap shows like Jersey Shore and 16 and Pregnant. Oh boy! Hold me back! Entertainment overload! Why it was even brought back is beyond me. Stop making this garbage, Mike, the hey-day of B&B is OVER. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Animated TV Shows Image
    Published: June 29, 2010
    In theaters this week, "The Last Airbender" is attempting to make a successful jump from TV cartoon to the big screen, something few animated shows have accomplished in the past. We look at five previous success stories, and a handful of the biggest failures.