• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 110
  2. Negative: 20 out of 110

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RMorehead
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I love this show. The characters are great and the story line is great.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    i think this show is interesting and entertaining i will watch evey episode
  3. SheilaB
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Wondeful show,Love it !!!!!!!!
  4. EvanM
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Everything you need to know about Mormonism you will learn from this show. Unfuckingbelievable.
  5. TicoTico
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    The Bible does not condemn poligamy as a sin. The Lord himself uses a poligamous marriage as a comparison of the Kingdom of God, in Mathew 25:1-13. And God compares Himself to a polygamous husband in Ezekiel 23. Many great men of God were polygamous, including the man who had a heart like God's, King David. He was never called an adulterer for having more than one wife, but he did The Bible does not condemn poligamy as a sin. The Lord himself uses a poligamous marriage as a comparison of the Kingdom of God, in Mathew 25:1-13. And God compares Himself to a polygamous husband in Ezekiel 23. Many great men of God were polygamous, including the man who had a heart like God's, King David. He was never called an adulterer for having more than one wife, but he did commit adultery when he took his neighbor's wife, the one who later gave birth to King Salomon. Polygamy may not be for everyone, like monogamy may not be for everyone. But it is not fair to say that there is something intrinsically immoral in polygamy, and many cultures still recognize polygamy legally, which in reality offers more protection to women and children. In countries where polygamy is prohibited, it takes place anyways, but in a way that is irresponsible many times, and dishonest. Many divorces and much pain to children could be avoided if we learned the truth about polygamy. Expand
  6. CarlW
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This programme is brilliant, the best US drama to hit the Uk in years
  7. ToddW
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    interesting - dont know how long it could last, but there are some very human and interesting personal/emotional issues to be explored.
  8. Grace
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Realistic reflection of the ideals of Joseph Smith brought forward to the present had not the US government passed laws against polygamy. Smith and Young are Utah heroes and they were polygamists. The book, Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith, by Jon Krakauer provides more insight into Mormon polygamists today.
  9. Lola
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Unique and Fascinating.
  10. StephB
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I just adore the series! All of the characters fit like a puzzle pieces and they are all definately different pieces!
  11. PamK
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Great show--always fun to watch. Can't wait for the next show each week!
  12. Met
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fascinating, unique. I love it Very interesting to see into the lives of people you wont normally see.
  13. DavidW
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I do believe this series has nothing to do with LDS or polygamy or what ever it seems to be. Why? Well This series shows a group of people hiding their lifestyle for the sake of survival. Haven't we allready seen that? I think the same plot could be used in WWII Europe to show the life of a Jewish family scared to be found by the Germans. I can very good imagine a gay couple in say I do believe this series has nothing to do with LDS or polygamy or what ever it seems to be. Why? Well This series shows a group of people hiding their lifestyle for the sake of survival. Haven't we allready seen that? I think the same plot could be used in WWII Europe to show the life of a Jewish family scared to be found by the Germans. I can very good imagine a gay couple in say the 50's to live the same fear and problems. The list could go on... Why are you people do not see under the hood? It's not about God and his many churches and beliefs. It's about us humans and our intolerance for any strange behaviour. Polygamists are maybe the last US-american minority on which we can study this act of misunderstanding. For the record i was raised catholic but i can not livemy life with or in the church, any church. Expand
  14. BrianH
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    love it!
  15. DanielB.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, humorous, and agonizing. Music superb. Watch with your significant other and you will find the occasion for hours of stimulating conversation. You will also learn much about each other. And what IS Bill's tragic flaw? Expand
  16. reginal
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    I love the show it keeps me on the edge of my seat. There is always something new happening at the Hendrickson's. I hope to see more of this show next season. Don't be a hater be a fan.
  17. AlyA.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I love this show! I think that Heidi B. who gave it a zero is wrong. It isn't necessarily meant to be perfect in every way and isn't truly based on one family but many that may live that lifestyle. It's a lifestyle that could be interpreted many ways. How about shows that are supposed to be based on certain places that don't say things right. If a show is based in I love this show! I think that Heidi B. who gave it a zero is wrong. It isn't necessarily meant to be perfect in every way and isn't truly based on one family but many that may live that lifestyle. It's a lifestyle that could be interpreted many ways. How about shows that are supposed to be based on certain places that don't say things right. If a show is based in Seattle then the characters should say the town names correctly (i.e. Frasier and Lake Chelan among others). Only the cold hard facts should be taken into consideration when judging shows and this show is not based on cold hard facts but many many different facts and aspects put together. Maybe some shows should learn the city their based in and the surrounding cities' and places' names before they worry about whether they are truly depicting a family that most likely doesn't truly exist but many people put together. It is very intriguing and interesting to look into a type of life that I don't really know about or see and the trails they face even if it is not based one hundred percent on facts. Expand
  18. shannons
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    I love this show. I just stopped one night not even planning on watching it. I got hooked the first night. My husband now loves it too.
  19. CooperG
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Great Television
  20. xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    This show tastefully shows the audience a different point of view on family. A lot like Desperate Housewives except all these lovers are married- very well written show!
  21. ClintM.
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    A wonderfully written and well acted new show! I tuned in to this rather than my usual Grey's Anatomy, and fell in love already. The characters are really rich and the story line completely original. A+ to Chloe Sevigny for being the newest character we love to hate!!
