• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 16, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Beyonce: Life Is But a Dream Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Beyoncé stars and co-directed this documentary that includes her decision to end management ties with her father and the birth of her daughter, Blu Ivy.
  • Genre(s): Movie/Mini-Series, Documentary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 8, 2013
    83
    What gives this film grit are the visual displays of her work ethic and her fierce determination to "bring R&B music back" to the center of current pop music, to "forget being cool" and reveal naked passion. [15 Feb 2013, p.60]
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 13, 2013
    75
    Life Is But A Dream in reality doesn't give all that much. Still, it's a watchable film for those who just can't get enough of a pop music jewel to behold who's still just 31 and likely not even in her prime yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Gerrick D. Kennedy
    Feb 15, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, Life Is but a Dream remains a victory for her fans. Casual viewers will most likely glean the same sense of the superstar's life as one might from a magazine feature. But for serious fans of the fiercely private superstar, this remains a window into her life.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 13, 2013
    50
    Life Is But a Dream, co-directed by Ed Burke and billed by HBO as "an intimate, revealing documentary," isn't really, but there are enough moments that pass for authenticity to make it a benignly informative glimpse into a rarefied existence.
  5. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 14, 2013
    50
    The yin and yang of stardom are on display here: The footage from her in concert is breathtaking. The cliches from her interviews are cringe-inducing.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 14, 2013
    50
    The HBO special comes off more as another managed attempt to forge the legend of Queen B.
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Feb 14, 2013
    30
    Beyoncé: Life Is but a Dream is as contrived as “Madonna: Truth or Dare,” but probably for good reason it is neither daring nor entirely truthful.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Never saw a doc that made me laugh and cry so much. Enjoyed it immensely and I highly recommend people to watch it even if they're not Beyoncé fans. A must see! Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    I really believe this is one of the deepest and most honest portraits of a superstar like Beyoncé. I cried three times during this film and I am not a sap. Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    GAME CHANGER!
    This documentary film is one of its kind. It portrays Beyoncé in an unprecedented, genuine and artistic way. A brave move by Beyoncé!
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Its was really beautiful and amazing documentary from Beyonce, most important Beyonce is REAL artist and human. She's shows what I love the most: behind the scenes, hard work, confessions, perfomances... #beyhive Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The documentary portrays work ethic, perserverance passion...Its a plateau for fallin back in love with the root/core...just wish she wouldve done it sooner. #Beyhive Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    2
    This was nothing but a full-on Beyonce infomercial. It really didn't reveal anything about her that we didn't already know. The best part of this "documentary" was the last 5 minutes or so. That's it. It's the same song and dance of many other celebrity docs--"Woe is me. Why was I given this life? My life is not perfect. Even though I'm a celebrity I have feelings like everyone else." Blah blah blah. This was nothing but smoke and mirrors, giving us nothing but the Beyonce that she wants the public to see, not what's actually there. I'm waiting to see a deeper Beyonce. But it does bring up the question: Is there a "deep" Beyonce? Probably not. If we scratch beneath that surface, there's probably nothing but more surface. Sad, really. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2013
    0
    this is utter trash, the message stop turning young girsl into money grubbing whores,beyonce is garbage, who's real motives are pay my bills, and ppl watch this trash, her husband is a gangsta rapper, so lets have a kid, i mean don't you ppl get it you've been lied 2, these ppl are just rich spoiled ppl, and please beyonce put some clothes on i don't wanna look at your nasty jiggly loose body, please wear clothes, yuck Expand

See all 10 User Reviews