Being Human (UK) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    The series has a darker edge to it than Twilight (or "Vampire Light" as I like to think of it) and the cast (both permanent and supporting) are fabulous and believable in this twist to the usual dysfunctional family unit/group that we usually see on TV. You feel their pain and terror as they come to terms and live with some terrifying secrets.

    Not every vampire like has to be thin and
    The series has a darker edge to it than Twilight (or "Vampire Light" as I like to think of it) and the cast (both permanent and supporting) are fabulous and believable in this twist to the usual dysfunctional family unit/group that we usually see on TV. You feel their pain and terror as they come to terms and live with some terrifying secrets.

    Not every vampire like has to be thin and pale, and that's what's scary about being human. Just who do you trust when even the police who are "supposed to protect and serve" are themselves Vampires? This isn't friends with fangs, but believable characters that feel real in an unbelievable situation/scenario. Terrific TV
    Expand
  2. BlekharmBloorN
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love everything about it even though I don't get the ghost "physics". They can hug her and see her? If you're tangible and visible are you really still a ghost?
  3. JonB
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best SF/fantasy drama to come out of Britain in the last 20 years (and yes, I'm including Doctor Who in that). One comment mentioned Torchwood as being better but I'm sorry, Torchwood, even CoE, doesn't deserve to be mentioned in the same breath as BH in terms of quality of writing. Sublime.
  4. geekgirl4ever
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    I LOVE this show! I am so relieved that there will be a new season. I found myself not being able to bear the wait until Saturday night for the next episode. The wit and drama is great. I like True Blood, but I don't feel I have to be present for the next episode.. totally DVR it! BH -- I have to see it right away!! BTW Twilight is for a totally different audience.. 13 yo girls & I LOVE this show! I am so relieved that there will be a new season. I found myself not being able to bear the wait until Saturday night for the next episode. The wit and drama is great. I like True Blood, but I don't feel I have to be present for the next episode.. totally DVR it! BH -- I have to see it right away!! BTW Twilight is for a totally different audience.. 13 yo girls & their moms & does not belong in a discussion of True Blood or Being Human. Expand
  5. allanm
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Best show of it's type i have ever seen this totally wipes the floor with things like twilight so much more substance and belieavble character compared to the mostly vapid twilght. Deserved at least 90 from critics though what's up with you :)
  6. BarryM
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    Great T.V. show, well worth watching. Can't wait for the second season.
  7. JasonN
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    Great concept. You can have so many plot twists with this.
  8. GregE
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    This is a decent modern British drama. It manages a little bit of humour, pathos, intelligence & decent character definition. We've been struggling for decent modern drama in the UK for ages and this os one of our better attempts. Enjoy.
  9. JoeD
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Best characters I've seen in a TV show. The music is intrusive at times (see: Episode 2, "Don't leave me, George!") but the performances are top notch; you can really see the actors' grip on their characters tightening as the season progresses. If the last two episodes don't hook you, nothing on television will. Season 2 can't come soon enough.
  10. CeeD
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This show is the best. I do not know what the critics are talking about. EW says Annie mopes. Well, at first she goes through love, betrayal, defeated, and then finally a force to be reckoned with. Annie is realizing what she can do. Mitchell is the vampire with a heart but he to is hiding what he can do. If he fed, he could be really dangerous. George is very spiritual and believes that This show is the best. I do not know what the critics are talking about. EW says Annie mopes. Well, at first she goes through love, betrayal, defeated, and then finally a force to be reckoned with. Annie is realizing what she can do. Mitchell is the vampire with a heart but he to is hiding what he can do. If he fed, he could be really dangerous. George is very spiritual and believes that strenghth is love. He can battle anyone anytime if he lets that werewolf side out more often. Season 2 will find them being hunted or worse, Nina might be a werewolf, Tully is still out there, and where is Mitchell's first love Josie. Did she die or is she now a vampire? See, this is good. Expand
  11. LeahT
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    There's really something to be said for British television when it manages to hit its mark - I watched Being Human several months ago and was awed by its ability to take tired, cliched themes (relating somewhat to dreaded vampires) and make them feel fresh and new. By the end of the short series, all three characters have developed admirably and the plot spares no time for dullness. There's really something to be said for British television when it manages to hit its mark - I watched Being Human several months ago and was awed by its ability to take tired, cliched themes (relating somewhat to dreaded vampires) and make them feel fresh and new. By the end of the short series, all three characters have developed admirably and the plot spares no time for dullness. It's an antidote to True Blood and every other vampire failure since Buffy/Angel ended regrettably early. THAT'S how it's done, Stephanie Meyer, Charlaine Harris and fangirls. Blows the Twilight nonsense out of the water. Give it a go - I can't imagine anyone being disappointed. Expand
  12. PabloC
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Great show! Excellent writing and I love he concept.
