• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Apr 2, 2012
    83
    It has sharp writing and endearing characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 4, 2012
    75
    The series is highly relatable and, at times, pretty funny.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 4, 2012
    75
    BFF takes a less than inventive situation and turns it into something close to sitcom gold, thanks to the fact that creators Jessica St. Clair and Lennon Parham have taken the time to write believable characters saying legitimately funny things.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Refreshingly, they try to convey their likability by being...likable.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 4, 2012
    70
    The show takes the time to give a few realistic dimensions to the characters' emotional lives, and each actor in the core trio has sharp comic timing.
  6. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Apr 3, 2012
    70
    [A] low-key but charming NBC comedy.
  7. 60
    Missteps are balanced by bits that ring oddly true.
  8. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    BFF uses the most obvious male-female cliches.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    The pilot is a minor thing but not an unpleasant one, once you get past the opening salvo of pubic-hair jokes.
  10. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    The single-camera comedy is not particularly memorable, but it could have been much worse.
  11. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    Don't worry about forming a lasting relationship with Best Friends Forever. It has all the signs of a quick flame-out on the NBC schedule.
  12. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 3, 2012
    50
    BFF is not bad--classify this as another Young Urban New York-based sitcom--but it's not great, either, or certainly not smart enough, or different enough, or flat-out funny enough to deserve anything other than the bleak future that now appears preordained.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 3, 2012
    50
    As constructed, though, the series has no teeth, and a sensibility that's slim even for cable.
  14. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 2, 2012
    50
    Best Friends Forever is better than a blank screen, but beyond setting what I think might be a 2011-12 season record--0 to vagina joke in 15 seconds--it doesn't do much to break through the sitcom clutter.
  15. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 3, 2012
    25
    An atrocious sitcom that can only be understood as a threadbare network's attempt to empty its larder before the fall restocking.
  16. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 3, 2012
    25
    Watching BFF leaves only a dull, but throbbing headache.
  17. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 4, 2012
    20
    Watching Best Friends Forever is like going to the sitcom thrift shop and poking through the leftovers. It gets old quickly.
  18. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Apr 3, 2012
    20
    Insulting, derivative and neither credible nor fanciful.
  19. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 4, 2012
    10
    BFF is about as fun as a multiple hernia operation.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    Just watched the pilot and thought it was rather funny! It took a few moments to decide if it was good or not, but there were a few moments where I laughed out loud. I found it somewhat unpredictable, which is a pretty great quality in a show. I'll keep watching! Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    The wife and I got about two thirds of the way through the pilot before we decided to cut our loses. Just didn't find it funny. It felt like it was trying to channel Bridesmaids a bit, but missed the mark. Comedy is subjective though, so I'll be curious to see if it finds an audience. Our household, however, won't be part of it. Full Review »