Being Human (UK) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Being Human (UK) Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 80
    But for all the laughs, Being Human never loses sight of the menace of its characters.
  2. Between "Twilight," HBO's "True Blood" and the WB's upcoming "Vampire Diaries," I'd begun to feel overwhelmed by the undead. Then along came BBC America's Being Human to change my mind.
  3. Creator Toby Whithouse takes all the themes associated with the cursed and the damned very seriously, and if his exploration of them is less baroque than other franchises, it promises to be even more effective.
  4. All three characters are highly appealing, but the charm of the show lies in the delicate balance of engrossing drama and disarming humor; the series is not campy or self-conscious, it’s witty in an offhand, understated way.
  5. Funny and thoughtful with surprising plot twists, Being Human offers an inviting mix for fans of supernatural stories.
  6. 75
    There are times when you don’t whether to scream with fear or laughter. Being Human is frighteningly good.
  7. Turner and Tovey get the best material, while Crichlow mopes a lot. Then again, she's a ghost, so let's cut her some slack.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    The series has a darker edge to it than Twilight (or "Vampire Light" as I like to think of it) and the cast (both permanent and supporting)The series has a darker edge to it than Twilight (or "Vampire Light" as I like to think of it) and the cast (both permanent and supporting) are fabulous and believable in this twist to the usual dysfunctional family unit/group that we usually see on TV. You feel their pain and terror as they come to terms and live with some terrifying secrets.

    Not every vampire like has to be thin and pale, and that's what's scary about being human. Just who do you trust when even the police who are "supposed to protect and serve" are themselves Vampires? This isn't friends with fangs, but believable characters that feel real in an unbelievable situation/scenario. Terrific TV
    Collapse
  2. KathyW
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    I love this show, I wish it had more then six episodes per season. Six is not enough. It seems like it was just getting started and now I love this show, I wish it had more then six episodes per season. Six is not enough. It seems like it was just getting started and now it's going off. I don't want to wait to see what happens. Expand
  3. LeahT
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    There's really something to be said for British television when it manages to hit its mark - I watched Being Human several months ago There's really something to be said for British television when it manages to hit its mark - I watched Being Human several months ago and was awed by its ability to take tired, cliched themes (relating somewhat to dreaded vampires) and make them feel fresh and new. By the end of the short series, all three characters have developed admirably and the plot spares no time for dullness. It's an antidote to True Blood and every other vampire failure since Buffy/Angel ended regrettably early. THAT'S how it's done, Stephanie Meyer, Charlaine Harris and fangirls. Blows the Twilight nonsense out of the water. Give it a go - I can't imagine anyone being disappointed. Expand
  4. May 4, 2011
    10
    Being Human is one of the best series I've been watching ever. The story is set in Bristol, where we find the home of vampire, werewolf and aBeing Human is one of the best series I've been watching ever. The story is set in Bristol, where we find the home of vampire, werewolf and a ghost. The three are trying to be human, to stop being monsters. In their way of becoming humans the characters are developed to something much more than just a ghost, vampire and werewolf. They become persons who you'll like and hate at the same time. They manage to do the most important thing for a story - they make you relate to them. May be the best part about this series is the fact that you can see the personal dilemmas of every single character on screen, even from most of the minor characters. However, there are many funny moments to brake the ice, and believe me, the Brits know how to be fun.
    Other significant part, at least for me, is the music in the series. We hear some of the best British acts through the series such as Muse, Arctic Monkeys, The Prodigy, Kasabian, etc.
    Expand
  5. JasonN
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    Great concept. You can have so many plot twists with this.
  6. Aug 10, 2010
    7
    What could be better than the struggle of 3 flatmates: A Vampire, a Werewolf, and a Ghost who struggle with their true nature, and the "needs"What could be better than the struggle of 3 flatmates: A Vampire, a Werewolf, and a Ghost who struggle with their true nature, and the "needs" and "urges" that come along with it. The characters are unexpectedly vulnerable and show minimal superpowers that are normally attributed to being a vampire, werewolf, or ghost. Instead the show focuses on their struggle to get through each day, with the security and "normalcy" of sticking together. This is a very good show, worth watching end to end. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    1
    Being Human (UK) Season 1