  13. KathyW
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    I love this show, I wish it had more then six episodes per season. Six is not enough. It seems like it was just getting started and now it's going off. I don't want to wait to see what happens.
  14. Aug 10, 2010
    7
    What could be better than the struggle of 3 flatmates: A Vampire, a Werewolf, and a Ghost who struggle with their true nature, and the "needs" and "urges" that come along with it. The characters are unexpectedly vulnerable and show minimal superpowers that are normally attributed to being a vampire, werewolf, or ghost. Instead the show focuses on their struggle to get through each day,What could be better than the struggle of 3 flatmates: A Vampire, a Werewolf, and a Ghost who struggle with their true nature, and the "needs" and "urges" that come along with it. The characters are unexpectedly vulnerable and show minimal superpowers that are normally attributed to being a vampire, werewolf, or ghost. Instead the show focuses on their struggle to get through each day, with the security and "normalcy" of sticking together. This is a very good show, worth watching end to end. Expand
  15. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    I really enjoy this series and find that once again, the British sense of understated humour caps it off. The characters have unique and quirky personalities, just as most of us have. The story lines capture what living with other people involves with the added problems that come with being a vampire, a ghost and a couple of werewolves. Almost sounds like the beginning of a bad joke,I really enjoy this series and find that once again, the British sense of understated humour caps it off. The characters have unique and quirky personalities, just as most of us have. The story lines capture what living with other people involves with the added problems that come with being a vampire, a ghost and a couple of werewolves. Almost sounds like the beginning of a bad joke, but for me this show is a hit. Collapse
  16. May 4, 2011
    10
    Being Human is one of the best series I've been watching ever. The story is set in Bristol, where we find the home of vampire, werewolf and a ghost. The three are trying to be human, to stop being monsters. In their way of becoming humans the characters are developed to something much more than just a ghost, vampire and werewolf. They become persons who you'll like and hate at the sameBeing Human is one of the best series I've been watching ever. The story is set in Bristol, where we find the home of vampire, werewolf and a ghost. The three are trying to be human, to stop being monsters. In their way of becoming humans the characters are developed to something much more than just a ghost, vampire and werewolf. They become persons who you'll like and hate at the same time. They manage to do the most important thing for a story - they make you relate to them. May be the best part about this series is the fact that you can see the personal dilemmas of every single character on screen, even from most of the minor characters. However, there are many funny moments to brake the ice, and believe me, the Brits know how to be fun.
    Other significant part, at least for me, is the music in the series. We hear some of the best British acts through the series such as Muse, Arctic Monkeys, The Prodigy, Kasabian, etc.
    Expand
  17. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    I just finished Season 1, and found it extremely enjoyable. All three main actors are in fine form, delivering heartfelt moments, comedy, and action. The plot never gets weighed down with ponderous back story or exposition, and moves at a nice pace. I am not really the kind of person who picks apart fantasy or supernatural world rules, since they aren't real in the first place - I feelI just finished Season 1, and found it extremely enjoyable. All three main actors are in fine form, delivering heartfelt moments, comedy, and action. The plot never gets weighed down with ponderous back story or exposition, and moves at a nice pace. I am not really the kind of person who picks apart fantasy or supernatural world rules, since they aren't real in the first place - I feel like the writers have done a good job setting up the rules of this world, and even though it may not be what you think things are supposed to be like, they still work well for the plot of the show. I actually love the lack of special effects, because it puts more on the imagination and actors to get things across. My only real complaints are that I feel like they actually could have gone a bit less with some of the graphics - full werewolf makeup/prosthetic is pretty cheesy. The plot is not particularly original, but it is done well. If you are the sort of person who wants lots of spray blood and action, or who gets annoyed when vampires or werewolves aren't like "real ones," then maybe this isn't for you. If you are a fan of gentle, mystery-type supernatural thrillers with solid actors and some adult humor, give it a try! Good science fiction and fantasy uses a speculative world to reflect things about our own human condition - Being Human does that very well in its first season, and its definitely worth a view! Expand
  18. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    I enjoy this show- i found it more interesting the first time i watched it but because I forgot where i was on it im rewatching it- currently on season 2 it's good- i like anything with supernatural elements and vampires
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Turner and Tovey get the best material, while Crichlow mopes a lot. Then again, she's a ghost, so let's cut her some slack.
  2. Between "Twilight," HBO's "True Blood" and the WB's upcoming "Vampire Diaries," I'd begun to feel overwhelmed by the undead. Then along came BBC America's Being Human to change my mind.
  3. Funny and thoughtful with surprising plot twists, Being Human offers an inviting mix for fans of supernatural stories.