• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Big Love Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 90
    There are elements of this new series that have a quirkiness that might seem deliberate or overly clever against a different backdrop, but that feels natural in its own gracefully odd environment.
  2. A very original, extremely well-acted and complexly written drama.
  3. 88
    It's excellent on every level.
  4. It is a series that boasts more than a few terrific performances, and yet it is surprisingly mellow, nearly devoid of the kinds of dramatic moments that resonate after the final credits roll.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    60
    More of a curiosity than a necessity.
  6. 60
    By the end of the five episodes HBO sent for review, one's interest in the tangled future of this offbeat clan may be piqued, but be forewarned, it takes a while -- and there are a lot of petty spats and crying kids -- before one gets to that point.
  7. There are good things in it, some well-written scenes and dynamic exchanges and excellent acting... But, ultimately, it doesn't cohere or quite convince.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 75
  2. Negative: 15 out of 75
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    just an amazing show! and an amazing last season. Big love has ever been a great series, and i'll regret it because big love talked aboutjust an amazing show! and an amazing last season. Big love has ever been a great series, and i'll regret it because big love talked about family, lobe, anger. Big love doesn't nly focus on polygamous, it focus on life. Expand
  2. susanc
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent series.It had me hooked after the first episode.
  3. SeanB
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    The signs are already there--this will become a true classic. And easily one of the greatest casts ever assembled on TV.
  4. DanielB.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female A menage-a-quatre becomes a lens to focus the virtues and foibles of family life to white-hot intensity. Contrary to expectations, the female characters are strong and full of surprises. Head of household Bill's family was shattered by the wicked prophet Roman. Shakespearean conflict rears its fearful head as the story progresses. Dialog economical and impeccable. Situations quirky, humorous, and agonizing. Music superb. Watch with your significant other and you will find the occasion for hours of stimulating conversation. You will also learn much about each other. And what IS Bill's tragic flaw? Expand
  5. ritaf
    Jan 5, 2009
    8
    I was a huge fan of "True Blood" but I never watched "Big Love". Last night they were having a bit of a marathon and I decided to see what I was a huge fan of "True Blood" but I never watched "Big Love". Last night they were having a bit of a marathon and I decided to see what the fuss was with this show and I must admit I watched it. Than I went to HBO on Demand and watched the next episode. The verdict is stil out BUT I am going home tonight and watch a couple more episodes. I am watching last season. I am a fan of Bruce Dern and Grace Zabriske. I have always liked Harry Dean Stanton even though he is so creepy in this. I have this feeling I am going to be hooked, something about each episode drew me further into these families.. I will be back with my verdict. Expand
  6. SusanC
    Nov 9, 2007
    5
    HBO has a track record for making good shows about things that the American public has a delicious, shameful curiosity about (the mafia, HBO has a track record for making good shows about things that the American public has a delicious, shameful curiosity about (the mafia, funeral parlors) and polygamy should be no exception. But there comes a point where, no matter how compelling the curiosity, you have to actually *like* the characters for the show to work. Despite the fantastic acting, most of the characters feel a little flat to me. Ho-hum, lots of petty in fighting. Once I got used to everybody, the show's appeal waned and I turned to "Mad Men". Expand
  7. EB
    Mar 27, 2006
    0
    Absolute trash on television. The people who watch this are not looking for the higher things in life. It misrepresents life in Salt Lake Absolute trash on television. The people who watch this are not looking for the higher things in life. It misrepresents life in Salt Lake City. Nobody there is a polygamist. Its setting should have been somewhere else. I hope HBO cancels this show soon before people get the wrong idea. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.