Big Love : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 111
  2. Negative: 21 out of 111

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. David
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    This could have been interesting and good, and has had its moments. Instead it is gradually stooping to gutter levels lower than most soap operas, and tries to make up for its lack of quality by dragging the Mormon Church through the mud for ratings. This is becoming more like something that Jerry Springer would do. Tom Hanks should be embarrassed.
  2. OliverW
    Mar 31, 2006
    1
    Simply stated... this is not a good show. Very weak effort. I cannot wait for Huff to reconvene this week, which by the way is average at best. We need shows with real pain on Sundays. Where for art thou Deadwood, alas Six Feet Under is six feet under.
  3. GeneS
    Apr 17, 2006
    1
    What a waste of good actors. I've watched six episodes (only because it's on after Sopranos) & don't understand the good reviews. Except for the scenes that involve Bruce Dern & Harry Dean Stanton, it's nothing but an insipid soap. Borrring! i'm not watching it anymore, & if I want to find out what happens to the characters, I can always read the episode summary What a waste of good actors. I've watched six episodes (only because it's on after Sopranos) & don't understand the good reviews. Except for the scenes that involve Bruce Dern & Harry Dean Stanton, it's nothing but an insipid soap. Borrring! i'm not watching it anymore, & if I want to find out what happens to the characters, I can always read the episode summary on HBO's website, which will save me wasting my time! Expand
  4. victorr
    Apr 5, 2006
    0
    I am offended that you would produce the series Big Love. It demeans and distorts sacred beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. By setting the show in Salt Lake City, it blurs the line between the Church and the long renounced practice of . Please cancel the show immediately
  5. Jeff
    Jun 18, 2006
    1
    Haven
  6. HeidiB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    0
    I have to say that I've been addicted to this show. But I'm done. After such offensive scenes as in the last episode I can't go on watching with a clear conscious. I can't let 3X material into my home. Disappointed that a show with potential has to stoop to that level. Also the LDS research was not done very thoroughly. They say things that are so distorted and so I have to say that I've been addicted to this show. But I'm done. After such offensive scenes as in the last episode I can't go on watching with a clear conscious. I can't let 3X material into my home. Disappointed that a show with potential has to stoop to that level. Also the LDS research was not done very thoroughly. They say things that are so distorted and so just- wrong! Do more research. Get it right or move on. Expand
  7. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    3
    Nope. I don't get it.
  8. RyanS
    Mar 22, 2006
    3
    It's just not the type of show that i should be following the Sopranos, not with it's slow meandering pace and real lack of direction. I don't care about any of the characters except for maybe Tripplehorn and the daughter. I already think i know everything i want to about this family.
  9. HeidiM
    Mar 29, 2006
    0
    This show is, and should be considered offensive to anyone who is a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It does not matter that you have a disclaimer at the end of the first show. The damage is already done, as proof by the comment by Julian M!! The fact that you have it set in Utah, immediately implicates our church, not to mention the fact that it is about a This show is, and should be considered offensive to anyone who is a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It does not matter that you have a disclaimer at the end of the first show. The damage is already done, as proof by the comment by Julian M!! The fact that you have it set in Utah, immediately implicates our church, not to mention the fact that it is about a practice that most people believe we practise! WE DO NOT BELIEVE IN POLIGAMY!! And by producing this show and making references to specific beliefs that we as member of this church hold sacred it is an outrage! If you wish to produce a show about poligamy that is fine! But set is someone other than Utah, and leave out the references to beliefs in our church that we find sacred! I hope the show is cancelled! But even if it does get cancelled the damage to is already done. There are enough misconceptions out there about our relgion without this TV show adding to them! Expand
  10. victorr
    Apr 5, 2006
    0
    I am offended that you would produce the series Big Love. It demeans and distorts sacred beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. By setting the show in Salt Lake City, it blurs the line between the Church and the long renounced practice of . Please cancel the show immediately
  11. StevenL
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Just don't get the fascination.
  12. AndyN
    Sep 10, 2009
    0
    I really wanted to give this a higher rating - like others I think Bill Paxtons acting is spot on. The trouble I have with giving any rating to this show is it is not based on truth. As we all know good comedy and good drama etc.needs that. What you have here is the functional equivalent noteably simular to when bad sci-fi becomes just silly bad sci-fantasy- not based on anything I really wanted to give this a higher rating - like others I think Bill Paxtons acting is spot on. The trouble I have with giving any rating to this show is it is not based on truth. As we all know good comedy and good drama etc.needs that. What you have here is the functional equivalent noteably simular to when bad sci-fi becomes just silly bad sci-fantasy- not based on anything scienticfic whatsoever. Honest history is ignored, facts are completely obliterated for want of $-greater-$ sensationalism. Used to be comedy was the only place where nothing was sacred, now we have decended below even a hint of respect for Americas most successful Christian Church worldwide. Tom Hanks proved to me that he hated the Catholic Church with his involvement with The Da Vince Code, etc. Now he's bent on castigating The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, through this flagrant misuse of their sacred ordinance etc.. Everyone involved in the production of this pulped up fluff should take note of the possible kind of persecution this may cull up in the most ignorant and hatemonkering of our society. HBO shame on you! Expand
  13. JulianM
    Mar 27, 2006
    3
    I can't get into this 3 families fighting and conniving. Why should I watch that, say instead of an educational program? I think the Church of Mormon is based on craziness and polygamy is one proof of that. The wives are unvbelievable - sophisticated women would not put themselves in such a trap.
  14. EB
    Mar 27, 2006
    0
    Absolute trash on television. The people who watch this are not looking for the higher things in life. It misrepresents life in Salt Lake City. Nobody there is a polygamist. Its setting should have been somewhere else. I hope HBO cancels this show soon before people get the wrong idea.
  15. Nov 16, 2010
    0
    I just started watching this series. I hate it. I watched the first episode and hated it, but figured I would watch a couple more to see if it could change my mind. Needless to say I haven't changed my mind. This program makes me feel sick to my stomach watching it. I am not religious so I don't care how that concept is presented in this series. What I care about is the genderI just started watching this series. I hate it. I watched the first episode and hated it, but figured I would watch a couple more to see if it could change my mind. Needless to say I haven't changed my mind. This program makes me feel sick to my stomach watching it. I am not religious so I don't care how that concept is presented in this series. What I care about is the gender inequality. How anyone can watch this and enjoy it is beyond me. Women have lived too long under the thumb of men. Why is it that it would be nearly impossible for a woman to entertain the notion of having more than one husband, while men are still able to get away with having more than one wife? Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 80
    Big Love... is in no hurry to unfurl its plotlines or push its charms. Give it a couple of episodes, though, and you'll be snared.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    83
    The casting is so good and the production design so sophisticated that the series' pull toward baroque psychosexual doings is, so far, pleasurable. [7 Apr 2006, p.51]
  3. 90
    There are elements of this new series that have a quirkiness that might seem deliberate or overly clever against a different backdrop, but that feels natural in its own gracefully odd environment.