• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    30
    Even with a closing twist that introduces a narrative hook beyond mere adultery involving a murder trial, the show already has a strained feel in its piling on of happenstance and near misses.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 28, 2013
    20
    Dreary and dull. ... Betrayal may depict the most boring, sullen, sad-faced affair in TV history and that in itself is a betrayal of what the show promises.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 27, 2013
    20
    It's all so sluggishly written, acted and directed that you might find yourself pining for the glory days of Red Widow.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 27, 2013
    37
    Sex, treachery, murder: Betrayal is a show with everything--except decent writing, believable characters, and anything else that would provide a reason to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 29, 2013
    20
    It never feels exciting, nor does it exhibit much of a pulse. ... It just seems disheartening to think that anyone would fall for Betrayal unless they had so many spare hours in their boring lives that losing one was no big deal.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 28, 2013
    20
    Not even James Cromwell can breathe life into this.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 27, 2013
    25
    The acting is terrible throughout, but it's hard to blame the cast, including newly minted Emmy winner Cromwell, for having to utter some of this dialogue.
  8. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 27, 2013
    20
    Bad things happen, as bad things will, and soon all their lives will intersect in the courtroom as well as the bedroom. If only we cared. Even a little.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    16
    So far, there’s not much here you don’t see coming from many miles away, and there’s barely enough chemistry between Ware and Townsend to make things bubble.
  10. Reviewed by: Carrie Raisler
    Sep 25, 2013
    25
    While it may not be the worst new show of the season, it feels like the least essential.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    I like Betrayal and hope they bring it back for another season. Can't wait for the next one. ABC always cancels the good shows.Hope they don'tI like Betrayal and hope they bring it back for another season. Can't wait for the next one. ABC always cancels the good shows.Hope they don't cancel it like Red Widow. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Me personally, I LOVE this show! I hope they come out with another season, and another after that. Can't wait to see what happens as thisMe personally, I LOVE this show! I hope they come out with another season, and another after that. Can't wait to see what happens as this first season finishes out! Love the chemistry and suspense that comes with it! Full Review »
  3. Lvy
    Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Excellent drama with Hate and passion! Easy to watch, fantastic actors, the series are all brilliant.I'm looking forward to season two, so farExcellent drama with Hate and passion! Easy to watch, fantastic actors, the series are all brilliant.I'm looking forward to season two, so far the best drama I have seen during the last few years.
    Hopefully season 2 is not cancelled.
    Full Review »