Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 13 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Fascinating, frustrating, and a little frightening.
  2. Reviewed by: Julie Salamon
    Jun 20, 2013
    50
    That's the seamy beauty of CBS's "Big Brother": voyeurism without guilt. [7 Jul 2000]
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 20, 2013
    30
    I know "Survivor." I watch "Survivor." You, "Big Brother," are no "Survivor." [7 Jul 2000]
  4. Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Jun 20, 2013
    30
    In all but one or two cases, if I were seated with one of these people on a plane, I'd ask to be moved next to a crying baby or a drunk. What CBS has done here is cast this house with people who resemble the stock types we have come to know from prime-time sitcoms and dramas for 50 years. [6 Jul 2000]
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 20, 2013
    30
    So far, and that's an important qualification, watching "Big Brother" is only slightly more exciting than watching a drugstore surveillance tape. One week in, CBS's five-nights-a-week series remains slow, self-conscious, and visually sterile. [13 Jul 2000]
  6. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    25
    Actually watching Big Brother five nights a week (total air time: 3½ hours) seems like the entertainment equivalent of enduring gavel-to-gavel convention coverage on C-SPAN.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Jun 20, 2013
    25
    Offers only slightly more entertainment appeal than viewing a test pattern. [10 Jul 2000]
  8. Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Jun 20, 2013
    25
    Big Brother is that deadliest of TV sins: It's a Grade D bore. [8 Jul 2000]
  9. Reviewed by: Jonathan Darman
    Jun 20, 2013
    20
    The cast is dull, the concept is lame and the house that Ikea built is cheap and creepy. The amazing thing is that a show so obviously flawed could have been the source of so much hype. [15 Jul 2000]
  10. Reviewed by: Laura Fries
    Jun 20, 2013
    20
    "Big Brother" debuted Wednesday night with all of the style and drama of a Publishers Clearing House Prize Patrol commercial. ... Five days a week of people in a cramped house full of Ikea furniture is like a bad college flashback. [10 Jul 2000]
  11. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jun 20, 2013
    20
    The difference between "Big Brother" and its more successful high-concept CBS predecessor, "Survivor," is the difference between storytelling and rambling. [14 Jul 2000]
  12. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 20, 2013
    20
    Airing five nights a week and featuring 10 strangers - not to mention insufferable hosts Julie Chen and Ian O'Malley - this will fill our screens for the next three months. Unless we happen to leave the set turned off. Which, judging from last night, might be advisable. [6 Jul 2000]
  13. Reviewed by: Tim Kiska
    Jun 20, 2013
    20
    It's clear that this program is a compendium of every irritating cliche ever to assault a defenseless TV viewer. [7 Jul 2000]
  14. Reviewed by: Joel Brown
    Jun 20, 2013
    16
    'Big Brother' ... is such a demeaning, depressing exercise that everyone involved ought to be lashed to one of the Pentagon's defective 'Star Wars' missiles and rocketed out over the Pacific, never to be heard from again, except by the sharks. [2 Aug 2000]
  15. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jun 20, 2013
    10
    So far, Big Bro is a big bore. ... In devoting so many hours to amateurs, CBS reduced its prime time to bad home movies. [11 Jul 2000]
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    1
    What the **** is the point of this series. It is JUST watching people live. I would never just watch someone live. I already watch someone live. The person I watch live is me. If I wanted to see how people lived, I would leave my house. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Big brother is good because they do a celebrity big brother and a normal big brother. In the normal big brother. In the normal big brother they put celebrities that you donâ Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    2
    We've watched every season from the beginning. There have been some good seasons and some not so good seasons. This season, however is, hands down, the worst ever. It's turned me off the show completely. Big Brother is being banned from my PVR.

    If you'd asked me last May, I might have even given this show an 8 out of 10, but after this summer, the only reason it has a 2 instead of a 0 is because of the 14 previous seasons. The casting was just too horrendous this time around. I couldn't relate to any of the cast and the ones that I could root for were still not worth much.
    Full Review »