Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 20, 2013
    80
    It helps enormously that Dinicol and Soni find the right mix of vulnerability and awkwardness in the leading roles. The show also captures a general atmosphere of Silicon Valley as a youthful place not far removed from absorbing the Harry Potter books.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 20, 2013
    80
    It's a little wild and woolly and more serialized; it's also more addictive [than "Alpha House"].
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 20, 2013
    75
    It's full to overflowing with clever and sometimes very funny geek-speak.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Nov 20, 2013
    70
    Things could go either way. If Mr. Endicott, Mr. Stoddard and their colleagues can exercise more consistent quality control, there might be another round of financing in their future.
  5. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Nov 27, 2013
    67
    Betas’ aspirational spirit can be invigorating, but it’s yet to find a unique perspective on the setting that was the winningest part of its pilot.
  6. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Nov 20, 2013
    67
    If Betas keeps up with millennial cleverness, it's also sometimes a little too on-the-nose.
  7. The show crackles with witty (and jargony) banter and mostly succeeds at making its tech world fun and engaging -- something Randi Zuckerberg's "Start-Up: Silicon Valley" reality series too often failed to do. But the problem with Betas is that it's an uneven endeavor that's just good enough to make you wish it were better.
  8. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 22, 2013
    50
    Betas brims with raunch, perhaps in the belief that it is key to hooking younger viewers.­
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    After watching Betas first season ...and though I am NOT (perhaps) in the "target demographic" (older female) I find this show to be disarmingly touching.

    The characters are fleshing out and the journey they are on, seems to me to be closer to being ones of parallel Don Quixotes...I am curious how these separate paths will converge.

    I want to see more.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    3
    I had hoped this show would improve after the pilot, which was a little shaky. But no. In fact, it actually got worse. The characters are completely unlikeable. Imagine Entourage without the charm (which is really saying something). I was hard pressed to care in the slightest what happens to any of them.

    The writers of Betas seem to think comedy stems from having their characters say the most crude and insensitive things possible with nonchalant bravado as quickly as possible. They also seem to think that strong female characters are simply female characters who are just as misogynistic as their male counterparts.

    And it's not that I "don't get it" I am firmly in the target demographic. I understand all the geeky references about startups and MySpace etc. I really wanted to like this show because it's a great concept. It's just a shame it's SO charmless. Think Entourage with Aspergers.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    Likable and entertaining, "betas" is a more conventional version of HBO's "Silicon Valley."

    In some ways the show is more accessible to a
    general audience than it's pay-cable rival and well worth the download.

    I don't know the metric by which Amazon is judging its originals but since this series didn't get a second season pick-up - I think they're doing it wrong.
    Full Review »