    Creator: Toby Whithouse Cast: Lenora Crichlow as Annie the ghost, Russell Tovey as George the werewolf, Aidan
    Being Human (UK) Season 1

    Creator: Toby Whithouse

    Cast: Lenora Crichlow as Annie the ghost, Russell Tovey as George the werewolf, Aidan Turner as Mitchell the vampire, Jason Watkins as Herrick the vampire and Sinead Keenan as Nina the love interest of George, who later, herself, becomes a werewolf.

    Costume design: For the most part the costume design is unremarkable. It doesn't lend itself the genre and if the point is being human, means being boring, mission accomplished.

    Set design: the two sets are the interior of an apartment and the interior of a hospital. The apartment, like the costumes are utterly unremarkable. We are to believe that a vampire, 300 years old, works for minimum wage and that's all the money he has in the world. Background music: unremarkable and adds absolutely nothing to the series. There is little to no memorable moments. In the latter part of the series they added contemporary pieces, but it was completely destroyed by the complete lack of imagination on the writer's part by turning the "background" music into a montage. Music montage means -10. One you see a music montage it means the writer gave up.

    Plot: The state plot is that a vampire, werewolf, and a ghost live together. They agree to try and be as normal as possible, A.K.A. be human. We are invited to ride along on their escapades while normalcy never happens.

    Critique: the stated plot has almost nothing to do with what the viewer is presented. One is not whisked away into a story about an actual vampire, an actual werewolf, an actual ghost. The viewer is painfully aware, the entire time that they are watching 3 actors go through gobs of mundane and quite ordinary dialogue.

    The vampire: the vampire is supposed to be 200 or 300 years old. His subplot is that he is trying to avoid drinking blood. Oh for the love of pete, this has been done to death. When Anne Ryce created the modern vampire, this is exactly what she did. For her it worked, because we are whisked away into a story about an actual vampire. BH never, ever transforms you into a world of real vampires, because the series has no special effects whatsoever. They might as well have done this on stage and narrated the story to us, by a man sitting in a chair reading the story to us.

    For instance, this vampire, along with every other vampire, eats, breaths, can be choked, goes to the bathroom, walks around in the sun, gets hurt when he stubs his toe, and categorically is not undead, whatsoever, but neither is any other vampire in the show.

    This gets a big fat zero. Quit calling the character a vampire if I'm more vampiric than the character.

    The ghost: the ultimate rule of a ghost is that, at some point they relive their death or are torn emotionally. Also, a unique characteristic of a ghost is that they appear "ghostlike". It ruins the imagination and mystery if the ghost is as solid as the football player "The Fridge". This character is the most unghostlike ghost ever. She is completely solid, has absolutely no underworld qualities about her, has a full range of emotions, and has little to no subplot. Her boyfriend / fiance supposedly killed her. Mind you the fiance weighs about 125lbs and stands proudly at 5'4, while she's a solid 160lbs all day long and is not withering violet at 5'10.

    What's more is, although the dialogue is written with the thought that the audience is supposed to feel sorry for her, she is nothing more than annoying, whiny, illogical and 2 dimensional.

    Furthermore, like the vampire, there are absolutely no ghost "tricks". Oh if you count teleport as a ghost trick. Yes, that's a fantastic special effect, move the actor off screen, viola she teleported.

    The werewolf: This character is pathetic. Everything we've come to know, love, care about as being werewolf, is completely gone from this character. In this series, a werewolf is a human that has pms one day out of the month. In all other instances, he's just a regular human.

    Frankly this series is a huge waste of time. I don't know if it's the budget or simply the writing. There is absolutely nothing supernatural about this series.

    At least, the actors read the lines, adequately. For anyone that actually like werewolves, vampires and ghosts, they should stay away from this series. It offers absolutely nothing.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.