Being Human : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 13, 2011
    75
    Both "Skins" and Being Human are about outcasts who form their own families together, muddling through the present even though the future doesn't look too bright. The characters may all be extreme, but you'll identify with them all.
  2. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 17, 2011
    75
    Being Human echoes, move for move, the BBC America fave of the same name. Yet, Syfy simplifies the tone into young-adult novelhood, where there's lots of white space around really big print. Subsequent episodes improve as plots thicken.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 17, 2011
    70
    I liked the original and also like what little I've seen of the remake so far, but won't know until it expands beyond the original stories - as American series generally must do - whether it's worth sticking with.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 18, 2011
    70
    For fans of the original, which is only a few years old, this Americanization may be a bit like going to see a road company version of a Broadway show: It's pretty good but definitely less morose (for some viewers that will be an improvement, for others it will be a betrayal).
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 14, 2011
    75
    Being Human works better than it should because of skillful writing, often laced with wry humor, and the very deep well of plot possibilities in the idea that three "monsters," as they call themselves, can pass for "human."
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 18, 2011
    67
    All in all it's a pretty deft mix of violence, pathos and ethos via a vampire, a werewolf and a ghost as roomies.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2011
    70
    Being Human isn't nearly as well done as that [AMC's "The Walking Dead"], but the early episodes are likable, if unworthy of love at first bite.
  8. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 14, 2011
    80
    Jokes like that ["You gonna go all 'Twilight' on me?"] and the wisecracking Sally occasionally threaten to turn Being Human into a mild, campy thing. As we get to know the characters, however, and begin to identify with their sense of loss and isolation, humor helps make what is preposterous about their situation seem real.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    "A ghost, a vampire and a werewolf walk into a townhouse..." Yeah, that's a hard sell. Sounds more like the beginning of a joke. However,"A ghost, a vampire and a werewolf walk into a townhouse..." Yeah, that's a hard sell. Sounds more like the beginning of a joke. However, Being Human manages to pull off the difficult task of making us suspend our disbelief for an hour a week with really... human... stories. Not your usual paranormal thriller. Being Human is much more complex and more fun.

    I was a fan of the BBC series, and am enjoying the SyFy version just as much. Great casting and true to the spirit of the show. If I weren't such a fan of "Sugar Rush's" Lenora Crichlow, I'd almost have to say the USA version was better. As it is, both versions are delightful.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    I've never seen the british version but considering how hokey some of the original Syfy shows can be, our family thought it was well written,I've never seen the british version but considering how hokey some of the original Syfy shows can be, our family thought it was well written, directed and acted and felt the plot was a very good beginning. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    can't believe it's been cancelled. not enough gore to keep the macho audience going, is that it? this is one of the best shows on right now -can't believe it's been cancelled. not enough gore to keep the macho audience going, is that it? this is one of the best shows on right now - funny, witty and all around enjoyable. love all the actors, especially after i found out how little money they've had to make this show happen.
    disappointing that syfy is not listening to a broader viewership opinion.
    Full Review »