• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 14, 2011
    75
    Being Human works better than it should because of skillful writing, often laced with wry humor, and the very deep well of plot possibilities in the idea that three "monsters," as they call themselves, can pass for "human."
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 31, 2011
    58
    The ghost (Meaghan Rath), the vampire (Sam Witwer), and the werewolf (Sam Huntington) continue to work out their angst-addled yearnings to be human in this more neurotic version of the U.K. TV series.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 18, 2011
    67
    All in all it's a pretty deft mix of violence, pathos and ethos via a vampire, a werewolf and a ghost as roomies.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 18, 2011
    70
    For fans of the original, which is only a few years old, this Americanization may be a bit like going to see a road company version of a Broadway show: It's pretty good but definitely less morose (for some viewers that will be an improvement, for others it will be a betrayal).
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    Unfortunately the new version of Being Human is more repetitive, clunky and melodramatic than the previous one.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    The three episodes I've seen felt flat and airless, outside of the performance by Sam Huntington as the werewolf.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 17, 2011
    70
    I liked the original and also like what little I've seen of the remake so far, but won't know until it expands beyond the original stories - as American series generally must do - whether it's worth sticking with.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    What was a show about bickering but loving roommates is now a show about, to paraphrase Aidan's narration, living on the dark side. Unfortunately it's not a very interesting place.
  9. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 17, 2011
    30
    Syfy's show relies a lot more on dripping fangs and never speaks in a whisper when a bellow will do--even the simplest conversations are conducted with the neurotic intensity of a bad soap opera. Simply put, this Being Human lacks any human warmth.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2011
    58
    Comparisons to the BBC show are unavoidable since the first two episodes are practically a scene-by-scene reshoot of the original's opening. The stars even look like doppelgangers of the English cast.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2011
    50
    If all of this is new to you, the appealing mix of humor and horror may very well hook you. If you've already fallen in love with the British version, as I have, this uneven carbon copy will seem wildly unnecessary.
  12. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 14, 2011
    80
    Jokes like that ["You gonna go all 'Twilight' on me?"] and the wisecracking Sally occasionally threaten to turn Being Human into a mild, campy thing. As we get to know the characters, however, and begin to identify with their sense of loss and isolation, humor helps make what is preposterous about their situation seem real.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2011
    70
    Being Human isn't nearly as well done as that [AMC's "The Walking Dead"], but the early episodes are likable, if unworthy of love at first bite.
  14. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 13, 2011
    75
    Both "Skins" and Being Human are about outcasts who form their own families together, muddling through the present even though the future doesn't look too bright. The characters may all be extreme, but you'll identify with them all.
  15. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 17, 2011
    75
    Being Human echoes, move for move, the BBC America fave of the same name. Yet, Syfy simplifies the tone into young-adult novelhood, where there's lots of white space around really big print. Subsequent episodes improve as plots thicken.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    "A ghost, a vampire and a werewolf walk into a townhouse..." Yeah, that's a hard sell. Sounds more like the beginning of a joke. However,"A ghost, a vampire and a werewolf walk into a townhouse..." Yeah, that's a hard sell. Sounds more like the beginning of a joke. However, Being Human manages to pull off the difficult task of making us suspend our disbelief for an hour a week with really... human... stories. Not your usual paranormal thriller. Being Human is much more complex and more fun.

    I was a fan of the BBC series, and am enjoying the SyFy version just as much. Great casting and true to the spirit of the show. If I weren't such a fan of "Sugar Rush's" Lenora Crichlow, I'd almost have to say the USA version was better. As it is, both versions are delightful.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    I've never seen the british version but considering how hokey some of the original Syfy shows can be, our family thought it was well written,I've never seen the british version but considering how hokey some of the original Syfy shows can be, our family thought it was well written, directed and acted and felt the plot was a very good beginning. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    can't believe it's been cancelled. not enough gore to keep the macho audience going, is that it? this is one of the best shows on right now -can't believe it's been cancelled. not enough gore to keep the macho audience going, is that it? this is one of the best shows on right now - funny, witty and all around enjoyable. love all the actors, especially after i found out how little money they've had to make this show happen.
    disappointing that syfy is not listening to a broader viewership opinion.
    Full Review »