• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Betrayal Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This soapy, Chicago-set drama centers on a woman (Hannah Ware) who begins an affair with an attorney (Stuart Townsend), only to learn that he will be opposing her husband (another attorney, played by Chris Johnson) in an upcoming high-profile murder trial. James Cromwell, Wendy Moniz, andThis soapy, Chicago-set drama centers on a woman (Hannah Ware) who begins an affair with an attorney (Stuart Townsend), only to learn that he will be opposing her husband (another attorney, played by Chris Johnson) in an upcoming high-profile murder trial. James Cromwell, Wendy Moniz, and Henry Thomas also star for former ER producer David Zabel. The first season will consist of just 13 episodes.
     
     
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 29, 2013
    80
    A dark gem of a show.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    With law, politics, forbidden romance and the sordid doings of awful rich people all on the table, the raw material is certainly available for Betrayal to become a solid guilty pleasure.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 27, 2013
    50
    Adapted from the Dutch series Overspel (adultery), Betrayal is consistently overwrought.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 27, 2013
    30
    Even with a closing twist that introduces a narrative hook beyond mere adultery involving a murder trial, the show already has a strained feel in its piling on of happenstance and near misses.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Raisler
    Sep 25, 2013
    25
    While it may not be the worst new show of the season, it feels like the least essential.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 28, 2013
    20
    Not even James Cromwell can breathe life into this.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    16
    So far, there’s not much here you don’t see coming from many miles away, and there’s barely enough chemistry between Ware and Townsend to make things bubble.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I love this show!!!! I hope they come back with another season!!! I think there is so much chemistry between Jack and Sarah and then there isI love this show!!!! I hope they come back with another season!!! I think there is so much chemistry between Jack and Sarah and then there is the added mystery to the show. Can't get enough of it!! Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    I like Betrayal and hope they bring it back for another season. Can't wait for the next one. ABC always cancels the good shows.Hope they don'tI like Betrayal and hope they bring it back for another season. Can't wait for the next one. ABC always cancels the good shows.Hope they don't cancel it like Red Widow. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    I really loved the show, it's so intense and full of story. When I saw the first episode I stayed so petrified that I only thought in seeingI really loved the show, it's so intense and full of story. When I saw the first episode I stayed so petrified that I only thought in seeing the next one. The actors are amazing and I'm really exciting to see what's comming next. Expand
  4. Lvy
    Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Excellent drama with Hate and passion! Easy to watch, fantastic actors, the series are all brilliant.I'm looking forward to season two, so farExcellent drama with Hate and passion! Easy to watch, fantastic actors, the series are all brilliant.I'm looking forward to season two, so far the best drama I have seen during the last few years.
    Hopefully season 2 is not cancelled.
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Me personally, I LOVE this show! I hope they come out with another season, and another after that. Can't wait to see what happens as thisMe personally, I LOVE this show! I hope they come out with another season, and another after that. Can't wait to see what happens as this first season finishes out! Love the chemistry and suspense that comes with it! Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    I saw a commercial for the show and hoped there was a BBC version so I could watch that instead. There was a swedish version not in english.I saw a commercial for the show and hoped there was a BBC version so I could watch that instead. There was a swedish version not in english. But I tuned in and was pleasantly surprised. While I generally don't go for these shows, i was really drawn into the lust the two characters had. Stuart Townsend is a great actor. The main actress seems a little off. But hopefully as they get more comfortable it will get better.

    I enjoy the twist in the beginning and can't wait to see how it unfolds. I don't know how long you can go hiding but we shall see. I hope it doesn't get cancelled.
    Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    2
    It's a total rip-off. A Revenge/Scandal/666 Park Avenue rip-off. I don't why ABC is keep giving new shows that no one really cared for and letIt's a total rip-off. A Revenge/Scandal/666 Park Avenue rip-off. I don't why ABC is keep giving new shows that no one really cared for and let them watch the MLB postseason instead and hopefully wait for the World Series. Last Spring they cancelled Red Widow, now it's time for Betrayal to get Betrayed and never survive in the ratings and then gets the axe. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews