• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 3, 2011
    100
    In early episodes, Big Love quickly reclaims its astonishing ability to balance the insightful and the absurd, hilarity and heartbreak and the personal with the political. The hours race by and already the final season seems far too short.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Feb 3, 2011
    100
    One welcome aspect of all this is that some of the plot threads which became so distracting last season, threatening to tip Big Love into crazy-flatulent "L.A. Law" territory, seem to be gone. There is more than enough left, along with consistently brilliant acting all over, to keep the show as mesmerizing as it ever was.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 3, 2011
    100
    Will Big Love go out with a big bang? If the final season's opener is any indication, the answer is a big "yes."
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 3, 2011
    91
    Of course there are dozens of loose ends in need of tying, but you do get the sense that some will actually get tied, and in a satisfying way.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 3, 2011
    83
    By concentrating on what it means to practice polygamy in the 21st century, the series again comes close to achieving its goal of defining what it means to be a family.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    I must respectfully disagree with critics who find this season a return to form. To me, it continues--even accelerates--the decline thatI must respectfully disagree with critics who find this season a return to form. To me, it continues--even accelerates--the decline that began with the death of Roman (Harry Dean Stanton). I don't know whether it was Roman the character or Stanton the actor who inspired the writers for the first three seasons, but, once he was gone, the show seemed to lose its way, clutching at topical storylines, some truly preposterous, and putting the characters through ridiculous changes. The exception was the flirtation between the youngest wife and the oldest son, much closer to her age than her husband, which was spot on and handled well. Season five finds the family, improbably, dealing with the aftermath of a monumentally ill-timed "coming out," and everyone seems to be handling the stress by indulging in selfish acting out and equally narcissistic blather. I'll admit, I channel-surfed out of there when Barb and her mother started berating each other over old grievances during a public forum, something neither character would ever, ever do. And all of this is too bad, because one of the show's earlier strengths was the delicate balance between the "big love" of its title and the petty disputes and rivalries that perturb it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    I was more comfortable when they were all sneaking around, avoiding the limelight. This season is a little tough to watch because Bill in aI was more comfortable when they were all sneaking around, avoiding the limelight. This season is a little tough to watch because Bill in a real sense endangers his whole family with his "mission" without giving full weight to the impact on the three wives. So, I guess, the believablilty factor has dropped for me, making it more difficult to like. First we have gay marriage, now the implication is plural marriage for America. Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I'm new one here. Please post some news, articles, blogs & Photos about my favorite gamer girl Celeste Thorson. She's my #1 actress and I loveI'm new one here. Please post some news, articles, blogs & Photos about my favorite gamer girl Celeste Thorson. She's my #1 actress and I love her so much. Full Review »