  22. KathyG
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Loved it and am totally hooked.
  23. nettier
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    I love this show. In fact , my husband and co-workers love it too. It is different and keeps one thinking about what's going to happen next. You develop little sub plots about what could happen.
  24. NancyF
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I love this show!
  25. CoriniusH
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    Excellent show, original and interesting. I love the settlings all the locations have a legit feel to them. The idea that "The Sopranos" is the show which all other HBO shows must measure up to is wrong. If tired Italian stereotypes and wanton violence is your thing then this show isnt for you, but if your looking for an original and interesting show look no further
  26. EileenS
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    I love Big Love, it's the freshest idea on Television in years, the cast is great and the stories are so well written and acted, I miss it and can't wait for the second season, only reason I get HBO
  27. susanc
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent series.It had me hooked after the first episode.
  28. BrianH
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    love it!
  29. brendal
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    I love the show though it does drag on every once in awhile and for those of you that stated that salt lake city doesnt have any polygamy. Just check out a deseret industries on a Saturday.
  30. barekah
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    its one of the most well written shows. the premise of the show is original and what i like the most is that its not only about the 3 wives.
  31. maryw
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    I LOVE Big Love. I lived in Nevada some time ago and knew many types of Mormons. This is ingenious, right on, and cutting edge. I saw one episode and couldn't wait for more. I see the show as a cross between The Soprano's and Twin Peaks. It hits the pulse of "cult" and is a real eye opener. I love the writing, directing, acting, and styling. The "look" is SO right on!
  32. MaryBethS
    May 31, 2009
    10
    Interesting insights into an intriguing lifestyle. We are a monogamous household hooked on "Big Love."
  33. ChristinaN
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    I watched the first episode one night so keep from being bored and I must say...I totally frown upon polygamy and this show makes it not look so dark. I know it is a bad subject, but the Henrickson family reminds it's viewers they can be normal human beings like the rest of the country.
  34. JasonP
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    This is a refreshing look at a way of life viewed to be completely unacceptable by modern society. What guy out there hasn't had the notion at one point in time to have more than one wife. This show takes the idea and portrays the true reality of how difficult it can be to run one household, let alone three. I enjoyed the first episode and look forward to watching the characters grow This is a refreshing look at a way of life viewed to be completely unacceptable by modern society. What guy out there hasn't had the notion at one point in time to have more than one wife. This show takes the idea and portrays the true reality of how difficult it can be to run one household, let alone three. I enjoyed the first episode and look forward to watching the characters grow and continue their manipulation and family destruction towards eachother. Good job HBO. Expand
  35. StephenW
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    Nicely done that leads one to want see more....the lead wife is outstanding in the part! A-
  36. SeanB
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    The signs are already there--this will become a true classic. And easily one of the greatest casts ever assembled on TV.
  37. InaW
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    The first episode has got me hooked, because I am already loving the different characters and their travails.
  38. chrisb
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    Hilarious, intriguing and keeps you on the edge of your seat to see what's gonna happen next week!
  39. BrianH
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    love it!
  40. JohnM
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent series and asks the viwer the right questions on a difficult topic. Superb cast especially Bill Paxman and this is up to the quality of previous HBO shows. Can't wait for Season 2 with more episodes hopefully!
  41. LaurenS
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Fabulous show! Very entertaining and I can't wait for the next season to start!
  42. ShariD.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    I'm completely hooked! I now crush on Bill Paxton and sympathize with each wife. I'm going through withdrawals in anticipation of season 2.
  43. jenl
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    Great new show. I wasn't sure at first, but the acting is well done. It is a comedy, drama, and romance all in one. The plot is slow, but for some reason it draws me back each week. It is like a guilty pleasure.
  44. LoisR.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Great ensemble acting, super great caste, story lines that actually pick up all the threads...Polygamist Sopranos without the hype.
  45. NessyD.
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    I have heard about the show when it was starting up but had no real interest in watching it. I decided not to change the channel one day while a rerun was on and got curious and watched the entire previous seasons on demand, back-to-back. To my satisfaction it was not a waste of time. The cast is very talented and shares great chemistry. The storyline is interesting, keeps one asking for I have heard about the show when it was starting up but had no real interest in watching it. I decided not to change the channel one day while a rerun was on and got curious and watched the entire previous seasons on demand, back-to-back. To my satisfaction it was not a waste of time. The cast is very talented and shares great chemistry. The storyline is interesting, keeps one asking for more. I hope to see more seasons to come: Long Live "Big Love"!! Expand
  46. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    just an amazing show! and an amazing last season. Big love has ever been a great series, and i'll regret it because big love talked about family, lobe, anger. Big love doesn't nly focus on polygamous, it focus on life.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 80
    Big Love... is in no hurry to unfurl its plotlines or push its charms. Give it a couple of episodes, though, and you'll be snared.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    83
    The casting is so good and the production design so sophisticated that the series' pull toward baroque psychosexual doings is, so far, pleasurable. [7 Apr 2006, p.51]
  3. 90
    There are elements of this new series that have a quirkiness that might seem deliberate or overly clever against a different backdrop, but that feels natural in its own gracefully odd environment.