• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Being Human Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The remake of the BBC show about a ghost, a vampire, and a werewolf who move in together is set in Boston.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 14, 2011
    80
    Jokes like that ["You gonna go all 'Twilight' on me?"] and the wisecracking Sally occasionally threaten to turn Being Human into a mild, campy thing. As we get to know the characters, however, and begin to identify with their sense of loss and isolation, humor helps make what is preposterous about their situation seem real.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 14, 2011
    75
    Being Human works better than it should because of skillful writing, often laced with wry humor, and the very deep well of plot possibilities in the idea that three "monsters," as they call themselves, can pass for "human."
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 17, 2011
    75
    Being Human echoes, move for move, the BBC America fave of the same name. Yet, Syfy simplifies the tone into young-adult novelhood, where there's lots of white space around really big print. Subsequent episodes improve as plots thicken.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 18, 2011
    67
    All in all it's a pretty deft mix of violence, pathos and ethos via a vampire, a werewolf and a ghost as roomies.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 31, 2011
    58
    The ghost (Meaghan Rath), the vampire (Sam Witwer), and the werewolf (Sam Huntington) continue to work out their angst-addled yearnings to be human in this more neurotic version of the U.K. TV series.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2011
    58
    Comparisons to the BBC show are unavoidable since the first two episodes are practically a scene-by-scene reshoot of the original's opening. The stars even look like doppelgangers of the English cast.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 17, 2011
    30
    Syfy's show relies a lot more on dripping fangs and never speaks in a whisper when a bellow will do--even the simplest conversations are conducted with the neurotic intensity of a bad soap opera. Simply put, this Being Human lacks any human warmth.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    can't believe it's been cancelled. not enough gore to keep the macho audience going, is that it? this is one of the best shows on right now - funny, witty and all around enjoyable. love all the actors, especially after i found out how little money they've had to make this show happen.
    disappointing that syfy is not listening to a broader viewership opinion.
    Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    I had never heard of this show before I stumbled across it on Netflix last night. Figured what the hey, I'll check it out. Ended up getting really into the show, really enjoy it. And apparently just in time for season 2 which airs tonight. :) Collapse
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I'm not even into the vampire craze and I watch this! Another one of my favorites I intend on keeping up with. @Robster who asked, "Is the accent and location so important to US audiences?" Umm, yes. Haha. I know...I hate remakes too! But yes, there is no way in hell I could get through this show in an English accent, and I simply don't get British humor. It really sucks and, as an American, just does not compute. This is a really gritty, suspenseful show. Love Syfy's programming. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    The premise of this show sounds goofy: A vampire, a werewolf, and a ghost living together. However, the writing is really quite good and so is the acting. I feel like this show has been terribly overlooked by people. I haven't seen the BBC version so I can't compare them, but everyone at my house really enjoys this show. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    I myself haven't see the original British version of Being Human, but the first season of the US version was pretty damn good. It was thrilling, shocking, well-acted and filled with jaw-dropping twists! It is occassionally frustrating though, but in a good way, due to suspense overload. I really enjoyed this first season, and I am currently half way through season two, which is pretty on par so far. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2011
    7
    Let's face it, the Syfy channel is not HBO nor AMC. That's why I was pleasantly surprised to see Being Human is a very enjoyable show. The acting is solid and the cast mesh well with each other. I also appreciate the witty dialogue and nicely done special effects. On the minus side, the show has yet to really hit its stride. The plotline is so far a total copy from the British show, making the show predictable for those of us who watched the BBC version. Also, it suffers a little too much from "Grey's Anatomy syndrome" - characters brooding into the camera while adult alternative music plays in the background. Still, this show is one to watch for any speculative fiction fan. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    3
    A poor man's True Blood. Dialog: average. Writing: below average. Creativity: below average. Plausibility: poor. Effects: average. Suspension of disbelief: below average. Acting: average to above average. The overall direction of this show is significantly lacking, as is the writing. It was hard for me to assess the acting as since they are given such a poor script to work with, it sort of dumbs down the actors. I get the feeling that the writers met in a coffee shop and fleshed out the reality of their world on a napkin -- and those few notes now forms the basis for the setting they have created.

    When will these shows that wanders into the realm of sci-fi (supernatural) begin to understand that you need to build up a set of plausible rules for your alternate reality, and stick to them. Most of their "variations" on the supernatural seem to be more for convenience sake, than for setting. Vampires that can walk in the sunlight -- it seems like it was just easier to write this in than to worry about trying to limit their episodes to night time encounters. Ghosts that can sit on furniture and can interact with any supernatural -- even living ones such as werewolves... *sighs*. This again seems to be a judgement call for convenience sake. I could go on, but what's the point. This show is crap. It even feels crappier if you have recently watched True Blood, or have any sort of allure to the dark and sinister settings that the supernatural live in as portrayed in True Blood, Underworld, or the World of Darkness RPG.

    I have not seek the UK version, so I don't know if it was meant to be a campy or tongue-in-cheek sort of show, or if the UK version is equally as flawed.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews